We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Home away from home"”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Gulfport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

This place was like my home away from home! The Manager's Lisa & Vicki made my stay seem like home! The front desk was supper friendly and the Managers welcome in the evenings was great! I am watching my weight so they made sure they had some health choices on it the next night! If you want to feel like you matter this is the place for you!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments & review! It was with great pleasure that I shared them with our Team Members this morning! We are so glad that we feel like your second home and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 213 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

This was a quick 1 night stay last minute. The late night staff member was very friendly and alert. The room was super clean and the bed was very comfortable and breakfast was good. The price was $69 before taxes but this was a last minute special.

If I can get this rate again I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mehtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us! We hope to be able to accommodate you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed at this Clarion Inn from 11-9 to 11-14 with my wife and two kids. The room was very clean and the staff was friendly. We looked forward to the free breakfast each morning. Best biscuits and gravy ever!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billymoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thanks for the awesome review! We enjoyed you and your family during your recent stay and hope you will stay in touch! We will make sure we have biscuits and gravy on the breakfast bar just waiting for your return! See you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here during Cruisin' on the Coast (our second year here). There was hair in the bath-tub from the previous tenant. The rest of the room was fine. We were near the elevator but it was not disturbing. The "free" breakfast is what you would expect -- cereal, some muffins, juice. It is acceptable. My problem was upon check-in and check-out. I called three times to get the "credit card" situation straight. The manager "Lisa" was rude to me and not accomodating. I see there are other complaints about the staff in other customer reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dixiep730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to express your comments on your recent stay with us! I am truly sorry you felt there was customer service issues involved. During our conversation we discussed a resolution to your credit card issues and it was to your satisfaction so I was unaware of any other issues. Please contact me at the hotel for further discussions on this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I booked 12 rooms for 2 nights. 2 days before we were to arrive, I called to "confirm" again. I was told I didn't have any rooms, the group person had quit and we had no reservation. After 24 hours of panic, I was told they found enough rooms for us (I had 36 kids with me) and cut the rate $20 a room. We arrive at the hotel late one night only to have a room of our boys walk in on another room of boys! They apologized, didn't know how that could have happened, and gave us a rollaway to make due for one night since they were totally booked and we all scrunched up. We were able to get 12 rooms the next night and they told us they wouldn't charge us. I had given a pre-written school check the night we checked in. Upon checkout, I was given a check back for $88. After explaining to the desk girl that we were owed more money than that (since the room rate had been lowered), she told us she couldn't give us cash and that it would have to be a check and she wasn't authorized to write them. We asked her who was and she said the manager, but she's in a meeting. Finally after some time (she waited on others), she told us the manager wouldn't be back until 1:00. I told her I had 36 kids whose parents were expecting them at a certain time that night (it was 10:00 am when this all started). She said she couldn't help it. I asked her where the meeting was and she said, "on the property." I said, then go get her. She said "oh no, she's in a meeting with choice executives." I said "great, because choice executives need to hear about this!" After some time, she called for someone to go get her. My co-sponsor said I'll go with you. It was clear that he had no intention of going to get the manager, but because of my co-sponsor's insistence, he did. When they knocked on the door and asked for her, the manager came out and said to my co-sponsor, "you got me out of a meeting for this?!!!" She was very hateful but came to the front desk. She tried to explain to me how I was only owed $88. I kept telling her no, that it was much more than that. Finally I said, how much is a room a night with tax. She told me, so then I said, "then take that number and multiply by 22 and just subract!" Flustered and mad, she then went to the back office and about ten minutes later came out with a check for $492. She was still mad. I'm not sure what about anymore, but what a way to treat your customers!! The rooms were okay, nothing special. A few hairs in my bathroom, but the management is definitely the worst issue. I gave two stars because the rooms were decent enough and the one desk clerk that had worked so hard to find us the rooms and lowered the price for us, was extremely nice. However, Ms. Couch had her in tears by the time we left.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Misti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We chose the Clarion based on other's reviews and were not disappointed. Though is is a very large property, we were not bothered by outside noise. The pool area is well maintained. It is toddler friendly with steps that run the width of the pool. Poolside towels were a nice plus.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 19Diane74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We are glad that you got the time to enjoy our pool with your family and that it was toddler friend for the little one! Hopefully we will see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We only stayed one night on our way home back to Florida. Check in was fast and the staff was very friendly. The room was quiet and clean with the exception of the bathroom sink and counter. I wiped it down myself which was no big deal to me. The bed was comfy and there were two types of pillows on the bed to choose from. Lots of places to eat in the surrounding area and an outlet mall behind the hotel. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the bottom floor and it was quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jordan1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate our hotel! It's your feed back that makes us strengthen our guest service skills for the next time you come and stay with us! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulfport hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Seaway Inn
Best Western Seaway Inn
#7 of 29 in Gulfport
653 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gulfport
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Gulfport
Comfort Suites Gulfport
#13 of 29 in Gulfport
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 29 in Gulfport
122 reviews
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Gulfport/Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 9445 Highway 49, Gulfport, MS 39503-4227 (Formerly Hampton Inn Gulfport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Gulfport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gulfport
Price Range: $60 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything is better when you get together at our newly renovated Clarion Inn(R) hotel in Gulfport, MS and make the most of your time with your friends, family and colleagues near the Mississippi Coast Coliseum & Convention Center. Our Gulfport hotel is near a variety of attractions for your pursuit, including: Gulf of Mexico Beach Naval Construction Battalion Center Gulf Islands Waterpark Ship Island Excursions Gulfport hotels also provide easy access to the several casinos located near the Gulfport-Biloxi International Airport that offer gaming excitement 24 hours a day. All of our spacious guest rooms feature a TV, hair dryer, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator. Long-distance travelers will appreciate our guest laundry services. Get together at the Clarion Inn. Our Gulfport, MS hotel offers the perfect social atmoshphere to meet up in person for any business or special occasion. Book today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gulfport Hotel Gulfport
Gulfport Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing