We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, though beginning to show some age”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Gulfport
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Good location, though beginning to show some age”
Reviewed June 21, 2009

This Courtyard is a 5-story single-wing configuration with significant meeting rooms and restaurant/lounge space - more so than in a typical or average Courtyard. It is across the street from the beach and the busy street in front can create a bit of noise, but views from the even-numbered rooms of the beach and Gulf more than make up for it in my opinion. Odd-numbered rooms have no view and there's a nearby railroad that can create noise from time to time.

My check-in was uneventful but not particularly welcoming. I had booked a QQ even though I prefer a K, but there were none available at time of reservation. When I checked in, I was offered no choice of room type or floor location.

There are two elevators servicing the single wing of rooms - one is located just off the lobby and a second elevator is midway down the corridor. One elevator is missing its marble threshold inside the car - that's a sign of slow or deferred maintenance and though this hotel looks reasonably new, it's beginning to show signs of heavy use.

Inside the room you'll find the kinda sorta interim/refresh look that Courtyard was pushing mid-decade - carpets in blue, the annoying 18" wide runner across the white linens that never stays in place and seems to be a sort of echo of the old style bedspreads; a tiny bathroom with marble sink and low quality vinyl tub/shower surround; somewhat noisy PTAC units that help drown out the road/railroad noise; and a Philips flat panel sized at 27" when it should be minimum 37". I detected no HDTV channels.

Being on the coast, you'll need to be wary of the water coming out of the tap - it has quite the sulfur odor.

This property is still charging a premium rate even in the recession, so weigh the advantage of being beach-walkable carefully against the price difference. Given that there are few or no restaurants in walking distance, and that it is generally an "average" Courtyard once you're in the room, the location is truly the only compelling reason to keep this property on your short list.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    101
    81
    32
    13
See reviews for
113
91
16
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, MS
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2009

My mother and I traveled to the coast for the Mother's Day weekend. I searched several different hotels before choosing to stay at the Courtyard. Let me just start by saying we were impressed just by driving into the parking lot. The hotel was clean and in the perfect location right across from the beach with nothing but beautiful trees around, spared from Katerina!

When we walked into the lobby the front desk staff could not have been any more pleasant. We were checked in right away and they even provided us with a list of places to eat in the area. The location was great, putting us right across the road from the beach and away from all of the hustle that Biloxi has. Although, we were close enough to drive right down 90 and be at the casinos in a matter of minutes.

Our room was very clean and the beds were wonderful! We ordered extra pillows as well as extra towels and they were there upon arrival no need to call the front desk.

In a nutshell we had a wonderful time and have even rebooked a stay for next month.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southernbelle_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

This hotel is OK. It is clean and presentable with a good location across from the beach but little rough around the edges with passable but kind of cheesy decor, musty stairwells, saltwater pool, and a continental breakfast you have to pay $10 for. I would be happy to pay $80 or $100 for the room (as it was obvious many of the other guests were) but $160? - it just does not feel worth that.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerrywanna96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRAND BAY, AL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2009

First of all to the Management and Staff of this hotel, AWESOME JOB. Myself and 18 other Marines from LAAD Bn had the pleasure of holding our first reunion at this hotel. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels and this is by far the most pleasurable experience i have ever had. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The staff is absolutely amazing. Never have I been treated like I was at home in a hotel until my stay this past weekend. We will definitely be holding future events here. Fantastic job by every single employee there.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSEDGE69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2009

Spent three days at the Marriott Courtyard - Gulfport and had a great stay. The hotel is spotless and service was terrific. The staff was very accommodating and helpful with everything from directions to suggestions of where to go and local points of interest.
Food was fresh and service was great. The staff was great and obviously liked what they do.
I will certainly look forward to a return visit in the future and would recommend this hotel as a beautiful location and super friendly staff.
PJ Guagliano

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjmg0253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2008

Pleasant & helpful Staff, 24 hr coffee service in lobby, very good breakfast--well worth the cost. Overall, very pleased and we were in the hotel for 5 nights (wedding guests). Would highly recommend it. Good size rooms, free internet access, very pleasant lobby and nice grounds.

  • Liked — staff, room size
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HWAYMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opelika, AL
Level Contributor
129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

We wanted a gambling junket, but all the casinos were full, so we booked a room here for the weekend. It was a pleasant hotel with a bar and restaurant and right on the beach. It was a short and pleasant drive to our casinos of choice and to Emeril's Gulf Coast Fish House. That was a fabulous restaurant. (located at the Island View Casino in Gulfport). We won a little at the IP and lost a little at the Beaux Rivage, but it was all good. Enjoyed every minute! Check out the tree carvings between Gulfport and Biloxi on the Beach Blvd.

  • Liked — space and comfortable beds!
  • Disliked — too far from the casinos
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulfport
2.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Gulfport
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gulfport
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
South Beach Biloxi Hotel & Suites
3.9 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#10 of 28 in Gulfport
205 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Seaway Inn
Best Western Seaway Inn
#7 of 28 in Gulfport
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront

Property: Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront
Address: 1600 E Beach Blvd, Gulfport, MS 39501-2103 (Formerly Gulfport Beachfront Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Gulfport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gulfport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently renovated Hotel is poised among 26 miles of pristine beaches along the Gulf of Mexico and premier among hotels in Gulfport, MS, Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront makes your stay on the Gulf Coast unforgettable. Enjoy our Gulfport, MS hotel's deluxe amenities with access to many recreational activities, from championship golfing and world-class culinary experiences to premier shopping & exciting nightlife with casinos. Our Gulfport hotel's spacious guest rooms feature complimentary wireless Internet, a large workspace ideal for business travelers, luxurious bedding & a mini-fridge. After a day at the beach or long meetings, relax in our swimming pool or stay fit in our fully equipped fitness center. In the evening, enjoy dinner at our restaurant & a cocktail at the lobby bar. Our hotel's Gulfport, MS accommodations offer one of the largest meeting facilities on the coast where we take care of the details with on-site coordinators & catering. Get away to a hotel that is just minutes from the beach, airport and other area attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gulfport Beachfront Hotel Gulfport
Gulfport Marriott
Gulfport Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing