We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Comfortable, and Views of the Gulf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 East Beach Boulevard, Gulfport, MS 39501 (Formerly Gulfport Beachfront Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Gulfport
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Quiet, Comfortable, and Views of the Gulf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night and received an upgrade to a gulf-view room. The room was comfortable and nicely appointed, including a coffee maker, sofa, and desk area. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The pool was nice, and we enjoyed reading in a quiet, shaded area just outside the pool.
Take a look in the lobby - there are notations that mark the high water mark during Katrina (near the ceiling of the lobby). There is also a case near the bar area that holds items associated with Katrina - like the radio used by the small staff who stayed at the hotel (previously another chain) to ride out the storm.
There were folks who mentioned the train whistle. We heard the train whistle while outside the hotel - and it was loud. However, we kept our AC on in the room and never heard it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaStram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    92
    72
    30
    11
See reviews for
102
78
15
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel survived Katrina and I hate to say anything bad about it, but we were really disappointed. We try to stay in Marriott hotels, but this was not up to Marriott standards. Most important was that the bed was so uncomfortable we ended up checking out early. In the restaurant for breakfast, we were asked what we wanted to drink, but never asked anything else (had planned to order from the menu instead of getting the buffet). The water glasses were gross and didn't appear to be washed. Just not worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathyatRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I've stayed here several times. The front desk staff is always super-helpful. Housekeeping is average. I had one problem, which was speedily rectified. It's a pretty standard Courtyard, but within walking distance to two great restaurant/bars. There's also a restaurant for breakfast there and a lobby bar.

Room Tip: Nice to have a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The staff is friendly, there is no doubt about that, but this is an old hotel that has been fairly poorly renovated. The carpet seems cheap and old, the air conditioner is loud, and the room layouts are kind of boxy and dated. Plus if you are not on the beachfront side of the hotel, you will hear fairly loud music and little kids playing in the pool until fairly late (11pm or so). To be honest, this might not be a bad hotel for a family on vacation to stay in (although there are probably nicer hotels to be had) but this is a truly terrible hotel for anybody on business to stay in.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get a beach facing room, and if you do have to be on the rear side of the hotel ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flyingkitchens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The outside looks grand with the gulf view beckoning as soon as you step outside your car. The entry gives the impression of luxury, then when you get into your room you are let down by the common attributes and ponder why you didn't stay at a cheaper hotel that offers about the same accommodations at half the price. Being it was the first stay at a Courtyard by Marriott, I wasn't aware that they offered any services (ie breakfast in the lobby) I still don't know if they do, but I am assuming they did because I saw someone talking about the 'breakfast area' to another hotel patron. On another note, my two daughters enjoyed the outdoor pool. Next time I will probably travel the extra 15 minutes into Biloxi.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper gulf view room. I didnt think about it until we got into the room :/
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jailergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Room overlooked the beach. Walking distance to several very nice restaurants. The desk clerk was very helpful in providing suggestions for good places to eat. Quiet area. Only stayed one night as a stopover to New Orleans but would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardB, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words...glad we can make your quick stop a good one. Hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I recently had a 1 day business trip there to Gulfport. Stayed here at the Marriott. The staff was very helpful on things to do and suggested awesome restaurants. Even comped me some free water and got me a free ride to the local casino. Clean affordable room on the beach and outstanding people. Highly recommend. Free breakfast there too! In fact they upgraded me to a larger corner suite for free upon arrival.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the ocean! You will be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulfport
2.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Gulfport
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gulfport
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Gulfport
Comfort Suites Gulfport
#12 of 28 in Gulfport
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gulfport Airport
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Long Beach
3.9 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#8 of 28 in Gulfport
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront

Property: Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront
Address: 1600 East Beach Boulevard, Gulfport, MS 39501 (Formerly Gulfport Beachfront Hotel)
Location: United States > Mississippi > Gulfport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulfport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently renovated Hotel is poised among 26 miles of pristine beaches along the Gulf of Mexico and premier among hotels in Gulfport, MS, Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront makes your stay on the Gulf Coast unforgettable. Enjoy our Gulfport, MS hotel's deluxe amenities with access to many recreational activities, from championship golfing and world-class culinary experiences to premier shopping & exciting nightlife with casinos. Our Gulfport hotel's spacious guest rooms feature complimentary wireless Internet, a large workspace ideal for business travelers, luxurious bedding & a mini-fridge. After a day at the beach or long meetings, relax in our swimming pool or stay fit in our fully equipped fitness center. In the evening, enjoy dinner at our restaurant & a cocktail at the lobby bar. Our hotel's Gulfport, MS accommodations offer one of the largest meeting facilities on the coast where we take care of the details with on-site coordinators & catering. Get away to a hotel that is just minutes from the beach, airport and other area attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gulfport Beachfront Hotel Gulfport
Gulfport Marriott
Gulfport Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing