We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Clean rooms, AMAZING FOOD and excellent service.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Gulfport
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Clean rooms, AMAZING FOOD and excellent service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I would give this hotel 4.5 stars if I could.

From the time I walked into this hotel, I was greeted with friendly faces and a very professional staff. Service at the front desk (Michelle) was top notch. She also suggested their lunch buffet which was Southern cooking at its finest.

The room itself was good. Besides the slow Internet, I had no issues...

All in all I would recommend this hotel for its location, service, and cleanliness. I am likely to return the next time I am in the Gulfport area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rwood20002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    96
    75
    31
    12
See reviews for
105
85
16
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
316 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

There were many positives about his Courtyard and just as many negatives. The staff is very nice and accommodating of your questions. The place is generally pretty clean and the location is good. The access to the hotel from the road is little different than what I am accustom to, however, it's easy to figure out. You will find the normal ammenities of a Courtyard here.

Breakfast is offered and there is a discount for being an Elite Member, but I think it's still kind of expensive for what you get. I found the internet to be slow and unresponsive. I mentioned this at check out and the clerk asked me what internet site I was using. Apparently there are 2, but I knew nothing of that information for my 3 day stay.

The television listing has lots of channels, but not all are available. In fact, on my last morning, there wasn't any TV offered in the rooms. When I get up at 6:00, I like to catch up on the news and there was nothing on. I had previously complained about not getting all the channels, and the front desk knew that was an issue, but didn't really offer any solution. I had a difficult time deciding on the rating, so I chose right in the middle. Lastly, the train did roar by frequently, and I could hear it go by.

The hotel has positives and negatives. Bring your own wi fi card and a Sling Box and you should be fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 678855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence RI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were very excited when we checked into the Courtyard in Gulfport. I was in the area on business for a few weeks and as a Marriott Gold member figured I might get some perks. No so much. Because of my long stay I didn't even qualify for an upgrade to a room with an ocean view. That was not really expected but since the place was pretty empty it would have been nice considering the investment I made in staying there long term.

First thing I noticed was that the "high speed" internet that was promoted many times about this location was worse than internet I had from McMurdo Station in Antarctica... Seriously. You may be able to check your email but forget about streaming movies after 5pm. Their connection gets flooded. The signal is weak in the middle of the building so try to be near the elevators to have the best shot at getting a good signal.

The pool and hot tub area are very nice and seem to be open year round. The pool is not heated but in January it was just warm enough to do a couple laps before hypothermia set in. The hot tub is a little ghetto with some jets that were not working but overall it was passable. There was however quite a bit of sand at the bottom which leads me to be believe that it was not cleaned all that often.

The gym was about the best part of the whole hotel. Very nice with a couple treadmills, eliptical and bikes with a set up dumbbells up to 50# and a smith rack (needs oil but I may spring for some just to get it working right) and a good cable machine. I was able to do just about everything I needed, another set of 5 and 10# plates for the smith rack would be nice. Really give them high marks on the gym. One of the best hotel gyms I have ever seen.

They do have a bar and a kitchen. the staff is very friendly, Mark at the bar is a great guy and is a good source of local knowledge. The breakfast is either 7, 9 or 10$ and is about equal to free hot breakfasts at other Marriott locations. They have an egg station but it gets old after a few days. They have a waffle machine and a few other hot sides but they are really nothing to write home about. There are about a million Waffle Houses around and that may be a better option. Nice to have if you are in a pinch but not really worth the money. They do have dinner which they try at but really ends up being marginal at best. Not sure if they just get the Sysco Institutional level food or what but the steak was kinda gross and the burger was that industrial brick type served on a stale onion roll.

The rooms are newer and nice, the drains don't work. This is common in a few rooms associates had so it is a common issue. On a few occasions rooms didn't get cleaned, not a big deal in my book but just something to note.

There is a train that goes by about every 2 hours every night and likes to use the horn for about 2 minutes. It is loud and if you don't have the AC on it will wake most people up. I always get woken by the 0420 train, I think it may just be a Gulfport thing.

The people really make the place work. They staff is very attentive and I think that they must have some tight bottom lines to meet. Not sure there are much better options in the area, maybe the Casinos. I would recommend the place if they fixed a few of my little gripes. I am pretty picky so take the comments with a grain of salt, everyone else seems to love this place.

Room Tip: elevators are slow go first or second floor, go sea side if you can lower train noise, get a room ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleaniedini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flora, MS
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable place on Hwy 90 on the beach. The lobby is large and a fun place to hang out. Ate a salad for dinner with wine upon arrival and it was good. Mellow scene. Highly recommend. Room clean and pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annet108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Completely refurbished. Beach is directly in front. Fabulous sunrise and sunset. Breakfast was very good and not expensive. Watch the video loop on Katrina...I couldn't look away. Everyone at the front desk was helpful and friendly. Excellent value!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is an older hotel that has been completely refurbished so the furnishings were in good shape and the hotel and rooms were very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful - we arrived in the late afternoon and the reception desk gave me an ocean view without me having to ask! I wish we had more time to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed here week after Thanksgiving to run away from busy life, relax and visit family along the coast. The staff was friendly and very helptful. Property clean and renewed. The cable channel had a video loop filmed by a news crew held up in th eprotery during Hurricane Katrina. SImply mesmerizing, which i could buy a copy.

The breakfast bar was reasonable, food was ok. Omlet bar was tastly and the rest was typical hotel breakfast bar. Would welcome the new Courtyard restaurant of items cooked to order with cofffee bar. The bar was open in afternoon and eveings, wine by th ebottle was very reasonable. As a Marriott status holder, i had a nice upgrade to a suite. the room was not ocena front, but very spacious for my sister and i visiting and having guests stop by.

The location is close to a lots of restaurant - a few walking distance. The ocean is steps away for walks on the beach and local neighborhoods behind the property. The locations is just far enough from the casino areas but clos eenough to the heart of Gulfport.

The staff was always helpful. We chatted frequently with staff members trying to get caught up with the news of rebuilding from Katrina. After 5 days here we were very comfortable. Business travelers were come sights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VA-Shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulfport
2.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Gulfport
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gulfport
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gulfport Airport
1.4 mi away
Island View Casino Resort
Island View Casino Resort
#8 of 28 in Gulfport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
4.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gulfport I-10
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront

Property: Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront
Address: 1600 East Beach Boulevard, Gulfport, MS 39501 (Formerly Gulfport Beachfront Hotel)
Location: United States > Mississippi > Gulfport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gulfport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently renovated Hotel is poised among 26 miles of pristine beaches along the Gulf of Mexico and premier among hotels in Gulfport, MS, Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront makes your stay on the Gulf Coast unforgettable. Enjoy our Gulfport, MS hotel's deluxe amenities with access to many recreational activities, from championship golfing and world-class culinary experiences to premier shopping & exciting nightlife with casinos. Our Gulfport hotel's spacious guest rooms feature complimentary wireless Internet, a large workspace ideal for business travelers, luxurious bedding & a mini-fridge. After a day at the beach or long meetings, relax in our swimming pool or stay fit in our fully equipped fitness center. In the evening, enjoy dinner at our restaurant & a cocktail at the lobby bar. Our hotel's Gulfport, MS accommodations offer one of the largest meeting facilities on the coast where we take care of the details with on-site coordinators & catering. Get away to a hotel that is just minutes from the beach, airport and other area attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Gulfport Beachfront Hotel Gulfport
Gulfport Courtyard
Gulfport Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing