We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”
Review of Ramada Gulfport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ramada Gulfport
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Gulfport
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

I can remember when staying in Biloxi/Gulfport was cheap, but that was before the casinos came. Now, the average "nice" room is $150 or more. We didn't want to spend that much, so we checked the TA reviews and decided that this place was a reasonable compromise.

It's an older (mid-70s/early-80s?) two-story outside hall motel. We like this layout, as we prefer to park outside our door. We requested a ground-floor room and received one. It's located in the main "motel strip" of Gulfport. There must be close to a dozen within a quarter mile, so that means there are lots of restaurants, gas stations, and shops nearby. Be aware that this area is right under the approach to Gulfport-Biloxi Intl Airport. The planes come over quite low, but they stopped at a reasonable hour (10 pm?) so didn't disturb our sleep. The area seemed perfectly safe, but it's not a place you would walk much anyways.

Single king bed, fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, iron, upholstered chair, desk, task chair, smallish flatscreen tv. The bed was ok, lots of pillows provided. The lamp on the desk had power and network outlets. The toilet/bath was cramped. No soap dishes in bath(?). Lots of water pressure and hot water, not one of these wimpy save-the-earth showerheads.

The place was pretty clean for a motel of this age. There was a pretty strong smell of disinfectant when we arrived, but that soon dissipated. They were kind enough to have the room all cooled down when we arrived, a nice touch that seems rare and was much appreciated. Front counter staff were very polite and friendly. Typical cold breakfast: cereal, pastries, whole fruit.

All in all I found it acceptable, and good value for money. If you want modern, super-clean, fancy, etc., well there are lots of other places in Gulfport that provide that for an appropriate fee. If you're looking for acceptable accommodations at a reasonable price, this fills the bill. I would stay here again.

The optional questions reminded me of two more things: they are "pet friendly" but there's a $35 deposit. Also, there's an attached Japanese/sushi restaurant which we didn't try.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gannet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade V, General Manager at Ramada Gulfport, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thanks for staying with us we are working hard to keep our prices down and give our guest everything they need and expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    83
    105
    99
    102
See reviews for
166
88
23
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Houma, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stayed two days here at the end of june 2011. For two nights the price was around $137, which included a corporate discount through my company. For two nights without that discount it would have been about $166. At the desk when we checked in there was a issue with the code and the guy told us to not worry about it. He honored the $137 we had already paid and let us check in 2 hours early! This was shocking.. we were offered a cart to haul our luggage down the hall. Room was clean, shower was roomy, and bed was comfortable! Could have not asked for much more! Beach was right across the street. Breakfast was great...juice, make your own waffles, fruit, cereal, oatmeal, coffee...etc. Will definitely stay again! Had no complaints at all! Pool was clean..free parking, free internet.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amandamarie20082008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

I was really impressed based on what other reviewers had said, that this ramada was actually nice. The room I stayed had all brand new furniture, new bed, new paint etc. Even the bathroom was new right down to the tiles on the floor and the tiles on the shower stall.

The pool was clean and the complimentary breakfast was fine. Had a variety of different options. The b asic type of breakfast you would expect.

We ate at the japanese restuarnt and had hibathchi as well. The food was great and they did a nice hibatchi show. Worth the Under $85 after taxes I had spent on it.

I guess i expected worse, but was impressed.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffmarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade V, General Manager at Ramada Gulfport, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
We are working hard to upgrade our rooms and breakfast along with all amenities that you are guest deserve and expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Was a great deal, location, and staff was very friendly. Rooms were clean and location was convenient. Will stay there again! Appears to have been recently renovated.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 98tsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade V, General Manager at Ramada Gulfport, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
We want to thank you and to advise you that we are in the process of putting in a game room and updated fitness equipment for our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haleyville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2010

We checked in around 6:00pm things looked fairley clean, Got up the next morning to NO hot water so we had to take the children to a picnic without a bath, got back to the hotel around 9:30 Pm hot water was fixed so we finally got our baths while blowdrying our hair the POWER went out. We were all in our night clothes had to pack up and move to another room on the other side of the building the rooms reeked of smoke something wrong with the plug in one room and the toilet seat was loose in the other. They said they could not give a discount because we paid online through expedia. I called expedia and they gave us a $50 Coupon that was valid for 1 year.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vaaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade V, General Manager at Ramada Gulfport, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
I am very sorry that you had problems at our property please note that as New General Manager at the property the entire Staff and myself are working had to make sure that every guest has the experience they expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gulfport hotels

ms
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2009

The hotel is in a great central location. BUT JUST KNOW IT IS NOT THE HOLIDAY INN.
When reserving with them with a debit card they do not tell you they will run the amount through plus hold 10%. The rooms had an odor, the A/C did not work well. Most of the night was hot. When I checked in, we went to check the room and the A/C did not work, and the second room was not working at all. I would advise not to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msjlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretna, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Took a chance and won. Had everything we needed and wanted. We'll be back and our dog gets to come with us. We are even going to tell our grown children to join us with their children. Lots to do, shopping, swimming, beaches, fast food, malls, bargin stores and last but not least, a nice place to rest and relax after all the days activities.
krogers@seatrax.com

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knj1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulfport hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Seaway Inn
Best Western Seaway Inn
#7 of 28 in Gulfport
619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Gulfport
0.1 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#10 of 28 in Gulfport
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge  Inn & Suites Gulfport
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Gulfport
Comfort Suites Gulfport
#12 of 28 in Gulfport
155 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 28 in Gulfport
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Gulfport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Gulfport

Property: Ramada Gulfport
Address: 9415 Highway 49, Gulfport, MS 39503-4227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Gulfport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Gulfport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Gulfport 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Gulfport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Gulfport Hotel Gulfport
Gulfport Ramada Inn
Holiday Inn Gulfport
Gulfport Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing