We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good value for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Value Place Gulfport, Mississippi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Value Place Gulfport, Mississippi
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 weeks in june and 5 weeks from july to september 2013. There was a women at the front desk that was not accommodating during my june stay and yes there were roaches, but during my second stay i saw no roaches and the staff was very accomdating. I got a single room and there was no more loitering at the front of hotel. Yes the lobby did smell time to time due to smelling workers getting off work and packing lobby. This is a busy and popular hotel and you get what paid for. Recently upgraded to flat panel tv new mattreses fresh paint. I enjoyed my stay and caught plenty of fish. Dont ask for handicap room if you do alot of cooking. There are 2 smoke alarms and will go off on steam alone.

Room Tip: Ask for what u want..if they are booked they will call once room is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intellione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    1
    4
    4
See reviews for
5
3
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I wouldn't suggest this roach motel to anyone. I stayed here while my husband was finishing up tech school at Keesler AFB and this had to be one of the worst, most stressful times I've ever traveled. Coming in at night alone was terrifying, a bunch of random people would hang around the front door and there is absolutely no security, so I went and got pepper spray to make myself feel more at ease. In my nasty room, I had roaches coming out of every nook and cranny. I kept the room as clean as possible and sprayed roach spray sometimes as much as 4 times a day and still had alot of problems. I went to the front desk to report the problem I was having and they basically told me to just go buy some bug spray and deal with it. The final straw was when I was in the bed sleep and woke up for a minute to notice a roach in the bed with me. I didn't complete my stay here, I didn't care about a refund, I just wanted to be away from the roaches and sketchy tenants. I decided to go to another hotel and pay more just to get a piece of mind. If I could give this dump a 0, I would, it honestly needs to be torn down.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Gulfport, Mississippi, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Value Place has a rigorous clean and safe policy. The conditions described from your stay last August are not consistent with our clean and safe protocols and we apologize that your issues were not handled properly. We have procedures in place to avoid incidents like this in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gulfport hotels

Pascagoula, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Value Place for 3 and a half months. From day one the General Manager ( Silas) did everything possible to make our stay a pleasant one, to include assisting us with familiarizing ourselves with the surrounding area. His customer service techniques were second to none.

Additionally, the rest of his staff were friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make us feel as welcome as possible.

I wouldn't need a second thought about staying there again should the occasion arise.

Room Tip: The only tip I could offer is to take one of the room tours that this facility offers, you won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Guest Relations Manager at Value Place Gulfport, Mississippi, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We're happy to hear your stay at Value Place met your expectations and our friendly staff made it a good experience for you. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The hotel is very clean and offers both comfort and value at an affordable cost. The general manager was nothing but professional and treated me and my family with amazing customer service. The supporting staff worked hard to meet our needs and requests. The stay here was very peaceful and pleasant. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chellebell85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Manager at Value Place Gulfport, Mississippi, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We are truly pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Here at Value Place we promise a truly affordable, incredibly clean, much safer experience that's always simple and flexible to fit your needs. Again, we are very pleased that you had a great stay. We wish you well with your future travels and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed at value place for over 2 months. The hotel is a very safe clean hospitable hotel. The staff really will meet your needs. The general manager Silas is a very professional and accomadating General Manager. This hotel property is really really clean. Please dont pass up this value. Ron C.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roninpcola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Manager at Value Place Gulfport, Mississippi, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thanks for staying with us! We pride ourselves on being clean and safe and are glad you had a pleasant stay at Value Place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Very clean....management's focus on customer satisfaction and cleanliness is impressive. Courteous and professional staff...all the comforts needed for a pleasant stay. Can't beat the price. Have stayed at this location 3 times and have yet to be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babs4yew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Manager at Value Place Gulfport, Mississippi, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We are glad that glad to hear that you had a great experience with us. Because our Studio Attendants follow checklists of simple, thorough and effective housekeeping practices, they know they're making a difference to each and every guest—as well as to the Value Place employees who live onsite and whose job it is to ensure that we're upholding our superior cleaning standards. We wish you well with your future travels, thank you for staying with us, come back and visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southaven, Mississippi, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Do NOT stay here!! Was supposed to stay two weeks but on the 3rd day I woke up with bugs in the bed and blood on the sheets from the bugs! I went to the front desk asking for a refund but they said they couldnt do anything until the manager came in. I called the manager and he was very rude and only refunded me for the days I didnt stay and then hung up on me! I reported them to the CDC and the health dept, so maybe they will be shut down because no one should stay in a place this filthy!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Manager at Value Place Gulfport, Mississippi, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. The Health Department on the coast is thoroughly impressed with our pest protocols and we have always been commended for training our staff and ensuring we do not allow these issues to go uncheked/untreated. I will be emailing you privately as we don't have record of bedbugs being reported by "Julie G" and our property manager is always courteous and professional with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gulfport hotels
1.3 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#8 of 28 in Gulfport
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seaway Inn
3.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Gulfport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Courtyard Gulfport Beachfront
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Gulfport
Comfort Suites Gulfport
#12 of 28 in Gulfport
4.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gulfport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Value Place Gulfport, Mississippi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Place Gulfport, Mississippi

Property: Value Place Gulfport, Mississippi
Address: 8420 Highway 49, I-10 & Highway 49 (exit 34), Gulfport, MS 39501-8431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Gulfport
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Gulfport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Value Place Gulfport, Mississippi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value Place is a much better place Before you decide to stay at Value Place, we want you to be prepared—prepared for a better guest experience. What that means to us is a truly affordable, incredibly clean, safer, simple, flexible experience. And this is more than just a nice idea—it’s the Value Place promise. So how do we do it? By combining all the convenience of a hotel and all the essentials of an apartment. We’re a hybrid—and that makes us better than a hotel, an apartment or any other short-term or long-term housing accommodations you’ll find. Think about it—no extras padded into our price, no hidden fees. No lease to sign, no utilities to set up. And that’s just for starters. Find out how we’re different and what to expect when you’re here. What to expect when you arrive After a brief room tour, you’ll register, pay for the week plus a refundable $100 deposit, and agree to our house rules—which basically come down to common-sense policies that protect the privacy and security of each and every guest. Value Place is a family-friendly place, and children 17 and under stay free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Value Place Gulfport, Mississippi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing