We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but expensive”
Review of Thai Lotus

Thai Lotus
Ranked #38 of 254 Restaurants in Gulfport
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good but expensive”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The food is very good but slow to get to the table.
The outside is not much to look at and the inside could use a renovation.
Not high class dining but very tasty.
Might want to ask for "easy on the rice". My entrée was way to much rice and not quite enough meal.
The staff were very friendly.
TV was on some tacky MTV program and on way too loud. Not everyone likes MTV drama/trash.
A bit expensive for the food you get.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FreeToLaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    22
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

While it doesn't look fantastic on the outside, like your mom always said, "It's what's on the inside that counts." We stumbled upon it one day, and we are so happy we did. We've made the hour trip a couple other times, just because it's the best around.

Though the name implies that it is Thai, they have exquisite Vietnamese, as well. They have a wide variety of choices, but be sure to ask how spicy the food is (they can adjust it for you, too). Since the menu is so extensive, you can order virtually any flavor experience you want. They have powerful, subtle, complex, simple, and traditional flavors. We've never had anything we didn't absolutely LOVE. My wife is crazy about their Kee Mao, but I don't think you can go wrong with anything. If you get stumped or intimidated, the waiter is very helpful and truthful about all of their dishes.

The portions are generous and the prices are very reasonable. The family that owns it is very friendly and honest. Some people have said to watch for weird hours, but I've never encountered that. The one issue with Thai Lotus is that they will occasionally run out of something.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank favre406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erbendorf, Germany
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Holy crap this was good!!!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Best Thai restaurant that I've been to. I ate with a large group, a few from the area. The menu was very extensive and everyone loved their meal. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. It was just great and I wish they were where I live!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank cusacsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AWSOME!!!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Catfish clay pot and bahn mai is a must! The Definition of AUTHENTIC Vietnamese and Thai

Gulfport on HW 49

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank billiegirlfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Freshest and tastiest Asian food on the Coast. Don't judge the book by the cover.”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This restaurant is just north of historic downtown Gulfport on HW 49 (25th Ave). The building was many things before and for the longest was an old tired Chinese buffett.
While it may not be a new building, the place is clean, has new paint, new chairs, tables, and nice dinnerware.
The menu is extensive and features Thai and Vietnamese cuisine freshly prepared from daily produce and food deliveries.
At the last visit my wife and I made during a weekday, we shared a curry and larb nur. Absolutely delicious. We also ordered vegetarian spring rolls that were quickly made to order and used what were obviously the freshest of ingredients.
The staff are courteous and will take the time to direct you through the international favors nd exotic names to ensure you end up with something you will love.
Don't let the old building fool you, this is a fabulous place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Ieateveryhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Lotus also viewed

 

Been to Thai Lotus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing