We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my fav BBQ place”

Murky Waters Blues and BBQ
Ranked #8 of 276 Restaurants in Gulfport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Located in the Historic Downtown Gulfport, Murky Waters offers slow-smoked BBQ, 17 draft taps featuring local and craft beers, and live blues music.
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile

We were really in the mood for some BBQ and decided to give this place a try. It is really more of a bar scene than restaurant. As for the food, we did not enjoy it at all. I had one of the combo plates with pulled pork and sausage with baked beans and potato salad. The sides were the best part of the meal. I did not like the texture of the sausage. It seemed to be very cheap with a mushy texture. The pulled pork was fatty and greasy. My husband had the ribs, burnt ends, and sausage. He said the ribs were very dry but did say the burnt ends were ok. I don’t see us going back.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Melissa12177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 253 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

I loved the atmosphere there. I just wished they would of had blues music when we dined there. The food absolutely great. The brisket was so tender that you could cou it with a tooth pick. Pulled pork was moist and tasty. The baked beans were a bomb. I wouldn’t hesitate to say that what ever you would try would be great. Service was also good. Drinks were filled regularly and they asked if we needed anything several times while we were dining. If you visit the coast, you must make this a go to spot. You won’t be disappointed.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2018

Nice place, very loud as there is no carpet or wall coverings to absorb the sound, when the band is there, it get very loud. Good food and good service and great bar.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fpc2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2018 via mobile

Smell and atmosphere are as a BBQ joint should be. The sides are generous. Unfortunately the ribs fell short. Tough and dry. And they were out of burnt ends by high noon!

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank HikerBoricua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2018 via mobile

Being from up North, we wanted to try southern BBQ. The place was empty when we walked in. Our server seated us. She brought a salad for one member in our party of three then brought out the rest of the food quickly. Not a good situation if you want a hot meal.

The pulled pork was tender but not flavorful until the sauce was added. There are three to choose from.

The ribs didn't have much flavor either. They were tender and came off the bone easily.

Out of the three in our party, the garlic parmesan wings were the best...at a BBQ place.

Not a lot of drink choices for a child that can't tolerate carbonation.

Place was clean and blues music played in the background. It would appear they have live music at times.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murky Waters Blues and BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Murky Waters Blues and BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing