We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, great service”
Review of The Blow Fly Inn

The Blow Fly Inn
Ranked #3 of 253 Restaurants in Gulfport
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Best Seafood, Steaks & local specials like Hamburger Steak & Po Boys Famous Iconic Local Restaurant since 1955 featured on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives! Drive over & see us. Follow the Blow Fly!
san antonio, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good food, great service”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stopped here based on tripadvisor. Good food. this was featured in DDD. Our waitress was awesome. Vey helpful and really good with the kids. It was very family friendly. Great view of the water.

Not that far off of ih-10

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    195
    86
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haughton, Louisiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth using the map”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

You have to find this place, cause it sure won't just jump out in front of you. Don't go if you expect a fine dining experience, cause it is what it is - a fish camp. Do go if you want some really great food with a great view. Our group had fried catfish to stuffed flounder to steaks. All were great, probably the only thing I would change, just my preference, is grits with the shrimp and grits instead of a grits cake. and the deserts - good gosh.... we didn't save room, but took some to have with coffee later!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geauxskeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Level Contributor
165 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Views, Meh Service”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

The wife and I enjoy coming here. Its always a nice meal at a reasonable rate. The service was lacking on our last two visits but it was busy. We will be coming back soon.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cubs1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Good Food and Service”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were told about this place from someone at home. It was a rather hidden gem with good food and GREAT service. The history of how this restaurant got its name was interesting. Good food and a well known restaurant off the beaten path. If we return to the area, we would eat here again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Missy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“YUMMY!!!!!!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We went here back in May. This place was awesome not only the food but the view! I had the fried clam claws and I couldn’t even eat them all because the portion was huge and they were amazing! If I lived there I would be going here all the time! This a must!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blow Fly Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Blow Fly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing