We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Local Legend”
Review of The Blow Fly Inn

The Blow Fly Inn
Ranked #3 of 253 Restaurants in Gulfport
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Best Seafood, Steaks & local specials like Hamburger Steak & Po Boys Famous Iconic Local Restaurant since 1955 featured on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives! Drive over & see us. Follow the Blow Fly!
Gulfport, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's a Local Legend”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Fantastic view of the Back Bay waters, Best chowder-type soups, award-winning hamburgers, yummie grilled pimeno-cheese sandwichs, tasty local fish fixed a variety of ways.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    201
    88
    28
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great local hideout...”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I read the reviews and asked around a bit and came up with this place for dinner...i am so glad I did! The service was fast and helpful, able to tell us about all the menu items. Portions were enormous, food quality high, and prices phenomenal. Its located on the bay, and the only downfall is you cant see anything out there at night. I highly recommend a visit here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sean_hansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Took all the visiting family there 2 days after Christmas. They were all craving seafood. My father in law said it was the best oyster poboy he had ever eaten. My brothers in law both got the seafood Diablo and loved it. Their portions could have fed 2 people each. My steak was good and the homemade onion rings YUMMO. Great place to take out of towners for some local flavor.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Southerncoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Worth the detour if you're passing through Gulfport”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

On roadtrips, we always try to eat where the "locals" eat when possible. On a trip from Florida to Texas, my wife found this restaurant on TripAdvisor and it was well worth leaving Interstate 10. I had the catfish over red beans and rice. Wife had crab cakes. Both were excellent! Will definitely stop here if I ever take this trip again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank miredintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Local Seafood!!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I'm from a central Florida coastal town and when visiting family in Gulfport this is our favorite seafood resturant we always visit. Seafood always fresh, views of the back bay comforting and the service is great. Casual atmosphere with a nice menu variety featuring local dishes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FLMelbourneTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blow Fly Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Blow Fly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing