We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant, new restaurant, perhaps struggling a bit with their food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red sky crab - CLOSED

Red sky crab
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Fortson, GA
Level Contributor
511 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Pleasant, new restaurant, perhaps struggling a bit with their food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife & I were one of 3 couples who had dinner at the new Red Sky on Friday night, 12/28. There weren't many people in the restaurant, perhaps because it was so new & the weather was poor.

The indoor section upstairs was pleasant in a conventional seaside bar sort of way with Sirius satellilte music mostly from the 80s. The draft beer selection was failry good - I had a Blue Moon - & we shared reasonably priced Sonoma Cutrer chardonnay with the table. My tuna tartare appetizer was nothing special; seasoning was uninspired. My cup of crab/lobster/corn bisque was quite small, too thick in my opinion, & with very little crab/lobster but an abundance of corn. My wife & I shared a stuffed flounder entree that was OK, but not unusual.

Service was quite good, & I suspect the food will improve with time. The menu looks ambitous & inviting. We would go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RalphSchmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
257 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in downtown Gulfport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Had heard great things about the place. We don't eat out often as we cook a lot at home and travel to Paris to eat once a year. However we decided to try it about a week ago. What is unique about this place is it's menue with a very special champagne vinegrette, one of the best dressings I have ever tasted and they give you the recipe, can you beat that. The seafood was a little old but I'm sure on another night it would have been fine the lobster macaroni was very special and the atmosphere is special we had a super waiter and I noticed all the people around me had very nice people waiting on them the delivery of the food was instant and I just can not say enough good about this. Try it we need more places like this on the Mississippi Gulfcoast.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bobtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummy food great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I spent 6 days in Gulfport for work and was referred to this place buy a guy who spends half there year in the area. I liked it so much that I went twice in the short time I was in town.
The menu has a great selection of reasonably healthy choices and it's all very fresh. I think it would be great to come here with a bunch of friends a share one of their big steamed seafood platters!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elbowgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pass Christian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
173 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Cool place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I wasn't expecting much but they bleed me away. My fish was perfect and my wife raved about the crabs. Outside eating on a beautiful day. Will be back

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GCTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best steamed crab I have tasted!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This place by far has the best steamed crab in Gulfport!!!! I have been to other steamers across the country, but for the price and quality of the crab you can't beat the red sky crab house. You never see stone crab around and theirs are great!!! The food was great and service was even better!! You must try the red sky crab house!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dukes1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red sky crab also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing