We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing House!!!”
This fountain greets you when you arrive.  Its is in the center of the large circular driveway
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This fountain greets you when you arrive.  Its is in the center of the large circular driveway
Elevated house offers lots of covered parking, just don't park the convertible under the hot tub River view of back of house, pool & pool deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
This fountain greets you when you arrive.  Its is in the center of the large circular driveway
Elevated house offers lots of covered parking, just don't park the convertible under the hot tub
River view of back of house, pool & pool deck
This Comfortable Front porch awaits you when come up the front stairs
panoramic view from front porch - look no other houses!!
Rear Porch offers 2 glass tables with seating
Panoramic view from Back porch of pool river and surroundings
Pool and deck - Don\'t you just want to take a dip?
Pool Deck offers two glass tables with seating for 12
Swimming Pool
Deck for Boat, Swimming or Fishing
View from Foyer to Great Room
View of Wet Bar
From Wet Bar towards Sectional Sofa & TV
almost 25 feet of granite & 10 comfy bar stools await you & your gathering
Dual Keg Cooler - let us know ahead of time if you are bringing a keg
Wet bar has ice maker, microwave, glasses, dishwasher, blender, etc. all you'll need
Bar has real neon beer signs for that authentic saloon feel
When is the last time you challenged someone in the family to a pool game?  its been too long.
5 Large Flat Screens and Bar Style signage decorate the Great Room
View of Kitchen & Dining Room (siting for 8) at foot of spiral stair case (steps lead to loft)
View of Kitchen eating bar (seating for 11)
Kitchen has 2 islands, 3 sinks, 2 garbage disposals, 2 microwaves, and the list goes on and on
This island offers an excellent area to prepare meals for cooking
Kitchen has 2 50' Flat Screen TV that offer views all over this big room
U shaped Island has 48\' cook-top
Counter space for miles
2 Electric Ovens, 1 large warming drawer, and microwave make preparing meals a breeze
Pots, pans, cooking utensils, oven mitts, measuring cups, casserole dishes, etc. all be found here
Full Refrigerator & Full Freezer allow you to make just one shopping trip w/out needing to stock-up
Plenty of room for all the cooks
My attempt to capture this huge, must be seen to be believed, kitchen in a panoramic photo
Master Bedroom has 2 TV's - one in each corner
Master Bedroom has walk-in closet
Master Bedroom has king size bed
Master Bedroom has slider door that leads to outside back deck and Hot Tub
Master Bathroom Stand up shower.  Bathroom also offers a 6' soaking tub
Master Bathroom has lg soaking tub
Master Bathroom also offers 2nd entrance for other's to use if other baths are occupied
1st Bedroom off the Hallway has Queen size Bed & Flat Screen TV
2nd Bedroom off the Hallway has Queen size Bedroom & TV
Hall way bathroom, services 1st and 2nd Bedrooms
4th Bedroom has On Suite Bathroom and access to 5th Bedroom
4th Bedroom off Hall has Full (Top & Bottom) Bunk Bed
4th Bedroom has Flat Screen TV & dresser
4th Bedroom has large closet & sleep a total of 3 people.  1 in the top bed, 2 in the lower bed.
5th Bedroom has chest of drawers (9 drawers)
5th Bedroom has 2 FULL Bunks (offering 4 total Full Beds)
5th Bedroom can sleep up to 6.  2 in each of the lower beds and 1 in each of the top beds
Loft view from spiral stairs
Alcove Bed
Loft - one of the Queen beds has its own little alcove area
These 2 Queen size beds in Loft offer a comfortable nights sleep
Another few loft
The Loft area offers sleep, with double occupancy of up to 10 - we\'ve planned for 8
Loft has 3 Queen beds and sitting area
2 convertible beds offer a nice seating area and double as sleeping area
Loft Bathroom - Full with 5' stand up shower
Loft Bathroom - Full with 5' stand up shower
Seating area has large flat screen TV
Laundry Room - plenty of counters and spots to hang clothing
Swimming Pool
Swimming Pool
Fire Pit
Fire Pit
Fire Pit
Swimming Pool
Swimming Pool
Swimming Pool
Swimming Pool
Passenger Elevator!
Is there anything The Great Escape River House Doesn't Have?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 27
Gulfport, Mississippi

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HMS75
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing House!!!”
Reviewed August 4, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our groups of 10 adults and 9 children chose this house for our annual friends getaway, and we could not have picked a better house. This house is truly amazing! It is huge -- our large group had plenty of room to spread out, and there was no shortage of seating arrangements for meals and relaxing. The kitchen is well stocked with everything we needed to cook for a large group, including two coffee makers, a Keurig, large stock pots (we did a big seafood boil one night), frying pans, knives, all sorts of utensils, plenty of plates, bowls, coffee mugs, cups, etc. The kitchen and grill were so great that we ended up cooking almost all of our meals at the house! One of the best things about the inside of the house is the bar -- we felt like we were out at an actual bar! There are flat screen TVs around the pool table and above the bar, and the bar has two wine fridges, an ice maker, and plenty of cold storage for beer, etc. If we had wanted to, we could have ordered a keg, and Patricia would have made sure it was tapped and ready for us when we arrived, which is a cool service she offers. The bar area is decorated with fun neon signs adding to the feel of a real bar. In the living room, the big L-shaped sectional is comfy and large enough to seat probably 8 people at once.

So that's the inside. The outside areas are just as awesome. There are a lot of different seating areas on the deck around the house (front and back), as well as down by the pool. The umbrellas by the pool provided plenty of shade, and we spent a lot of time down there swimming and hanging out. We also used the ping pong table and basketball hoop, and the kids had fun riding their scooters on the paved area under the house.

The house is right on the Biloxi River, so we took advantage of that, too. There's a dock that offers easy entry into the water, so we rented stand-up paddle boards and a kayak from Adventure Locators in D'Iberville (they were great -- I highly recommend them). They delivered the equipment right to the house. I definitely recommend enjoying the river if you stay at this house.

Patricia was fantastic to work with! She always responded very quickly to texts and e-mails, her rental agreement and policies are clear, and we received our security deposit back via certified mail two days after check-out. Thank you!! I highly recommend this house to any large group coming to the Gulfport area!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kwachman
Prattville, Alabama
1 review
“The Great Escape - Great for large families/groups”
Reviewed June 24, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have an annual family reunion with family members coming from Oklahoma, Florida, Georgia and Alabama. Trying to find a vacation rental house that will house 23+ people is a chore within itself, but, the Great Escape River House was a perfect fit. PLENTY of space, clean, and stocked with everything we needed in the kitchen, outside patio and pool. The kitchen and family room is so spacious that we all could fit in them at one time and socialize and eat. And yes, the bar area and pool table definitely sufficed the gentlemen in our group. Patricia is amazing to work with. If we had any questions, the answers came quickly. I would recommend The Great Escape River House to anyone who wants to get away but be close enough to the beaches, shopping and entertainment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very Spacious
Liked least: Had to leave too soon.
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Denise J
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
“Fantastic Family Vacation, Great Escape River House”
Reviewed March 25, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a wonderful time in the Gulfport area, the Great Escape River House was perfect for our Family, 10 Adults and 6 Children. The house is set up to support a large group like ours, plenty of room within the house that you don't feel crowded. Kitchen has everything you need to create fantastic meals, and room to allow everyone to eat in the same room. Spa was a big hit with the children and having a bathroom out on the deck kept them from having them coming into the house all wet. The Bar/Pool Table was a hit with the Adults, bar area was set up to keep the party going all night. Plenty of room to keep all the beer/mix and wine chilled, ice machine was an added bonus. Out door area is set up for entertaining, grills, boiling pots, pool, basketball, etc. Many afternoons and night's parents and kids were playing HORSE, great to see the Family playing together and relaxed. We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house has everything we needed.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H
Oil City, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Amazing Vacaction Home”
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This property was beautiful and met the needs of our extended family. There were activities like, swimming, pool and ping pong for the young people while at the house and it was conveniently located for many wonderful day trips. There were also many fine restaurants and attractions close to the house.
The house itself was very well maintained and stocked. We loved the kitchen and used it as a gathering place for eating and planning. The bedrooms and baths were spacious and could accommodate many more people than we had on our trip.
I would definitely recommend this rental for anyone planning a trip to the Gulfport area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location an quiet of the home.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long D
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place to Reconnect with Yourself”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My family of four along with three other families spent one week in mid-August at this wonderful river house for a high school reunion and retreat trip. We arrived from across the States, from Houston, Baltimore, Chicago and Jacksonville. As for our family, after driving 7 hours on I-10, the exit to the house led us to a bumpy winding road making us felt a bit uneasy of the heavy vegetation surrounding. Nevertheless, as we drove to the end of the road, The Great River Escape just appeared out of nowhere, almost like finding a long lost castle in a middle of the jungle. The house is beautiful and very big, fitting our group of 15 comfortably. We definitely got a good exercise during the time there just walking around the house, up and down the stairs! The inside of the house is gorgeous, especially the kitchen and the dinning room where we congregated most of the time. All the appliances and cooking utensils are provided and top-notch. Furniture are beautiful and efficient placed. And one of my favorites, TVs are every where! The Bar, it is unbelievable but we did not use it much as we don't drink. However, we loved the pool table! The bedrooms are all beautifully furnished. There are 3 bunk-beds located in two nested rooms. The kids loved that as they felt that was their own little kingdom! and we loved that too because they wouldn't bother us when they played in there, very smart design!!! Let's talk about the outside, the back drop of the house is a beautiful river with a dock where you can seat and relax or do some fun fishing. It was our favorite early morning spot. You can feel the quietness and serenity of the surrounding, taking all the craziness in your life out of you!!! On the lower deck, there is a very nice swimming pool to cool down in the MS summer afternoon but the best part was the jacuzzi right out side on the upper deck, just a few steps from the main dinning area. Take a dip in the hot tub and you wouldn't step out, especially the ladies, they hanged out into late night in the hot tub sharing secret things about their lives and husbands!!! We were all from the big cities where life is always on the fast gears. We were looking for a place to reconnect with ourselves and friends and the Great River Escape provided a perfect environment to do so. For all of us, this was also our first trip to Mississippi. For the time there, we discovered strong, honest, hard-working people and true authentic southern hospitality. The place and the people here have endured the worse natural disaster in the US history. Yet, they perservered and rebuilt their way of life and it was a blessing to experience that.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“This property is a must. Can't say enough great things about it!”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The Great Escape River House is simply amazing. As you walk in you see a bar that is bigger than most restaurants and bars. The second thing that catches your eye is the amount of TVs in the house. I lost count after about 10. There is also a pool table, ping pong table and basketball goal. The hot tub on the upper deck looks over the river and pool was perfect for the August heat. The grounds are huge and we even took advantage of the fire pit for s’mores with the kids. The owners were very helpful leading up to our trip and were on call while we were there if needed. We will definitely be back. Thank you Patricia!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;