We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere good food.”
Review of Bacchus Food and Drink - CLOSED

Bacchus Food and Drink
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bacchus Food and Drink is the original Cajun Steakhouse. Come be amazed by our food and atmosphere. Our menu ranges from our Bacchus Cajun Rubbed Steaks to Poboys and much more. Our full service bar includes drinks from any type of beer you can imagine to cosmopolitans and even our homemade Bacchus Brew. We are the perfect destination for business functions and birthday with our two private rooms overlooking the restaurant.
Mississippi, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere good food.”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Visited on a Saturday night @ peak time. Was seated right away. We ordered the pork chop and special (triple-tail with angel hair pasta with roasted red pepper sauce) for entrees. Portion sizes were good and the salad and bread it came with were fresh. The waitress was attentive and quick considering she also just got seated a table of six (we were only two). The ladies room was very messy and needed some attention. Looked like no one had checked it for hours. We ordered Irish coffee after dinner. Would NOT recommend the Irish coffee. It was beyond bartender's knowledge and was the worst Irish coffee ever, but other than that, was a very pleasant experience and would absolutely recommend and return again. Just no coffee drinks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    18
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pass christian
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Christmas Decorations”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Bacchus is my favorite restaurant - I simply love to go there and experience whatever holiday is current- the food is unbellieveable I have never tasted a better pork chop and to be honnest I really did not like pork but the owner convinced me to get it and it was awesome - the decor is not only seasonal but imaginative and fun - and everyone in the restaurant seems very dedicated to the success of the place - i disagree with the comment it is not for the family as we saw many families there enjoying the ambiance

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank goodtaste826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, MS
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“No Consistency In The Food”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have been to Bacchus many times and like the food and sometimes love the food but I guess it depends who is cooking because the same dish we order every time comes out differently every time.
We loved the Spinach Bienville when we started going there and told many friends to go there for this dish but after the 4th time of ordering this and having it different every time and it was getting worse in flavor, we don't order it anymore. We do love the K Asian Wrappers and they are always good but again the flavor is a bit different every time.
Please make a recipe and have your cooks stick to it so if someone enjoys a dish, they can come back and have the same dish again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CassieGulfport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Ranked #1 in Gulfport???”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were passing through Gulfport and went to dinner at Bacchus based on Trip Advisor rating. It was good, but nothing remarkable. Not being from Gulfport, it may be the best. The food was good, but nothing remarkable. Portions (too) large - if you have more than one course,, consider splitting. Service was very good. Good and reasonable wine and beer list; Happy Hour from 2-7 (not sure if every day) has good (cheap) deals.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CrossRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Love Their Sauces”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We eat at Bacchus frequently. They have an original, delicious sauce for just about everything they prepare. They even shared their spicy mustard recipe with us and we made it at home.

Their Chicken Salad is great! It has large chunks of chicken and is mixed in a very creamy maynnaise/sour cream dressing. They won't share THAT recipe. :-) Dad has to be there to prepare it, or you can't have it.

Their French Fries... HOMEMADE!!! I read a comment from someone who thought they were a little greasy, but that's because they are HOMEMADE. Everyone has become so used to eating frozen fries, they don't the real thing when they see it.

We are currently making our way through their menu, and that's all I have eaten, but trust me, I will be trying other items.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LastMang0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacchus Food and Drink also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing