We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but..”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Grenada
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great, but..”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

My wife, our baby, and I have been staying here for years. We go to Grenada to visit family about 4 times a year. Every time we've ever stayed here we've had an amazing experience. The rooms are clean, comfortable beds, quiet (see further down the paragraph), and there is a pool and fitness center on the back side. If you plan on staying here, request a room on the back side facing the Comfort Inn. There's not a lot of streetlight shining in lighting up your room (if you have young kids you know what a problem this can be when trying to get them to bed) and it's a thousand times quieter. A friend of mine went with me to stay here for the weekend a few weeks ago and there was a different woman running the front and she put us on the front of the motel facing the pool. Our room keys quit working during the night and we had to go get new ones, the streetlights were shining bright and it was hard to sleep well. Lastly, there was beating and banging all night long a room or two down. It was awful. Around 3am a motorcycle cranked up and left and woke the babies up. I definitely recommend staying here IF you stay on the back side. :)

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie H, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

VALERIE
GSA
ECONO LODGE, GRENADA, MISSISSIPPI
(662)226-1683
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    34
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
29
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

A real non-smoked-in room. I learned to back away if the hotel has been violated by an addict.
Tiny freezer with mini-fridge, Microwave, Wi-Fi with free technical assistance hot-line, and peculator in room with decaf and regular grind. No Comedy Central; geeze, I don't know how to cope. Personable up-beat staff in evening and morning. Patties and links, waffles and syrup, bananas and apples, sausage and biscuit, milk, cereal and OJ. On the north side of the road as you drive east after turning off of I-55. Spotless and aroma-free. Also, free Dell 'puter in lobby. Batting in a league above. Glad we got here. No elevator: frail and burdened should request a first floor room.

Room Tip: No elevator: ask for first floor room if weakened.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissPriss234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie H, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

You don't want to stay here. The smell of smoke in our "nonsmoking" room was so strong my eyes were burning. Breakfast was fruit, waffles, and rotten coffee. By the time we paid for the room and breakfast at a restaurant we could have stayed at a much nicer hotel.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie H, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Wendy J,

We at Econo Lodge would like to first and foremost apologize the experience of your recent stay with us. We assure you that is not how we run our hotel, and we have taken measures to ensure this does not happen again. Please accept our sincerest apologies for this incident. We hope that you allow us the opportunity to provide you with a much more pleasurable stay sometime in the future.

Sincerely,
Valerie H.
Front Desk and Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Overall, a nice motel. The staff was friendly, helpful and efficient. I work as a charter/tour bus driver, and was in Grenada on a charter, along with another driver. The only complaint I had was that my room (non smoking) had been smoked in. I am allergic to cigarette smoke, and that was going to be a problem, but the other driver switched with me, and that room was great. The room was clean, there were no problems with plumbing, or bathroom facilities. Shower and tub were very nice, clean, and there was good hot water. Breakfast room was clean, furniture was nice, and breakfast items included hot sausage gravy and biscuits, waffles, cereal, fruit, muffins, coffee, and juices.

Room Tip: If you are in an RV or other large vehicle, the staff does not mind if you park in the lot on the ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie H, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Ron,

We would like to take the time to thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay for the most part. We would also like to take the time to let you know that we have taken the necessary steps to ensure that our non-smoking rooms remain such. We apologize for the occurrence that you experienced with the smell of smoke in your room. We have since cleaned that room and the smell of smoke is no longer there. We thank you for bringing that to our attention so that we could resolve that. We hope that you allow us to provide you with a pleasurable stay again in the future.

Sincerely,
The Staff of Econo Lodge Grenada, MS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELD
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We chose this motel in Grenada partly because it was the right distance we wanted to drive, but also because of TripAdvisor reviews. We were not at all disappointed. As this was formerly a Comfort Inn, the rooms are larger than we've previously found at Econo Lodges. The non-smoking rooms seemed well segregated from the smoking rooms (ours was room 109 on the back side of the motel). Room entries are from the outside, not from an interior corridor, so that also cuts down on smoke issues. Our room was handicap accessible (we prefer them because they usually have tall toilets and good grab bars in the shower). The king-size bed was comfortable, and there were adequate lights and plugs. The one odd thing was that there was basically no closet in that room, but a hanging rack in the spacious bathroom. Also, the microwave and fridge were recessed in the wall (except for their doors, their working parts were actually inside the bathroom). The heat worked so well (it was quite cold outside) that most of the time we just left it turned off. We found a wonderful Italian restaurant and gave the front desk information about it.

The front desk clerks at both check-in and check-out were very pleasant and welcoming, and we were given a call in our room about ten minutes after checking in, asking if we were happy with our accommodations (we were). The furniture is old, and the TV is not flat screen, but we had a very comfortable night's rest. Breakfast was much more than the usual stale donuts we've gotten at other Econo Lodges, and there was a pleasant attendant keeping an eye on things. We would stay here again if the opportunity presented itself.

Room Tip: Room 109 is very smoke-free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PATRICIA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We have no complaint, it's a convenient location for when we visit the area. The staff are professional and friendly, the rooms are clean and comfortable. The swimming pool is an outdoor pool and closed when we were there last. Breakfast is always plentiful. For the price that we pay, it's an exceptional value and we will be back.

Room Tip: We prefer to stay on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colfax, Iowa, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We needed a good, clean, cheap place to stay for one night on our way to Orange Beach. We picked this one based on the reviews even though it took us out of our way for about a half hour. It was no surprise that all the reviews were correct. Friendly staff, clean rooms, easy access to interstate. They even had a continental breakfast which was good. We will stay here again when we come through here. They 4 instead of 5 is only because it is still a bit out dated but they are working on it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjjcshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grenada
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grenada
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grenada
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grenada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 13 in Grenada
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knights Inn Grenada
Knights Inn Grenada
#5 of 13 in Grenada
46 reviews
21.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1552 Sunset Dr, Grenada, MS 38901-4507 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Grenada
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Grenada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Grenada
Grenada Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing