We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic as usual....”
Review of Lusco’s

Lusco’s
Ranked #4 of 39 Restaurants in Greenwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic as usual....”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Been going to this restaurant since the 1950's. Certainly do miss the butter pats on the ceiling but do understand health violations. Steaks were excellent and the flan was melt-in-your-mouth good. Onion rings were just so-so, though. A little disappointed in them. Would highly recommend as ambiance is well worth the price.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CNH_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    11
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had a group of 20 people to eat. The broiled shrimp were delicious. The salad was very good. Our service was very good. I highly recommend lusco's. The onion rings were excellent. We bought our own wine and had the best time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pa.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I ate at Lusco's last month and this while visiting on business. Both food and service were excellent each time I was there. Didn't know until after I ate there that this restaurant was in the movie The Help.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank j19460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Old time Service and Atomosphere”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I really enjoyed the entire dining experience here.

First, it's not exactly in the best of neighborhoods and from the outside it certainly looks like a "hole in the wall." However, they have valet parking and a visible employee presence outside the place, so there are no problems. The place has been around for a while and according to the menu, the 5th generation is now involved with this family business.

This place is a throwback to the days of prohibition. They serve beer but you bring your own wine and liquor. They will provide glasses, set ups and ice. We sat in a private room, of which there are several. If you want the server you push a buzzer on the wall. In the old days I assume this was to have privacy for consumption of alcohol or whatever else was going on in the room.

The food is carted from the kitchen to the table on a three tier cart on wheels. We started with fired chicken appetizer for the table. Nothing fancy, just home fried chicken – four pieces per order. It tasted like what I remember my grandmother making back in the 1960's in south Louisiana. The pompano is one of their special dishes and several at the table ordered it. They loved it. I had the rib eye, which was excellent. It came with a tangy au jus. I also had the crabmeat cocktail and house salad. Both excellent. I had the baked potato as a side, but wish I would had ordered the french fries. They are hand cut fries, cut at the time you order them. For a french fry purist like me, they were perfect (I stole some from one of my table companions).

This place has a lot of charm and old south hospitality and excellent food. If you are in the area it is worth the trip.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DennisBTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An old standard”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Still great after all these years -- private booths and all

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank DonBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lusco’s also viewed

 

Been to Lusco’s? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing