We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jusk OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Alluvian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alluvian Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Greenwood
Certificate of Excellence
northern California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Jusk OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2005

We stayed at the Alluvian in May 03. Brand new at that time and spotless. Staff was warm and helpful. But the design of the hotel ignores the rich history and culture of the Mississippi Delta. Looks like "they" want to revive Greenwood by erasing it. Too bad - when Greenwood looks like everywhere else, who's gonna visit?

  • Stayed May 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HotelDog7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    51
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
21
90
6
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2005

We were pleased with our stay. Amenities were different and excellent.
Well stocked mini bar. Dinner in Hotel restaurant was great.
Service goes the extra mile. Would recommend trying the Cooking School
associated with the Hotel.

Helpful?
3 Thank divinemboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2004

I have traveled to Paris, Athens, the Soviet Union, Australia, Japan, Germany, Finland, Holand, Africa, China, Viet Nam, Austria, Switzerland, Canada, Brussells,
Italy, Brazil, South and Central America and all over the United States from coast-to-coast ( and stayed in some of thier finest hotels) and you will not find a more beautiful hotel, well-staffed, friendly...plus a world class resturant on site...ANYWHERE...and it is right here in the nicest and best town in Mississippi.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2004

My wife and I visit Greenwood quite often but we have really started visiting more after The Alluvian opened. I just returned from a trip to NYC and this hotel would fit right in with the best. Greenwood is a very fine town with many great sites to see as well as many great restaurants. Giardinia's is in the lobby of the hotel and one of the finest restaurants you would ever visit. The hotel is a beautiful place with gorgeous rooms. It's a place to visit soon. Enjoy.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2004

Incredible hotel, up there w/Ritz Carleton New Orleans and Le Meridien Toronto as our favorites. Very spacious rooms, great decor, local-interest books everywhere, a chaise lounge at the foot of the bed, bathrooms bigger than any hotel room in Paris, tremendous public areas... the Alluvian is a marvel. Giardina's is great and not hyper-expensive (though it is a re-creation, as opposed to the still-authentic/historic Lusco's). The Alluvian does lack some big-hotel amenities -- no valet parking, on-site newsstand or room service menu, and on the weekend (when we were there) staffing seemed limited. Still, a great place if you don't need to be waited on hand and foot, and we'll be looking for excuses to come back to the area and stay there.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2004

I would have never thought a hotel such as this existed in such a small delta town. The accommodations were wonderful, the room was beautiful and comfortable as was the entire hotel. The restaurant was outstanding. The entire experience was relaxing and fantastic.
Definitely worth the drive.

  • Stayed April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2004

The Alluvian is the finest hotel in which my wife and I have stayed.
The ammenities, such as the paintings and photographs of delta scenes displayed all over the hotel and the books with Mississippi themes scattered around the downstairs parlor, are representative of the unique area in which the hotel is located.

The rooms are large and comfortable and the staff is excellent.
Everything about the place reflects the desire for excellence that guided the development of the hotel.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenwood
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Greenwood
Hampton Inn Greenwood
#1 of 8 in Greenwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenwood
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Greenwood
BEST WESTERN Greenwood
#3 of 8 in Greenwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winona North
24.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Greenwood
Comfort Suites Greenwood
#1 of 6 in Greenwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alluvian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alluvian Hotel

Property: Alluvian Hotel
Address: 318 Howard Street, Greenwood, MS 38930
Location: United States > Mississippi > Greenwood
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Greenwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alluvian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Alluvian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing