We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Server made fun of me.”

Huck's Cove Marina Bar & Grill
Ranked #2 of 32 Restaurants in Gautier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Caribbean, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hucks is a funky lil waterfront restaurant grill and bar hidden away on the West Pascagoula River. Surrounded by big old oak trees, bayou breezes on Mary Walker bayou and possible sighting of local critters. You can arrive by auto or boating. Relax on the open decks or inside all non-smoking. Either location you will enjoy the view. Winter Days January Thurs-Sunday. February Wed-Sunday. Food Specials and Happy Hours Daily. Meet your family and friends for great food and drink. Hucks accepts all major Credit Cards and of course cash.
Gautier, Mississippi
Level Contributor
312 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Server made fun of me.”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I ordered an Abita Turbodog and the girl made fun of me because she'd never heard of it. You're in the wrong business. My wife asked if the onion rings were homemade and she said yes. About 45 minutes to an hour we got our entrees and appetizers at the same time. The wings were great but my blackened fish poboy was miserable. The bread was much larger thah the fish. Her burger was a wet mess that required a fork. The "homemade" onion rings were cheap, frozen, inedible stuff. When the server asked if we wanted to take the onion rings home my wife pointed out that they were very bad and not homemade. The server giggled "sorry" and walked off. No wonder we got a good parking place. This whole place is run down, dirty and is no longer "Caribbean Cute". Tennis rackets? Why?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gtonic63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Pascagoula, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Local Cool Spot”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Huck's is one of my favorite local summertime spots. You can get there by boat or car, they have a big deck outside where most people eat (mostly drink). It's as much a bar as it is a restaurant, but the food is great. Simple menu, burgers and stuff, but who cares, when you have a big margarita to go with it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nothing to speak of.....”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

It's a hang out and not very clean - needs some updating and dont use the bathroom it's nasty - we only go there when friends want a go to place for a drink - and the outdoor chairs - super uncomfortable cant sit too long

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JSWWJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mojitos Burgers Babes and Bayous!!!!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

First and foremost- HUCK"S is not a fast food joint. This is a family place that takes pride in the food they serve and the Southern Hospitality that they put on display every time I visit. From the gator in the bayou- Marley- to the legend of Huck on the menu- this place is down home Southern GOOD The folks that own and run it have keep it authentic and true to its roots for the past decade plus and still keep some old favorites off the menu but they can be had for the asking. Try the pizza burger- with shredded Moz cheese and marinara sauce with the battered fries. Maybe some chicken drummies and the chocolate cake is the bomb. Does it get crowded- yep and you would want it that way crowd is there beause the place rocks!!!! I spend a ton of time in the caribbean and South America and this little jem of a burger joint is what Mr. Buffett was writing about in his visit to Cabbage Key when he talked about liking his with lettuce and tomato- looking for a cheeseburger and some paradise- this is it- it aint no Mc Donald's and I suspect Mr. and Mrs. Huck want it that way as they discclaim on the menu "We are not fast food!" Go once and try a mojito or a rum runner or a bottle of the extensive beer collection, go sit on the dock and listen to music of the bayou- heaven on earth.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TampaGator1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

located right on a dock of the Pascagoula river. We sat on the outside patio next to the water.( gators included) The blackened grouper was great! Atmosphere on the patio was under a moss covered oak. The resturant is tucked away on a tiny side street hardly visible from the road ( hwy 90) just past the west end of the bridge at the stop light. It was like a pirate cove with it's rustic entrance. We weren't sure it was a restaurant as we turned in the driveway until we saw the full parking lot! It is not fine dining if you are expecting table cloths. The waiter was a local gal who was charming. I will definately go there again if I find myself near Biloxi..

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kay e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huck's Cove Marina Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Huck's Cove Marina Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing