We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting, informative stop.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mississippi Sandhill Crane National Wildlife Refuge

Mississippi Sandhill Crane National Wildlife Refuge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very interesting, informative stop.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Nicely done exhibits and video presentation. Very informative volunteer staff. A nice walk around on the Dees Trail one can spot and identify many of the unique plants and birds of the area from the well-placed information kiosks Remember to ask for loaner binoculars if you didn't bring your own.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank sibeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    13
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
washington, dc
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worthy stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We saw the sign from the highway and decided to detour. So glad we did. Learned about the beautiful Mississippi Sandhill Crane and other nearby wildlife. And learned about "controlled burns."
They start you out with a video about the crane. Definitely worth seeing. Enjoyed the displays and bird sounds. Didn't have time for a hike, but saw the marked trails. The wildlife center is free, but I recommend leaving a donation. Would return to this site. Didn't have children with us, but I think they would be interested. FYI, the gift shop is cash only.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank askcloee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Didn't see cranes, but enjoyed our visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We visited the refuge in late January. Extremely nice guides stayed open later for our small group to tour the educational center and walk the trail.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank aktraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quiet, informative, free!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

As one of our first stops in the area, helpful signs on the 'short' trail gave us insights to the gulf habitat and history. Highly recommend!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Rtroop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice, educational, free!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

This was a nice morning trip for us. We watched a short educational movie, played a question/answer interactive game, toured the small museum, and walked the 3/4 mile trail. It was educational and the kids really enjoyed it.

Helpful?
3 Thank Ravens-Branch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mississippi Sandhill Crane National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Mississippi Sandhill Crane National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing