We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and Serenity”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Midgard Country Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Midgard B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Don't let the 60km's of gravel road leading up to Midgard Country Estate make you turn around...arriving at Midgard we were welcomed by an extremely friendly staff member (Julian) in a golf cart with some ice cold wipes to freshen up on a hot summers day in Namibia. At reception a round of refreshing drinks were served and our luggage was taken to our rooms in no time. I've been to a few places in Namibia, but the friendly and kind service at Midgard is in another league! The gardens, pools and rooms are in a mint condition and a family holiday paradise. Air conditioned rooms with private entrances and crisp white linen ensures that you get a wonderful night's rest. The buffet dinner and breakfasts are both very generous and again the service of the staff blew me away. We had a 3 year old that wanted ice cream (not on the buffet) and it was no trouble for the staff to get some for him. We will make this an annual family holiday destination from now on!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiezelF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 86 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2011

had a fantastic fun stay, the staff could not be more attentive and friendly without hassling. My colleagues and I certainly enjoyed the bowling alley! Location can be difficult but worth it!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeresaM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Thank TravelSilke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OL-Leisure, General Manager at Midgard Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nana2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OL-Leisure, General Manager at Midgard Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Eviter les chambres 201 à 208
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JVDL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OL-Leisure, General Manager at Midgard Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff20e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Midgard Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midgard Country Estate

Address: Farm 191 | 90 Minutes from Windhoek or Okahandja, Midgard 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Otjozondjupa Region > Midgard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Midgard
Price Range: $135 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Midgard Country Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acquired in 1937, Carl Werner List originally farmed the 12 000 hectare estate and eventually developed this private and intimate world into a household name in Namibia. Today you are invited to enjoy the tranquility of Midgard. Midgard Country Estate offers 46 fully equipped rooms, Carl’s Dining Room & Bar, two swimming pools, a gym and sauna as well as Namibia’s one and only private skittle alley (Kegelbahn). Choose between one of our 35 Standard Rooms, 5 Family Rooms or 5 Luxury Rooms with views overlooking the swimming pools, gardens, courtyard or mountains. Our self-catering units at the trains offer an alternative for all guests who prefer a true “camping experience” at highly affordable rates. The estate is spaciously situated in a sprawling country garden, bordering the Swakop River Valley. At Midgard we invite you to relax and have fun; feel free to soak up the ambiance and simply unwind; or explore the outdoors on our hiking and mountain trails, play bowling, volleyball, tennis, table tennis, pool or outdoor chess or view our vintage car collection. One of the estate’s major attractions is a Hilltop Sundowner Drive, where you can enjoy a stunning 360° view over the Otjihavera Mountains with a refreshing sundowner in hand. We also offer morning or afternoon Game Drives through the separate 2 000 hectare nature reserve, along the Swakop River. Our game park is home to giraffes, blue and black wildebeests, oryx, kudus, hartebeests, eland, smaller antelope species, warthogs and baboons. If luck is on your side, even brown hyena and leopards can be spotted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Midgard Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing