We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of CJ's Seafood House - CLOSED

CJ's Seafood House
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
D'Iberville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
109 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

This place in nothing fancy. Just a great mom & pop type restaurant. We were looking for a place like this that had good seafood. We were recommended to try it by a security guard at the casino.

We were told to sear ourselves and the hostess/cashier brought out menus and took our drink order. Out drinks were brought out promptly and after a minute or two of browsing the menu the waitress came. The place had three large parties of people with 10 -15 in each party. The waitress told us she would take our order 1st because it would take a bit if she took their orders first and we thanked her.

I had shrimp and fried oysters and my wife had fries snapper. The food was hot from the fryer and it seemed good to get food so hot you had to blow on it first.

The snapper, oysters and shrimp were cooked perfectly and I don't think I ever had better fried oysters and shrimp.

The portions were big and again so tasty.

The service was great and our food came to us in under five minutes.

We go to Biloxi about 4 times a year and this place is now on our list to go back to each time we visit.

If you want great seafood and you visit the Biloxi area this if a great little restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NormS579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant we wanted to go to was closed on a Monday evening... Who does that? We stumbled across CJ's when we were starving. Look past the strip mall and torn vinyl seats and enjoy.

Helpful?
Thank Dbo911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unpretentious, great seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Diner atmosphere, but high quality, no frills seafood. Okay, lots of fried stuff. But you can order from the steamer section and get a whole lotta great food. He ordered the Royal Red shrimp - supposedly a pound, but looked like more - after an ample serving, we still had about a dozen to take back to the hotel for apps tomorrow. Tasted like it was never frozen. Served with a mushy 1/2 corn cob and a couple potatoes. I ordered the snapper with fries. Huge filet that would serve 2 - simple but tasty. About the fried stuff - the fish balls are great. Nice spicy sauce to go with. Basic beer and wine if you want. Good service. Obviously popular with the locals.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This place is awesome. The shrimp poboy was the best one I've had in a long time. And those Royal Reds.....holy moly they were good. The staff is great and the atmosphere is real chill. Great place, we will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BuddyHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biloxi, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome local food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

If you want good gumbo, look no further than CJ's. The po-boy's are amazing too. The ocean springs location is very nice and I can't say enough good things about it. The d'Iberville location's food is just as good, but lacks the atmosphere of the other.

The only negatives I can say are that I did have a crawfish po-boy that the crawfish were a little overdone and tough. It can be a little pricey, but it's fresh seafood and that's to be expected.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Reggiebiloxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CJ's Seafood House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing