We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice museum about specific Civil War battles, and it's free!”

Corinth Civil War Interpretive Center
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Corinth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice museum about specific Civil War battles, and it's free!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We drive through Corinth a lot to visit family in Alabama, but this was my first time to stop at the Interpretive Center. We spent only an hour there because we had a long drive ahead of us, but we could have easily spent 2-3 hours there if we had read everything. The history presented didn't appear to be skewed to one side or another, probably because this museum is run by the National Parks Service. There were wall exhibits, two video "rooms", sculptures, an outdoor sculpture/water feature (that I didn't get to see up close because it was pouring), and a great gift shop. The history was in-depth and included many, many personal accounts. You really got a sense of what the battle was like by the time you were finished. I highly recommend the Interpretive Center.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ElizW46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    48
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We stopped at the center as we passed through town and spent more time than we meant to. If you enjoy history, plan to spend at least an hour here. Its fun, entertaining and well worth yourtime.

Helpful?
1 Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daleville, Alabama
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice additional stop on a tour of Shiloh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Although this was a very nice center and had interesting movies it was more of an extension of Shiloh than a stop to stand on its own merits. If you are a true Civil War buff it is an excellent stop but it is rather off the beaten path so to make a special trip solely to see the center may leave you disappointed. The walk up to the center from the parking lot was interesting as they have casts of artifacts embeded in the sidewalks.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fredy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevallo, Alabama
Level Contributor
125 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Civil War Battle that was paramount in the outcome of the war”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The center is free to visit. There are a couple of films to see that will give you a good understanding of Corinth's importance to the south (due to the railroad crossings) and also give you details of the outcome of the battle. Additionally, there are lots of civil war relics to view. I wasnt able to stay and enjoy one of the ranger sessions that are available, so i cant comment on those. There is also a small gift shop on the premises too. Also, if you have the time you may wish to drive through the downtown area where you can see the headquarters used by the confederates and over to the Corinth Cemetery which is probably about a mile away. If you are planning on hitting Shiloh too, i recommend starting in Shiloh and coming to Corinth afterwards. The battle at Shiloh occured first, as the confederate troops departed Corinth on an assault on the union troops camped at Shiloh Church. Shiloh is about 25 miles away.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank autigerrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“War buffs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Very nice and informative. The grandkids enjoyed learning more about the Civil war

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank southerner1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corinth Civil War Interpretive Center also viewed

 

Been to Corinth Civil War Interpretive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing