We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give this a miss unless you have a strong stomach”

Borroum's Drug Store and Soda Fountain
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Corinth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Give this a miss unless you have a strong stomach”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

After visiting Corinth we had planned on visiting the Drug Store as it is listed as the old fashioned side fountain store. Maybe we were too late, lunches done and winding down. Who knows, but every single table needed clearing, still not to be outdone, we waited for the waitress to clear a table and sat down. We should just have had a coffee, but they were closing in about 45 minutes and were clearly in a rush, so we quickly ordered chicken tender sandwich with fries and three coffees. The coffee was ok, but when we asked for a top up she had to make some more - timing again? The sandwiches were ok, not quite as full as we wanted and the fries were overdone and hard, which unfortunately gave us time to look around. It was filthy. Without a word of a lie, if we had seen it before we would not have sat down. The drugstore counters were covered in dust, and behind them were piles of paper and rubbish and in them, glass fronted, rubbish was piled inside, the TV though switched off was also covered in dust, a child was running around without shoes, her feet were black the floor was so dirty, and when we asked for the restroom I was so disgusted I took pictures of the filth. I would suggest if you want to see it, then do so, take pictures, but eat elsewhere.. Dreadful

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    17
    6
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

The food was great the soda jerks were fun to talk to definitely a small town vibe and the food was really affordable I would highly recommend it

Helpful?
Thank flinchy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, GA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Oh... the Patty Melt”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is a sure stopping place when we visit Corinth. The patty melts are divine, the milkshakes heavenly, and the people are absolutley wonderful. Borroum's is one of the many treasures of Corinth.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TheBeardedPastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Coast
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Hope I Can Go Again!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

In our search for the famous slugburger, we were directed here as we were told that we would enjoy a visit to the drug store as well as the food. We were told correctly...we visited for lunch on a Friday and the place was very busy but the staff was friendly and we did not mind our short wait. All food was good, even the slugburgers, but the root beer float was the hit of the meal. Lots of artifacts to look at on the walls. We enjoyed our visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank PointAfter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“You will not want to miss this treat!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Make sure you stop here for a milkshake or some good homemade chicken salad or pimento cheese. In fact, you will love everything on the menu here. Fast and friendly service are always on hand for this local favorite.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanneCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borroum's Drug Store and Soda Fountain also viewed

 

Been to Borroum's Drug Store and Soda Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing