We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dangerous place. Cars not safe, signs say so. Dirty place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Columbus
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Don't stay here. It was dirty. There was obvious drug traffic going on. I was there when the rooms were rented to them and traffic was upstairs from us until 3:30 in the morning. Then we were charged more than we were invoiced. Still trying to work out that one. A $50 charge was added to a room that was trash when we arrived. Was it because we complaned? There was mold in the bath area and lots of rust. Signs read not responsible for for your cars or belongings.. With hundreds of liquior bottles laying by the back fence it pretty much tells the story. I beg you, don't go.

Room Tip: Go to the next exit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monicaharrigill, General Manager at Econo Lodge Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Dear David,
I am so sorry your experience with us was unsatisfactory. I take all complaints seriously and would like the chance to speak with you on all issues you listed in your review. Please call me at your convenience at 662-328-6720 or 662-251-1121 so I may discuss the problems you experienced and move forward to solving these issues. Deborrah Stevenson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 27 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2010

Very disappointed in the Hampton Inn brand for allowing this hotel to be in their inventory. Reception staff were excellent ... extremely friendly. The breakfast was typical Hampton Inn fare. They had an evening reception, but we weren't told about it, so missed it. That's as far as the positive goes ... from there it was downhill. It was worse than a bad Motel 6. The littany of negatives are: soiled and smelly carpets, sticky bathroom floor, a broken sofa sleeper, spiders and webs in one corner and the ceiling, holes around electrical outlets, cut electrical wires on the floor, numerous holes between the walls and floor, exterior door with huge gaps, bathroom tile gaps/mold, missing toilet lid, a fan so filthy we couldn't use it, and to top it off -- blood on the bedspread. We slept very poorly worried about bugs and filth. The hotel had outside entrances to the rooms with minimal insulation, so you also heard whenever people walked by or talked outside.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClarkCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2009

when I called looking for hotels; most were booked but had room here. When we arrived we realized we got put in the wrong room. They quickly fixed the mistake and apologized and the room was nice and quiet.

we decided to try the breakfast at the hotel and WOW!!! the lady helping out had some AWESOME CINNAMON BREAKFAST CAKE AND IT WAS TO DIE FOR.

she was very helpful and polite and made sure we had all we need.

upon leaving the staff made us feel like we were important and not just business as usual.

will be back when we come visit again

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scouter96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Though showing age, this hotel was comfortable and clean.
Service was excellent as was breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harmsenom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

I started visiting here late last year. Since then a new manager has come in and really turned the place around. A new hotel Hampton Inn and Suites is being built closer to town next year and the staff will likely move there then. Meanwhile this one is old - outside room doors and seems like a typical 70's Holiday Inn. It was tarted up ready for sale (repainted, new furnishings etc.) but the main changes are the service and attention to detail. The staff will do anything for you and the manager's reception adds another nice feature. It is like haviing a few new friends around as guests chat with each other over the cookies, beer etc. Suffice it to say I am now heading there for my 14th stay of this year. Nuff said!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nr8209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

Overall this was a great hotel for what I needed - good desk space, color printer and copier, wireless, good breakfast, quiet room. The small details are lacking: some chipped paint, frayed carpet edges, and stained caulk, but the staff were great, the rooms clean and the Hampton extras (manager's happy hour, breakfast to-go bags, lap desks and very comfortable beds) more than made up for the small faults. Doors are on the outside, the fitness room is cardio only and (I think) the entire hotel is non-smoking.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jaf16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2008

the hotel is average at best. There are many flaws to this hotel that you can see when you walk in..Forget to caulk some items, carpet tears...stuff you just notice not because you want to but because they are that obvious. The staff were friendly and warm, so I liked that. The bed was clean and nice. I would say 2.5 out of 5..I dunno

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Cruzan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 14 in Columbus
119 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Columbus
Days Inn Columbus
#9 of 14 in Columbus
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus
Hyatt Place Columbus
#2 of 14 in Columbus
251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Columbus
Courtyard Columbus
#5 of 14 in Columbus
94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Columbus

Address: 2015 Military Rd, Columbus, MS 39701-3637 (Formerly River Chase Inn)
Location: United States > Mississippi > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range: $73 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Columbus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Econo Lodge Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Chase Hotel Columbus
Hampton Inn Columbus
Columbus Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing