We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sam and Vickie Bobo's wedding rehearsal dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Columbus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Meridian, MS
1 review
“Sam and Vickie Bobo's wedding rehearsal dinner”
Reviewed December 14, 2009

What a perfect place for our rehearsal dinner! Shadowlawn is beautiful and rivals any 5 star restaurant. What a fantastic place for all wedding festivities. The food was excellent! Everyone enjoyed the entire experience and I could have wished for nothing more. Thanks, Burnette! You are great at weddings and everything included in them!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdeb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
38
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2009

I took my 12 year old daughter on a surprise weekend get-a-way to Shadowlawn. The expression on her face when she saw the gorgeous home we were staying in, with the big white columns and inviting porches, was priceless! It was our first stay at a B&B and it was a great experience for us both.....a weekend we'll never forget! We were awed by the beautiful antiques, dishes, and flower arrangements everywhere! Our room was perfect in every way, big and comfortable. We put puzzles together on the shiny hardwood floors and my daughter took a bubble bath in the jacuzzi tub in our bathroom. Everything was so lovely, and Burnette and NoNo made us feel like royalty! We enjoyed their company as much as the food at breakfast every morning. I was so pleased. I have shown my beautiful pictures of the B&B to everyone! It is definitely a place I want to return to with my family and friends in the future!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tidepridegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

We spent 2 nights at Shadowlawn and wished it were more. Burnette and NoNo were incredibly helpful, from the time we made our reservation until we drove out of the driveway on our last morning. The home is beautiful and you could spend days just admiring the amazing antiques. Our room was very comfortable, and the breakfasts were incredible-I will be longing for the Bananas Foster French Toast for some time to come! There is nothing we would change about this charming place.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabreline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2009

I felt a little uneasy about staying in a bed & breakfast establishment for work; however, I always consider the safety aspect of where I stay. This appeared to have a very safe way about it, so I proceeded. When I arrived at Shadowlawn, it was very apparent that I was meant to stay there because of reasons other than safety.

Burnette is a wonderful Christian woman and made me feel very comfortable; like I was in my own home.

We participated in a very uplifting conversation about our faith and shared bits and pieces of our past that contributed to who we are now.

Should I ever venture through Columbus Mississippi again, I will not consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falcon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2009

Let me preface this review with the fact that I travel all the time for work, mostly around the state of Mississippi. I am pretty picky about hotels. Plus, I worked at a fabulous B&B in high school, giving tours and helping out around the B&B. Given those facts, my standards are high.

I stayed at Shadowlawn while working in West Point. Burnette and her husband No No (yes, that is his name - hence the title of my review) greeted me late Monday night when I finally got to town. They were both very friendly and compassionate. The home is beautiful - it is a true "home." My room was wonderful - very spacious and my bathroom was a good size, too. Both were clean, which is a big thing for me!! The beds have down comforters on them. Parking was not an issue. I felt very safe in the area. Breakfast was good.

They have a cocker spaniel, which he is very, VERY well behaved! I told them that I was going to send my dog up to them so they could train her!

The day I was supposed to check out, I woke up early and did not feel well, so I slept in and was late to work. The day after I checked out, Burnette called to make sure I was feeling better.

I would recommend this property to anyone that wants a clean and comfortable place to stay. I plan to stay there again.

  • Liked — It was clean and spacious
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CarrieMississippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, MS
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2008

Burnette, along with her husband, are the ultimate hostess and host. I have been to their lovely antebellum home on several ocassions as a guest and have never felt more welcomed by anyone. They are very gracious and friendly people and offer their home for others to enjoy. The warmth and friendliness they share with other people is beyond compare. Shadowlawn is a beautiful home both inside and out. The architecture and location of the home adds to its beauty in the friendly city of Columbus. Burnette is also very talented in creating flower arrangements and directing weddings. Her calmness and kindness makes for a pleasant experience for all involved in the wedding party. If you ever get the chance to stay at a bed and breakfast and want to experience southern charm at its best, I would suggest Shadowlawn in Columbus, MS. Also, if you ever need gorgeous eye-catching flower arrangements or need someone to direct your wedding, I can not think of anyone who could please you more.
Cathy W. Bailey
Columbus, MS

  • Liked — The home and gracious owners.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyColumbus_MS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calfifornia
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We spent a week in Columbus and had a unique invitation from a friend to tour and visit the Shadowlawn Bed and Breakfast. We had absolutely no idea how fabulous if can be to view and hear the stories about the antiques that adorn the gorgeous and comfortable Shadowlawn. Our host and hostesses are extremely knowledgeable, humorous, and charming...I mean complete southern charm!

A beautifully landscaped property with beautiful furniture and the most scrumptous southern breakfast!

S. Adams, California

  • Liked — The southern charm.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tdlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
1.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbus
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus
Hyatt Place Columbus
#2 of 14 in Columbus
228 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Columbus
Days Inn Columbus
#9 of 14 in Columbus
146 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 14 in Columbus
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1024 College St, Columbus, MS 39701-5807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the elegant antebellum accommodations of Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast Inn. High Speed Wi-Fi Access. Awesome Gourmet Breakfast. Plush Bedding, Professionally Laundered. Located in Columbus Historic District. Christian Owned and Operated. Weddings, Rehearsals, Bridesmaids Luncheons, Honeymoons, Private Luncheons & Dinners, Bible Studies, Garden Clubs, Retreats, Theme Parties, Girls' Getaway. “Do not neglect to show hospitality to strangers for thereby some have entertained angels unawares.” - Hebrews 13:2 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing