We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Columbus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2014

My friends and I hosted a bachelorette party for a friend at Shadowlawn Bed and Breakfast. We rented two rooms that could be connected and it was perfect. We threw a small shower there and had amazing customer service from Ms. Burnette. The breakfast was fabulous and each course was so thoughtfully presented, beautiful and most importantly DELICIOUS!
Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 89 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2014

My husband and I chose to stay at Shadowlawn for a night towards the end of our honeymoon. From the moment we saw the place, we were in love. Such a wonderful location, beautiful area, the bed and breakfast is absolutely stunning. Couldn't get over how beautifully decorated everything was. Our room was so comfortable and exactly what we wanted. The breakfast was exquisite and we just loved Burnadette, the hostess! We will definitely stay again when we have the chance! Would love to have a ladies weekend here!

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect, no wrong choices!
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My family and I came to Columbus for a wedding and after researching the rates of nice hotels in the area found that this Antebellum Bed and Breakfast home had rates that were comparable to those large chain hotels with so much more than just a bed to sleep in. We decided to give this lovely local business owner our business and are so happy that we did. When we arrived, we were overwhelmed by not only the estate but the warmth in which we were greeted by the owner and her assistant. Even though we had met that moment, it felt as if we had known them always. The beautifully peaceful home is inviting and full of all kinds of treasures to see and learn about. Our 10 year old son and 18 year old daughter were more than entertained while staying in this living history lesson. The homemade breakfasts were absolutely delicious and each course was presented with such detail. We cannot wait to go and visit Shadowlawn, our friend Ms. Burnette and Caesar the precious door-dog again!

Room Tip: All are unique, but the French Doubles connected to the King Suite is the BEST!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I thought Shadowlawn was truly delightful! A remnant of the old south in a beautiful, quant, small southern town. The atmosphere was delightful and the people who run it are a national treasure. Great food, a wonderful reception, a truly unbelievable venue. I would recommend Shadowlawn to anyone who wants a great experience and a taste of a bygone ere. Columbus Mississippi is a magical place with whispers of the past on every corner but with a modern attitude. The people are very polite and helpful and our trip was a smashing good time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

I recently had the privilege of attending a wedding at Shadowlawn Bed and Breakfast in Columbus, MS. It was lovely in every aspect of the word. The beautiful antebellum home and treasured antiques accented the wedding perfectly. What a precious sight to see the gorgeous bride walking down the historic stairs arm and arm with her sweet young grandson. After the ceremony, we sat down at a gorgeous table set with beautiful silver and stunning flower arrangements for an absolutely delicious dinner served by our gracious hostess and owner of the home, Burnette Avakian and her staff. The wedding and evening were perfect in every way. I would fully recommend Shadowlawn Bed and Breakfast to anyone looking to have a memorable and quaint southern wedding.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

On July 21st a friend surprised my sister in law and I to a stay at Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast. We were in awe of the beauty of the home upon our arrival. This is just not a bed and breakfast, but a home that is warm and inviting. During the tour of the home we heard the personal stories behind many of the antique pieces. Having been to several B&B's, this one has the best collection of antiques. The rooms are large, comfortable and quiet. The next morning we drank coffee on the back porch in our pj's and then was treated to a delicious breakfast of strawberry soup, baked figs and monte cristos. The table setting was beautiful. The owner, Brunette, is a precious Godly woman. She made us feel so welcome as if we were part of her family and answered all our questions. I'm already planning my next stay with a group of girlfriends and possibly even an anniversary trip. Can't say enough positive things about this place and the owner.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tawill0513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We were so impressed with Shadowlawn during our son's wedding in 2012. Therefore, it was the first place to come to mind when pondering a special outing for special friends. We were NOT disappointed! The rooms and food were outstanding. However, the grace and hospitality of Burnette, the owner, is the real draw here. Her charm and willingness to share her home, her beautiful treasures, and the wonderful stories connected with them will keep us coming back. My friends and had had a most memorable, blessed girls night out.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbus
1.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbus
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus
Hyatt Place Columbus
#2 of 14 in Columbus
237 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 14 in Columbus
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus North
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus
22.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Starkville
Comfort Suites Starkville
#7 of 13 in Starkville
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1024 College St, Columbus, MS 39701-5807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Columbus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price Range: $159 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the elegant antebellum accommodations of Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast Inn. High Speed Wi-Fi Access. Awesome Gourmet Breakfast. Plush Bedding, Professionally Laundered. Located in Columbus Historic District. Christian Owned and Operated. Weddings, Rehearsals, Bridesmaids Luncheons, Honeymoons, Private Luncheons & Dinners, Bible Studies, Garden Clubs, Retreats, Theme Parties, Girls' Getaway. “Do not neglect to show hospitality to strangers for thereby some have entertained angels unawares.” - Hebrews 13:2 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shadowlawn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing