We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southern Class Defined”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Painted Lady of Columbus Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Columbus B&B and Inns
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Southern Class Defined”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had a lovely one night stay here on October 26th. A beautifully restored, classic Victorian mansion made even lovelier by the innkeeper Jennifer. My Fiance' and I rested comfortably on the plantation style bed and had an amazing breakfast served up by Jennifer and her daughter. The house itself is beautiful and one wishes that its walls could tell stories long forgotten. We will stay here again in a heartbeat, the next time we visit Columbus, MS.

Room Tip: After seeing all the rooms before others arrived, it would be hard to choose one room over another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
painted41, Owner at Painted Lady of Columbus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. We strive to make our wonderful guests feel comfortable and at home. Please come back to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
12
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

If you can slow down, you will love this place. Mother, daughter and friends run
A Painted Lady in the antebellum heart of old Columbus. Katie Rose made
breakfast pudding for us. Excellent. My brother settled in the magnificent
Library rooms for two days. We toured neighborhood mansions. He wouldn't
leave his "study" and the back garden. "I'm happy. I'll stay and read my book,"
he quipped. He missed the river walk, but we pried him away for some local
soul food cooking and a fine restaurant that Jennifer recommended. I could
go on about the flawless decor, the antiques, the gentle player piano music
while we sat on the front porch. Instead I'll close with a suggestion. Start your
trip a little earlier so you can spend more time here. If you can relax, it's perfect!
-- Rod B. --

Room Tip: Downstairs grand. Upstairs various sizes, prices and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

On our quest to visit all 50 states, we chose the small town of Columbus, MS to get a taste of Mississippi. The Painted Lady B&B added a delightful charm to our visit. Jennifer was great - very warm and welcoming. The house itself is wonderful and we had a great stay. Jennifer was also very helpful in suggesting tours of 2 of the antebellum homes, which were also charming. Don't miss Waverly and hearing all the stories! Thank you, Jennifer, for a wonderful short visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovestotravel2z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We just returned from a trip to the South and had the most wonderful experience of staying, for the first time, at a bed-n-breakfast. It was "A Painted Lady" in Columbus, Mississippi. What a joy!! The Lady of the house, Jennifer, is a true southern charmer, as is her bed n breakfast. You are transported back in time to the Old South with all of it's hospitality, charm and romance. Very warm and welcoming. Breakfast was delicious!!!!!!! A must, if you are planning a trip to the south!!!!!

Diana B.

Room Tip: The Dolly Room or the Library are the best for couples, the other two rooms would be fine for friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, AR
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I and another couple rented the entire Painted Lady for a couple of days and nights. We slept upstairs in very comfortable beds with on suite bathrooms that were very clean and well appointed with wonderful towels and toiletries. We used the library suite downstairs as our joint living space and it was perfect--room to sit and relax and an adjoining bathroom so we did not have to climb the stairs all day. Be forewarned if you rent only one suite--the Painted Lady is a true Victorian with steep (although wide with sturdy rails) stairs. Jennifer cooked us great breakfasts each morning and we enjoyed the privacy of the courtyard as well. Jennifer provided snacks and bottled water for our comfort. There is a large refrigerator and Keurig coffee maker in the community area upstairs and a small frig and another Keurig in the library suite downstairs so we were able to have coffee or tea whenever we wanted. We brought our own wine, champagne, etc and Jennifer provided glasses for us. We even used her orange juice to make mimosas for breakfast. Jennifer was a great hostess--she made us comfortable and then gave us our privacy. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YankeeLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our stay at A Painted Lady was everything we imagined it would be. Our room was clean and quiet and filled with lovely antiques. Jennifer was a gracious hostess who made us feel right at home. Breakfast was plentiful and superb. In a town where luxury hotels don't exist, A Painted Lady fills that need with good old fashioned Southern Hospitality and charm. Do yourself a favor and skip the mid to low end chain hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RozLee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Arthur, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful 1890's Victorian style home that is perfectly decorated. I couldn't get over how clean it was in spite of all the trinkets and whatnots everywhere. We stayed in Dolly's room...slept like a baby in the king bed with ultra soft sheets. It was a little warm on arrival but the ac hadn't been on that long an it cooled down nicely. Breakfast was lovely and our hostess, Jennifer, shared stories about the house. Great comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SybinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus
Hyatt Place Columbus
#2 of 14 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 14 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Columbus
Courtyard Columbus
#4 of 14 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Columbus Highway 45
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Painted Lady of Columbus Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Painted Lady of Columbus Bed and Breakfast

Property: Painted Lady of Columbus Bed and Breakfast
Address: 504 5th St S, Columbus, MS 39701-6710
Location: United States > Mississippi > Columbus
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Painted Lady of Columbus Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Southern Hospitality in this Queen Anne Victorian home located just one block from historic downtown Columbus Ms. Voted as One of the Best Places to Stay by Readers Choice Awards. Pillowtop mattresses, gourmet teas and coffees, homemade cookies and cakes, flat screen TVs, English toiletries, plush towels and robes, rocking chairs and fountains, rose gardens, on site gift shoppe are just a few of our amenities. Enjoy breakfast in our courtyard or under the crystal gas chandelier in our formal dining room. Come see why guests call us the True Spirit of Mississippi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Painted Lady of Columbus Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing