We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Painted Lady Columbus, MS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Painted Lady of Columbus Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Columbus B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We just returned from a trip to the South and had the most wonderful experience of staying, for the first time, at a bed-n-breakfast. It was "A Painted Lady" in Columbus, Mississippi. What a joy!! The Lady of the house, Jennifer, is a true southern charmer, as is her bed n breakfast. You are transported back in time to the Old South with all of it's hospitality, charm and romance. Very warm and welcoming. Breakfast was delicious!!!!!!! A must, if you are planning a trip to the south!!!!!

Diana B.

Room Tip: The Dolly Room or the Library are the best for couples, the other two rooms would be fine for friend...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Painted Lady of Columbus Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 29 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I and another couple rented the entire Painted Lady for a couple of days and nights. We slept upstairs in very comfortable beds with on suite bathrooms that were very clean and well appointed with wonderful towels and toiletries. We used the library suite downstairs as our joint living space and it was perfect--room to sit and relax and an adjoining bathroom so we did not have to climb the stairs all day. Be forewarned if you rent only one suite--the Painted Lady is a true Victorian with steep (although wide with sturdy rails) stairs. Jennifer cooked us great breakfasts each morning and we enjoyed the privacy of the courtyard as well. Jennifer provided snacks and bottled water for our comfort. There is a large refrigerator and Keurig coffee maker in the community area upstairs and a small frig and another Keurig in the library suite downstairs so we were able to have coffee or tea whenever we wanted. We brought our own wine, champagne, etc and Jennifer provided glasses for us. We even used her orange juice to make mimosas for breakfast. Jennifer was a great hostess--she made us comfortable and then gave us our privacy. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YankeeLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our stay at A Painted Lady was everything we imagined it would be. Our room was clean and quiet and filled with lovely antiques. Jennifer was a gracious hostess who made us feel right at home. Breakfast was plentiful and superb. In a town where luxury hotels don't exist, A Painted Lady fills that need with good old fashioned Southern Hospitality and charm. Do yourself a favor and skip the mid to low end chain hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RozLee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful 1890's Victorian style home that is perfectly decorated. I couldn't get over how clean it was in spite of all the trinkets and whatnots everywhere. We stayed in Dolly's room...slept like a baby in the king bed with ultra soft sheets. It was a little warm on arrival but the ac hadn't been on that long an it cooled down nicely. Breakfast was lovely and our hostess, Jennifer, shared stories about the house. Great comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SybinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Wow! Words do not do this historic B&B justice. Innkeeper Jennifer Miller has lovingly restored this beautiful Victorian B&B to its former glory (make sure to ask her about the renovations made to the home on your tour, great for history buffs!). From the home's beautiful multi-colored stained glass and lovely exterior paint colors to the spot-on decor and fresh flowers in nearly every room, The Painted Lady shines in downtown Columbus. Miller has paid attention to the small details that make an impact. Tastefully chosen and period-appropriate antiques fill each room and everywhere you look in the house there is something new to discover. I love a well-appointed and beautifully maintained historical home, The Painted Lady tops my list of bed and breakfasts in the Golden Triangle area - highly recommend!

Room Tip: The Library Suite is the only bedroom on the first floor so those guests who are unable to climb one...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lsaintj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this very lovely Bed & Breakfast while in Mississippi on business. The inn is filled with exquisite antiques everywhere you look. Jennifer, the innkeeper, did a fabulous job restoring the home to its original splendor. We stayed in the Library room, which was very spacious and comfortable. There is a beautiful courtyard where you can relax and enjoy the fountain and the flowers and a large front porch with lots of comfortable chairs. The inn is conveniently located close to the main street with restaurants and shopping only a short walk away. We will definitely stay at the Painted Lady again should we return to Columbus.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
painted41, Owner at Painted Lady of Columbus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for staying with us while on business. We try to accommodate our professionals as much as we can . We are glad you got to enjoy the relaxing courtyard and the front porch. The pollen is finally gone and the roses are in full bloom. Thank you for such a kind compliment and do come back to see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the Painted Lady in Columbus MS for the pilgrimage in April of this year. We booked the rooms ahead. We were aware the rooms were upstairs and they really are, all except one room which is nice but you have to go through a palor that is for the use of all the guests to get to the bathroom which also serves as the public bathroom on the bottom floor for all the guests. The stairs were steep and 20 of them!. Our rooms were nice but overly decorated in our opinion. We did not have a drinking glass in our room but did have coffee outside of the room and got a glass there. The screen on the back door where you have to enter was torn, not looking too good. The front porch was beautiful, but it was difficult to get out the front door and there was a ladder out on the front porch!!!!!

There were NO hangers whatsoever in our closet and when we asked for hangers we were given about six of them and two to three of them were for children's clothes....not much good for us. None of the hangers would accommodate pants.!

We are aware a single mother is running this B & B and she has her hands full as she has other properties.

The first day's breakfast was alright except that we had asked to eat at 8:30 since we were starting the pilgrimage at 9. We came into the dining room at 8:30 and the table wasn't even set. She did get it set and served us. The next day we had again requested breakfast at the same time since we were again going on the pilgrimage. Jennifer was busy trying to get her daughter ready to go for some participation in the pilgrimage and did serve us an egg frittata....it was not cooked hardly at all and our friends would not eat it. We were the only guests in the house the second night and there was only one other couple the first night and they ate granola for breakfast.

I have stayed in worse B & B's....this one was clean and had clean towels and linens, but is too expensive for what it is in Columbus. I will be returning to Columbus the end of this month and staying in another B & B there so will be able to compare.

Room Tip: You can hear the trains from any of the rooms...the downstairs room has to share it bathroom with th...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeannie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
painted41, Owner at Painted Lady of Columbus Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Actually, Painted Lady is not struggling it is alive and doing very well! We are sorry you did not enjoy yourself during pilgrimage and that your standards of a historic bed and breakfast were not met. We try to keep our 1890's home to the period with plush bedding,antiques in every room, custom made drapery, period wallpapers and antique collectibles . Doing otherwise just wouldn't feel right. As for the public bathroom you mentioned downstairs, there is not one. You evidently walked in the Library Suite and used their private restroom! Had you asked me , you could have used the one off of the kitchen in our private quarters. Might I add that all our rooms except Katie's Room have a private bathroom. The parlor that you mentioned having to walk through is a separate room and is off of the main hallway. Yes we do get a workout on those stairs. I am glad you were aware that your room was located upstairs. Wouldn't an elevator be nice in an old house?
Maintaining a B&B/Hotel/Inn is constant maintenance. We were painting the week you stayed with us. We are sorry you had to see the painters ladder on the front porch but I am sure it did not get in the way of you rocking in the antique rocking chairs.
As for your dining experience and not having the table set, we let our guests choose where to sit before we put out all the utensils . We have 2 tables with up to 11 seats. We do hope you enjoyed the candles and lovely flower arrangement that was on the table. As for the food, everyone's taste is different. I serve the most requested recipes and are tested over a 7 year span with no complaints. I am sorry your frittata was not well done. People like them cooked different ways.
Should I clarify the statement you made about the other guests who were staying with us and only had granola? The husband had a fruit course and an egg casserole dish. His wife told me right as I was serving them that she couldn't eat casseroles with eggs in it, so I served her a lovely parfait of layered Greek yogurt, homemade granola and tropical fruit. This is why I need to know in advance of any food allergies or special diets so that I can accommodate our guests.
May I point out that most of the b&b's run in Columbus are by women ,some single and some are widowed. I think to own an establishment and operate it solely by yourself and be successful is a huge accomplishment in life. It's too bad that some people are very negative no matter what you do to make them happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus
Hyatt Place Columbus
#1 of 14 in Columbus
237 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus North
2.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Columbus
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Columbus
Days Inn Columbus
#9 of 14 in Columbus
148 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Painted Lady of Columbus Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Painted Lady of Columbus Bed and Breakfast

Address: 504 5th St S, Columbus, MS 39701-6710
Location: United States > Mississippi > Columbus
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Columbus
Price Range: $125 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Painted Lady of Columbus Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Southern Hospitality in this Queen Anne Victorian home located just one block from historic downtown Columbus Ms. Voted as One of the Best Places to Stay by Readers Choice Awards. Pillowtop mattresses, gourmet teas and coffees, homemade cookies and cakes, flat screen TVs, English toiletries, plush towels and robes, rocking chairs and fountains, rose gardens, on site gift shoppe are just a few of our amenities. Enjoy breakfast in our courtyard or under the crystal gas chandelier in our formal dining room. Come see why guests call us the True Spirit of Mississippi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Painted Lady of Columbus Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing