We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Cheap BBQ”
Review of Hicks'

Hicks'
Ranked #10 of 46 Restaurants in Clarksdale
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super Cheap BBQ”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The BBQ lunch special was 2 BBQ sandwiches for $5! Wow. Great for our roadtrip budget. A little on the greasy side, but pretty delicious.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Photographer1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tamales forever”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Never had a better tamale. Also good were the pulled pork sandwiches and rib tips. Authentic, down-home experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ReagansChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rector, Arkansas
1 review
“Best tamales I've eat in years”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I've never eat at the resturant but took a chance and ordered 5 dozen via UPS --- They were as good as they get and packed in a cooler and iced down ---- got here in 2 days and I live in Northeast Arkansas ---- I ordered the mild beef tamales an they were plenty hot for me --- excellent is all I can say --- will be buying more when these are gone ---- I used to be a Lackeys customer in Tuckerman Ar --- but these beat those a long way ---- Thanks for the good food that's hard to find these days. Allan Waugh

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“They're red hot!”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The tamales here were very unique and different from the previous tamales I had had in other places in the US. Where I remembered a tamale as a sometimes dry block of masa harina with little filling, I found Hick's to be moist little compact things with a great ratio of filling and corn coating. They were served with chili and crackers and you can down them by the dozen, since they're about the size of a large glue stick.

The service is a little slow but don't let this stop you from visiting. Slow is not always bad and the folks running the place are actually very nice with the customers. Take your time and look at the pictures, awards and newspaper cuts on the walls, such as the one about President Clinton's eating tamales here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bandini80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great tamales, cool coupla guys”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The fellas serving went well above & beyond the call of duty, hats off! Plus, the tamales were fantastic.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DekeDirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hicks' also viewed

 

Been to Hicks'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing