We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant, unique experience”
Review of Shack Up Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clarksdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shack Up Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Clarksdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We stayed in one of the cotton gin bins for one night while travelling from Memphis down to New Orleans and loved it. The room was clean and spacious, with a decent sized bathroom. We had a little balcony that we could chill out on in the morning, with good views of the shacks and the grounds. It was incredibly peaceful and relaxing. Exploring the place was great fun, we were really sad to move on and definitely want to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gogogaijingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,099)
There are newer reviews for Shack Up Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

970 - 976 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2010

My family and I spent a night last week at the Shack Up...actually in the Cotton Gin bins. It was very fun and we enjoyed our stay. I would recommend it to anyone visiting the area. We will be back.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank d1carter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

We spent one night and our group had 3 different shacks. We started out thinking this was a novelty and left with a sense of history that we did not expect. There is extensive history of the first mechanized Southern plantation and history of the individual owners of the shacks. We somewhat felt what they lived in with large families some with no running water or electricity until the late 90's. One had documented accounts of paranormal activity. All six of us enjoyed it greatly!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woolybooger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Stayed in Electric Blue, an old wooden building with a tin roof. Make sure you pick up a six pack at the Gas Station and check out Red's, one of the country's last remaining Juke Joints

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Stonesdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

Well, must be honest, we got to the Shack up Inn and we walked around and looked at a few of the shacks, but we chose not to stay... this time. The lady checking us in said that the 2 business partners had "split", one taking the shacks and the other taking the party barn on property. The party barn was having a local Mexican Fiesta holiday party that night and she said they were trying to procure security, but the reality was that it was going to be very very loud, probably going on til about 2 or 3 a.m. and our shack was the (first) shack NEXT to the party barn. Also, the temperature was dropping and we were not prepared for the (although there is heat & air) rustic charm of the shack. We chose not to stay, but I look forward to trying again when the weather is more conducive and there isn't going to be a huge party planned. Part of the fun is sitting on the porch and visiting with other guests... we would not have been able to do that, it was really really cold out.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MicheleMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2009

I learned of the Shack Up Inn from Fromer's Budget Traveler.

This is a conditional recommendation - do NOT book here without looking at and reading their website. This place is not for everyone, and if you typically insist on all the amenities and a pristine hotel environment, and get upset when the place is not that way - DO NOT BOOK HERE.

That said, if you love the blues, blues history and have an appreciation for more "earthy" accommodations, the Shack Up Inn is HIGHLY recommended.

The typical rooms are renovated sharecropper shacks, the site is a former cotton plantation and the best rooms are carved out of the cottonmill buildings.

I loved everything except the fact that the place is a little TOO honest in places - cleaning in the rooms could be better, and as the lodgings are among two music venues, the odd broken beer bottle can be found on the grounds.

All that said, if you're traveling through the Delta and can appreciate a quirky approach to history, I recommend the Shack Up Inn.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
3  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

This place is a one-off, so if your trip to the area is following the Blues Trail and you are stopping off in Claksdale, this place is a must. As part of the Hopson Plantation, the shacks are as original as can be - sure they are for tourists, but that is the whole point, where else can you stay in an original sharecropper shack that is the real deal.
Any place that offers you the pick of an acoustic guitar when checking in, to take into your shack during your stay, is ok by me !
What other shack could I book than the one called ' Crossroads',sitting on the verandah in the morning sun playing the blues is a memory that will stay with me for a long time.
It's also the juke joint where Seasick Steve has played as he once lived in the area and is well known there.
It was quiet during our stay as we were there in November but I am told in the summer people meet up in the middle and have parties / bbq's etc so I need to go back someday and do it all again.
Don't hesitate - just do it !!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seasickchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clarksdale hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Clarksdale
Hampton Inn Clarksdale
#1 of 6 in Clarksdale
204 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Clarksdale
126 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bluestown Inn
Bluestown Inn
#3 of 5 in Clarksdale
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
High Cotton Condos
High Cotton Condos
#2 of 5 in Clarksdale
5 reviews
3.2 mi away
Delta Cotton Co. Apartments
Delta Cotton Co. Apartments
#5 of 5 in Clarksdale
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shack Up Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shack Up Inn

Address: 1 Commissary Cir, Clarksdale, MS 38614-8701
Location: United States > Mississippi > Clarksdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clarksdale
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique B&B (bed & beer) comprised of restored sharecroppers' cabins, dedicated to the Mississippi Delta blues. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shack Up Hotel Clarksdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing