We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHARACTER”
Review of Shack Up Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clarksdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shack Up Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Clarksdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cimic, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“CHARACTER”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We were excited beyond belief when we booked our Shack, like a six year old on Christmas Eve, and our three night stay in the Piedmont Shack just BLEW our expectations away!!! Everything from the Location, Friendly Service/Assistance to the Over the Top CHARACTER of The Shack Up Inn is an experience NOT to be missed. The short, easy five minute drive to Clarksdale was an added bonus. Do yourself a favor and stay at least one night here if you are in the area. We plan on making The Shack Up Inn a yearly destination!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    215
    32
    6
    14
See reviews for
120
558
67
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Great quirky place with loads of character, it seems to epitomize the spirit of Clarksdale. We stayed in the Crossroads shack, it was cosy and had a piano. Unfortunately there was no music on while we were there as it was mid-week, but we saw a few gigs in town. Loved it, next time we're in Clarksdale we'll stay here for sure!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fattbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moulton, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My wife and I checked in at the Shack Up Inn on 01/13/14. We only stayed one night, but it was very interesting. The cottage was very nice and cozy. If you're looking for a Hilton-style hotel, continue to Memphis or Jackson. But this place was very nice. The staff was nice also.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bamacop83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is definitely the place to stay if you're looking for something other than a cookie cutter hotel room or a frilly B & B. I booked the Crossroads shack as a surprise for my musician boyfriend because it has a piano. To his great delight, they also told us to pick out a guitar when we checked in. We had a great time wandering the grounds and main building taking in the bits and pieces of rusting history. Our shack was clean and cozy and had a great supply of books about music and history. The main building had a mini library with even more books, computers (there is wifi in most of shacks), and donuts in the lobby each morning. It's a short drive to town for food or music if it's not happening at the inn that night. The staff was very helpful. I can't recommend this place enough, particularly if you are a musician or interested in the history of the Delta. The Ritz it ain't , but it is a very, very cool place to stay. My boyfriend can't stop talking about it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bird369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had a great stay here, everything was fine, the shack was cozy in freezing weather and the staff (which we hardly saw) were lovely. Clarksdale is great and seems to be slowly coming back to life, music everywhere, but not so much that it makes for difficult choices, also went for some nice drives around the area - Greenwood (Robert Johnson's grave), Greenville, Helena.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank km1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great place to stay in Clarksdale. Different. Full of history. Great music. Fascinating stuff to look at. At the time we stayed there is no restaurant available; however, one is supposed to be opening soon. The Sky Cabin overlooks the "juke chapel" and has a big porch you can sit out on listening to the music...very cool. comfortable bed/clean bathroom/good linens. It is not a regular hotel so don't expect an exercise room or swimming pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank queban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is a cute place to stay because it was a different experience when compared to a chain type hotel. We stayed in Bin #6 which overlooked the back of the plantation.

They offered live music and sold beer. They do lack food offering and were told that they were exploring offering this option.

We did not go downstairs for the coffee and donuts option but instead headed into town and had a full breakfast.

Overall, it is worth staying and I plan on staying there again upon my return to the area.

Room Tip: They also offered litttle houses (shacks) but I did not stay there. Instead stayed at the rooms that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imelda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarksdale
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Clarksdale
Hampton Inn Clarksdale
#1 of 6 in Clarksdale
199 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Clarksdale
125 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bluestown Inn
Bluestown Inn
#3 of 5 in Clarksdale
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lula
3.3 mi away
High Cotton Condos
High Cotton Condos
#2 of 5 in Clarksdale
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shack Up Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shack Up Inn

Property: Shack Up Inn
Address: 1 Commissary Cir, Clarksdale, MS 38614-8701
Location: United States > Mississippi > Clarksdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clarksdale
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique B&B (bed & beer) comprised of restored sharecroppers' cabins, dedicated to the Mississippi Delta blues. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shack Up Hotel Clarksdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing