We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the Blues Trail”
Review of Shack Up Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clarksdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shack Up Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Clarksdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My wife and I checked in at the Shack Up Inn on 01/13/14. We only stayed one night, but it was very interesting. The cottage was very nice and cozy. If you're looking for a Hilton-style hotel, continue to Memphis or Jackson. But this place was very nice. The staff was nice also.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bamacop83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

587 - 593 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is definitely the place to stay if you're looking for something other than a cookie cutter hotel room or a frilly B & B. I booked the Crossroads shack as a surprise for my musician boyfriend because it has a piano. To his great delight, they also told us to pick out a guitar when we checked in. We had a great time wandering the grounds and main building taking in the bits and pieces of rusting history. Our shack was clean and cozy and had a great supply of books about music and history. The main building had a mini library with even more books, computers (there is wifi in most of shacks), and donuts in the lobby each morning. It's a short drive to town for food or music if it's not happening at the inn that night. The staff was very helpful. I can't recommend this place enough, particularly if you are a musician or interested in the history of the Delta. The Ritz it ain't , but it is a very, very cool place to stay. My boyfriend can't stop talking about it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bird369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had a great stay here, everything was fine, the shack was cozy in freezing weather and the staff (which we hardly saw) were lovely. Clarksdale is great and seems to be slowly coming back to life, music everywhere, but not so much that it makes for difficult choices, also went for some nice drives around the area - Greenwood (Robert Johnson's grave), Greenville, Helena.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank km1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great place to stay in Clarksdale. Different. Full of history. Great music. Fascinating stuff to look at. At the time we stayed there is no restaurant available; however, one is supposed to be opening soon. The Sky Cabin overlooks the "juke chapel" and has a big porch you can sit out on listening to the music...very cool. comfortable bed/clean bathroom/good linens. It is not a regular hotel so don't expect an exercise room or swimming pool.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank queban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is a cute place to stay because it was a different experience when compared to a chain type hotel. We stayed in Bin #6 which overlooked the back of the plantation.

They offered live music and sold beer. They do lack food offering and were told that they were exploring offering this option.

We did not go downstairs for the coffee and donuts option but instead headed into town and had a full breakfast.

Overall, it is worth staying and I plan on staying there again upon my return to the area.

Room Tip: They also offered litttle houses (shacks) but I did not stay there. Instead stayed at the rooms that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imelda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed in the Tinth shack. As said in all other reviews: this is a unique experience. I don't think I can add more. The tips for blues in Clarksdale were great: there were only two options (it was a Wednesday), but without the tips, a) I might not have found Red's Lounge and b) if I found it, I might not have gone in. It looked quite shabby, but since the Shack Up Inn guys told me this really was the best place to go, I went in. And it was the best music experience during my trip: a very small juke joint with a one man blues "band" (Deek Harp, think Seasick Steve).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MD76_ASD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This place feels like the real thing. The shacks are just that but equipped with hot water, heat, TV, stereo and a microwave- at least our shack did.

The beds are comfy and the atmosphere is just-real.

We went with our 3 adult children (23, 2 & 19). Would definitely go back. The young couple who manage the place are very pleasant and passionate about the authenticity. If you want to experience the Mississippi delta and be where you can hear some good, raw blues this is a place to stay. But beware.... if you are the kind of person who seeks luxury and not authenticity trust them when they say "it ain't the Ritz"

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clarksdale hotels
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Clarksdale
130 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Clarksdale
Hampton Inn Clarksdale
#1 of 6 in Clarksdale
224 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bluestown Inn
Bluestown Inn
#3 of 5 in Clarksdale
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
High Cotton Condos
High Cotton Condos
#2 of 5 in Clarksdale
5 reviews
3.2 mi away
Delta Cotton Co. Apartments
Delta Cotton Co. Apartments
#5 of 5 in Clarksdale
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shack Up Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shack Up Inn

Address: 1 Commissary Cir, Clarksdale, MS 38614-8701
Location: United States > Mississippi > Clarksdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clarksdale
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique B&B (bed & beer) comprised of restored sharecroppers' cabins, dedicated to the Mississippi Delta blues. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shack Up Hotel Clarksdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing