We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top experience in Clarksdale” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shack Up Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clarksdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shack Up Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Clarksdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Top experience in Clarksdale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed in the Tinth shack. As said in all other reviews: this is a unique experience. I don't think I can add more. The tips for blues in Clarksdale were great: there were only two options (it was a Wednesday), but without the tips, a) I might not have found Red's Lounge and b) if I found it, I might not have gone in. It looked quite shabby, but since the Shack Up Inn guys told me this really was the best place to go, I went in. And it was the best music experience during my trip: a very small juke joint with a one man blues "band" (Deek Harp, think Seasick Steve).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MD76_ASD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    202
    31
    6
    15
See reviews for
115
521
66
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

This place feels like the real thing. The shacks are just that but equipped with hot water, heat, TV, stereo and a microwave- at least our shack did.

The beds are comfy and the atmosphere is just-real.

We went with our 3 adult children (23, 2 & 19). Would definitely go back. The young couple who manage the place are very pleasant and passionate about the authenticity. If you want to experience the Mississippi delta and be where you can hear some good, raw blues this is a place to stay. But beware.... if you are the kind of person who seeks luxury and not authenticity trust them when they say "it ain't the Ritz"

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our heat wasn't working in one half of our shack. It was 20 degrees in Clarksdale last night when the heat went out. We went to the front desk to report it and the lady at the front desk rudely snapped "Is it going to affect you stay"? Then one of the owners came by and tried 2 space heaters that didn't work. He was at least nice to us. Then, the space heater tripped the breaker. Once again, we had to call the rude front desk lady and she huffed once again and said "ok, I'll have my boyfriend get out of bed and come fix it". When we checked out she once again acted as if we were inconveniencing her by being in her presence. She said "at least you didn't stay in one of the shacks where the pipes froze"! The two owners were nice, but should have a back-up plan if they are going to allow guests to stay in such cold weather conditions. The lady at the front desk needs to go. She made what would have been a slightly inconvenient stay, plain miserable. We felt as if we were to figure it out for ourselves. My advice would be to save your $80 and stay in a nearby town.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alm2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Travelling with some non-blues fans, and the prospect of staying in shacks was met with some scepticism!

However, of our roadtrip, this was by far and away the best night. On a particularly cold January day, the cabin was snug and warm as well as clean and comfortable. Brilliant night's sleep.


Would also thoroughly recommend a trip to Red's blues club. Town is poverty stricken to the point of being a bit scary, but Red's is full of middle aged middle class folk and a couple of locals. Maybe it isn't the genuine blues experience for that reason, but it's fun.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs Village, AR USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Love the Shack Up Inn, we had a marvelous time. We will return again and again and again. We met friends there and plan to do so again as we had such a great time. We really liked staying in the bins.

Room Tip: The only reason sleep quality is marked a little lower is that we didn't sleep much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kusapin, panama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Even though the shack were all shacked up, we stayed in the Gin, and the view was worth it.

Lots of good fun, and excellent advice on what to see (Juke Joints) and where to eat (Hot Tomales) in Clarksdale.

Thanks much.

Room Tip: check the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chotri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We called in here for two nights back on 15th -16th june 2013 . We were in the Chicken Coop - other posters have really covered it all ( character +++++, friendly people and staff- wacky buildings and cars and paraphernalia everywhere) Cant recommend it enough. Be aware that sundays are quiet in clarkesdale with a lot of stores closed ( we should have stayed friday and sat nights , not sat and sunday ) but thats OK -sunday was a rest day ! Got the limo up to town and the blues bar - had a great time !Would love to come back and attend some of their music camps. This was one of my memorable place I stayed in during our 10 weeks in USA

Room Tip: I didnt get to look at into other rooms ( other than on net ) so bit hard to say really - I preferre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noosa_blue_in_VN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarksdale
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Clarksdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bluestown Inn
Bluestown Inn
#3 of 5 in Clarksdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
23.4 mi away
Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Clarksdale
Hampton Inn Clarksdale
#1 of 6 in Clarksdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Shack Up Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shack Up Inn

Property: Shack Up Inn
Address: 1 Commissary Cir, Clarksdale, MS 38614-8701
Location: United States > Mississippi > Clarksdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clarksdale
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique B&B (bed & beer) comprised of restored sharecroppers' cabins, dedicated to the Mississippi Delta blues. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shack Up Hotel Clarksdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing