We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shack Up Inn
Nearby Hotels
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Clarksdale)
$92
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Clarksdale)
$70
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Inn(Clarksdale)
$55
$50
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Best Western Inn(West Helena)
$76
$72
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delta Inn(West Helena)
$56
$54
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,158)
Filter reviews
1,160 results
Traveler rating
865
233
36
7
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
865
233
36
7
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscotton ginthe crossroadsunique placechicken coopblues musiccoolest placedelta bluesmain buildingrobert clayroad tripblues trailcotton plantationgreat musicelectric bluescreened in porchjuke joint chapelnew orleans
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
698 - 703 of 1,160 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Brilliant concept site just outside Clarksdale. The shacks look scruffy but have been carefully new-built out of reclaimed materials, with full insulation, air-conditioning, electricity, hot water, cooking facilities etc. Some of the fittings are quirky - my shack had two wrenches as tap handles in the shower. The shacks are clean, although being in the country there is some dust. The curtains are quite thin pale fabric and let in a fair amount of light. I used an eye-mask from the flight over. There is live music (blues, naturally) in the main building several nights a week, with a good range of interesting beers at reasonable prices in the bar. We had a heavy thunderstorm and the site became somewhat waterlogged for a day (but nothing like Glastonbury) so don't wear your best stilettos! The owners, Bill and Guy, are around most of the time, and the staff are very helpful and flexible. Highly recommended, especially over the chain motels which are the only other option in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you are planning to go to Clarksdale as part of a Mississippi Delta cultural road trip, the Shack Up Inn is perfect, offering funky and clever shacks with everything city people still expect, and lots of knowledge about local music and even sometimes a band on site. The atmosphere is laid back and friendly, and just being in someone's ongoing art piece is fun. My daughter and I also really appreciated the full kitchen in the Red House Over Yonder after several days of restaurant eating.

Room Tip: Reserve early!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abbott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Shack Up Inn is located on the old Hopson Plantation in the heart of the Mississippi Delta, the cradle of Blues music. Located just 3 miles east of Clarksdale, MS, there are over 30 “units” sprawled in a ramshackle fashion which have been modified just enough so as to provide the modern amenities of an indoor bathroom and shower, heat and air conditioning, and coffeemaker/fridge/microwave and sink.

A visitor can stay in a former sharecropper shack, seed house, old tractor shed or in one of the newly created "bins" in the old cotton gin.

We stayed in the two-room Pinetop Perkins shack, named in honor of the legendary Blues pianist of the same name. A tall upright piano stood in the corner of the front room with a life sized mural of Pinetop smiling from the opposite wall. A screened porch with rockers for sittin' made a fine early evening spot to wave to our neighbors and read in the fading light.

The Ground Zero Blues Club operates out of one half of the big old Cotton Gin building offering smokin’ blues and zydeco several nights a week. Donuts and coffee are available in the morning, beer and wine in the afternoon after 5 pm. The old gin has seen a lot of living and hard work in its decades of use. Now it provides for a place to sit, play and listen to the music that grew up out of all that living and hard work.

The complex is littered with ancient Ford and Chevy pick-up trucks, colorful bottle trees, a windmill, silos converted to shade structures, and even one of the first mechanized cotton-picking Int'l Harvesters.

The drive to Clarksdale's legendary juke joints and the Delta Blues Museum is just a few miles west on Hwy 49.

The a/c worked just fine (there was both a window box a/c as well as forced air in Pinetop Perkins. Bed was comfortable. Water pressure was great. The supply of ground coffee for the coffee maker was greatly appreciated. Despite the "amenities", we got a real sense of the lives that had lived on those plain wood floors.

If you are interested in music at the Ground Zero, make sure you stay closer to the weekend. We were there on Monday and Tuesday nights when the stage was dark. In fact, I think most of the Delta is recovering from the weekend on Monday and Tuesday nights :-).

If we ever make it back to Clarksdale, we will definitely stay at Shack Up Inn again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abaesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This place is definitely interesting and quirky but we loved it! Our shack had 2 very comfortable beds. We only stayed one night and wished we had time to stay a week. It was great sitting in the rocker on our screened in porch looking out over the grass area. We even liked the shower which was a pole in the claw foot tub with a circular shower curtain. Made taking a shower an adventure! Hope we can go back again for a longer visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This place is great, really interesting little shacks with quirky decor. We were in the red shack and it was lovely inside. Although everything looks vintage, it has all mod cons and is totally clean. We only stayed for a night, I wish we could've stayed longer !

Room Tip: The red shack is in a nice quiet spot
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews