We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super comfortable and friendly!”
Review of Shack Up Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clarksdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shack Up Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Clarksdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Super comfortable and friendly!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband booked this and I really was hesitant on staying here based on the description he gave me. However, I LOVED this place. The staff is super friendly, rooms are fun and folks visiting all make it feel like a wonderful place. We stayed our first night in Northwest and our second night in Gravy. I really liked both of them. The second night, a terrible rain storm came thru with wind, thunder and lightning. Nothing inside our place was wet and we survived in the shack. I recommend this place for their hospitality, staff willingness to help you, and the visitors who are as excited as you are to be there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suntimes-Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    210
    32
    6
    14
See reviews for
116
540
67
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnsboro, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was the perfect atmosphere for my trip to Clarksdale, which was completely music related! We were able to utilize their main gathering area for our workshops, and their P.A. and stage for our performances! The Shack Up Inn actually enhanced the whole Delta Blues experience! This is NOT the place to stay if you're expecting 5-star accommodations, but they don't claim to be that anyway :-)

Room Tip: the individual shacks are super cool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decorah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Snowbirds on our way back to Iowa after 6 weeks in the south. The cliche' "Don't judge a book by it's cover" comes to mind as I picture the expression on my husband's face as we entered the Shack Up grounds. He was even more skeptical when we were handed a key to Bin 5 and looked at the exterior. It was like a fantasy movie when you opened the door to see the amenities offered inside. Beautiful deocor. The artwork/mural in the bathroom was captivating. Extreme comfort including a walk in shower, comfortable queen size bed, wine glasses and opener. The couple at the desk began our wonderful visit with their friendliness and knowledge of the area. The experience was further enhanced by every person affiliated with the establishment including one of the owners.. We stayed an extra night because we were so enthralled with the lodging which resulted in having to switch bins. The person cleaning and the staff worked very hard to be sure the new room was clean and ready so that we could simply transfer our refrigerated items and other belongings immediately and not have to wait until check in. If at all possible, we plan to return next year. Sue and Cliff

Room Tip: We really liked Bin 5 better than Bin 3 but both were great and accessibility was good. Should have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rivergirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Shack Up Inn offers a range of experiences and comfortable accommodation. This combined with a unique atmosphere and fun setting is complemented by great entertainment facilities and excellent management.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich, england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

If there is one place you are going to stay in Clarkesdale - this is the place! It is not 'glamping'. We stayed in one of the individual shacks and whilst it was sturdy and had all the necessary amenities - it still felt very genuine and not gentrified. Walking around the immediate vicinity, you could get a real feeling of how it must have been on a cotton plantation. Everybody who worked there was very friendly and ready to chat. There is no restaurant or cafe but coffee and doughnuts are available for breakfast and you can buy beer, soft drinks and delicious ice cream.
If the love blues music and a real interest in the people who made it - Shack up Inn is a must.

Room Tip: Try and book an individual shack but if you can't go anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elizabethwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The pictures make the shacks look rickety: they are not. They are solidly built and comfortable. They are all heated and air conditioned. They are also clean and much more generous than most any hotel room you are likely to stay in. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rates are very reasonable for what you get. The main building has its own stage and bar with local beers available for a very reasonable price. For the road-weary (us) the stop is a good chance to sit at a picnic table with a beer and a guitar and take in the warm breezes and the Delta's strange, thousand yard stare ambience. An altogether stellar experience for us on the road back to Ontario from New Orleans.

A word about Clarksdale: almost nothing is open on Sunday, not the Delta Blues Museum, not most of the clubs (only Red's was open when we were there), many of the local (non-chain) restaurants are shuttered on Sunday.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Red Shack. It had a very functional kitchen, comfortable bed, big living room (wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank JPepper_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Shack Up is a unique experience that cannot be easily compared to any other accommodations. it is a one-of-a-kind experience in a one-of-a-kind location. If you are looking for breakfast in bed, massages and manicures this is not the place for you. If you are looking for an authentic Delta blues experience then the Shack up is waiting. Excellent and friendly staff, comfortable accommodations (with in door plumbing, if you're wondering) right smack dab in the middle of cotton fields and back roads of Mississippi. I shall return to the Shack Up Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winston F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarksdale
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Clarksdale
Hampton Inn Clarksdale
#1 of 6 in Clarksdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Clarksdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bluestown Inn
Bluestown Inn
#3 of 5 in Clarksdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lula
3.3 mi away
High Cotton Condos
High Cotton Condos
#2 of 5 in Clarksdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shack Up Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shack Up Inn

Property: Shack Up Inn
Address: 1 Commissary Cir, Clarksdale, MS 38614-8701
Location: United States > Mississippi > Clarksdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clarksdale
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique B&B (bed & beer) comprised of restored sharecroppers' cabins, dedicated to the Mississippi Delta blues. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shack Up Hotel Clarksdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing