We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to get away”
Review of Shack Up Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clarksdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shack Up Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Clarksdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, TN
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to get away”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I rented a shack for a week during February to get some writing done. Cozy and artfully shabby. Office Shack even had a full desk and comfy chair. Although the wireless internet was weak, this was actually a plus if you're looking to really get away from all distractions. Truly a memorable stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otterdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    215
    32
    6
    14
See reviews for
119
553
67
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senatobia, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at the Shack Up Inn in the Fullilove shack for Valentine's Day and couldn't have been more pleased!! I had heard fantastic things about the the Shack prior to booking from friends who had celebrated different occassions there, but my husband was less than thrilled when I told him where he would be staying for this romantic holiday. However, he was pleasantly surprised by the rich culture this place had to offer. Our shack was very clean and the bed slept very well (probably a little too soft, actually). The lobby/bar has a wide selection of beers and they are very reasonably priced. Plus, you can't beat being able to listen to the blues, drink some Mississippi speciality beer, and stumble back to your own personal shack at the end of the night! I highly recommend this Inn for any occassion and will definitely be back to enjoy another shack next time. Oh, and you can purchase framed prints of your shack in the lobby for $40 to commemorate your stay. I cannot express how full of Mississippi culture and hertiage this place is and what a treat it was to stay here!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Billingsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2013

On our road trip to New Orleans I surprised my husband and sister with the Shackup Inn. They were certainly surprised , but they warmed up to the rustic room quickly. The beds were very comfortable. We spent a fun evening at Ground Zero. Thanks for the memorable stay in Clarksdale.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the ShackUp Inn for two nights and wished we had stayed longer. While we were there the weather was pretty appalling - it was very cold and rainy which soon turned to icy sleet. This was an excellent test of the warmth and waterproof-ness of the shack which passed with flying colours.

We stayed in the Crossroads shack and found it had everything we wanted: a comfortable bed, warmth, a clean bathroom and a selection of books to read. And a piano.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Janie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

What a unique and enjoyable experience! The Shack Up is probably not for everyone, but if you are looking for something that is different and has more character than you can imagine, give it a try. The shacks are rustic, eclectic and quaint - each a little different from the others. There is also a great bar, shop and the Hopson Plantation on site. The first night we were there a wonderful local artist (Marshall) played and sang at the Hopson and the house provided free gumbo to all who showed up. It was a perfect night. There were a group of women artists from all over recording at that time so, there was great music, fabulous company and an unpretentious setting. We hope to get back! And don't miss all the history and fun Clarksdale offers!!

Room Tip: We were in the Robert Clay - it is one of the larger cabins with a living room area, kitchen and sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenvMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Love, Love, Love The Shack Up Inn. We will definitely be back. We stayed after MLK Day, Tuesday & Wednesday nights; met locals, painters, hunters, some Blues players from Denmark shacking up there, too, that did a free jam Wed. night in The Commissary. There was a tremendous Blues jam in town at Hambone Gallery with All Night Long playing and graciously having others play in with them.

Room Tip: There's only one way to be a priority member at the Shack Up Inn; Be good company & be able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lourdes K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My best friend and I had the extreme pleasure of staying 3 nights in this most interesting, historical and fun place. We were in Clarksdale for the Sunflower River Blues
Festival but came here for two nights ahead of the festival so we could go to the juke joints first. We could not stay here during the festival because the shacks are only gotten by lottery for that time and that is held a year ahead or so. We had a fabulous time in Clarksdale and it was surely accentuated by being blessed to stay at the old Hopson Plantation shacks. Originally they were found all over the area and brought to this place and refurbished but not too much so as to make them feel original. The old high school gymnasium was torn down at that time so they used the wood to make a wall for a bathroom as of course these shacks were built at at time when outhouses were in use. The last night we were there we stayed after the blues festival in the Pinetop Perkins shack and a ghost visited me that night. It was a little spooky having him near me so I crawled into bed with my bestfriend! I highly recommend staying here as it is close to town but not in town, and very close to the famous crossroads where Robert Johnson sold his soul to the devil!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boldercreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarksdale
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Clarksdale
Hampton Inn Clarksdale
#1 of 6 in Clarksdale
196 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Clarksdale
124 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bluestown Inn
Bluestown Inn
#3 of 5 in Clarksdale
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
High Cotton Condos
High Cotton Condos
#2 of 5 in Clarksdale
5 reviews
23.4 mi away
Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lula
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shack Up Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shack Up Inn

Property: Shack Up Inn
Address: 1 Commissary Cir, Clarksdale, MS 38614-8701
Location: United States > Mississippi > Clarksdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clarksdale
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique B&B (bed & beer) comprised of restored sharecroppers' cabins, dedicated to the Mississippi Delta blues. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shack Up Hotel Clarksdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing