We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's no ordinary Shack !”
Review of Shack Up Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clarksdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shack Up Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Clarksdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2012

To be honest we would rather not share this review because too many people will want to visit the Shack Up and we might not get a room next time! However we would be doing the guys a diservice to keep it to ourselves...The Shack Up is a truly unique experience, not for everyone, but if you like the idea of playing a guitar whilst sitting on the porch swing, bourbon by your side, this is the place for you. Clean and yet messy at the same time the Shack up is like staying in a museum, just don,t make the mistake of booking one night you will not want to leave!

Room Tip: Make sure you book a Shack, its the only way to experience this at its best.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,099)
There are newer reviews for Shack Up Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

812 - 818 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed here for our last night of a 2 week trip in the region and it was a fun way to end our travels. The place is definitely different and quirky and certainly won't be for everyone, but we loved it. The cabins are fun and the grounds very entertaining. We took tons of photos in the evening and morning light.

We stayed in the Electric Blue shack with 2 bedrooms and living room because that was what was available (and still quite reasonable). It would be fun to share it with another couple. I would like to add that even though the place is definitely "off-beat" it is very well run and organized. The reservation process was great and the staff very helpful upon our arrival.

I would add that we were there on a quiet Tuesday night and I am sure it would be much more "lively" on a weekend.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank PSapphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

If you are headed to Clarksdale this is the ONLY place to stay. Super friendly staff, clean and comfortable digs, and quick access to town. A true Mississippi gem. This trip, we stayed in the Fullilove Shack... and last time (six years ago) we were in the Robert Clay Shack. Both shacks had their own personal charm. And the lobby/bar is awesome (new to me since I had been here last). Though you'll hear a lot of blues, you'll never get the blues at the Shack Up Inn! (Insert Muddy Waters singin', "My home is in the Delta... Way out on that farmer's road.")

Room Tip: Lots of different shacks to choose from depending on the size of your party. Some shacks have scree...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We spent one night at the Shack Up Inn on our way south from Memphis on the blues highway and we were not disappointed! This is not a B&B as in bed and breakfast, but as beer and breakfast!!!The atmosphere of the place is fantastic and the sharecroppers' shacks are exactly what you would wish them to be.
We stayed in the Tinth shack and we felt like going back in time, while still maintaining all the modern clean facilities we have come to expect from any hotel. For us coming from Europe it was really great experience and we felt immersed in the culture of the Deep South. The staff was helpful and friendly and we will certainly stay there again if we are in the area. If you are looking for a quirky and evocative experience this is your place!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drannouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

comfortable, clean and quirky. A very restful place. Can recommend the Magnolia pecan beer.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I have been to the Shack Up Inn twice...both times were wonderful experiences. The place brings you back in time...great place to relax and unwind. I attend a photo retreat that is held at the Shack Up Inn and its a place I look forward to returning to!

Room Tip: I stayed in the "tinth" shack, my favorite one! Great view from the front porch
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We spent two nights at the Shack Up in the Cotton Gin. It was friendly, welcoming, clean, comfortable. Plenty of room to wander round and find a quiet spot to sit, read, drink a beer, watch the world go by. We intend to retrun.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clarksdale hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Clarksdale
Hampton Inn Clarksdale
#1 of 6 in Clarksdale
204 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Clarksdale
126 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bluestown Inn
Bluestown Inn
#3 of 5 in Clarksdale
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
High Cotton Condos
High Cotton Condos
#2 of 5 in Clarksdale
5 reviews
3.2 mi away
Delta Cotton Co. Apartments
Delta Cotton Co. Apartments
#5 of 5 in Clarksdale
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shack Up Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shack Up Inn

Address: 1 Commissary Cir, Clarksdale, MS 38614-8701
Location: United States > Mississippi > Clarksdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Clarksdale
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique B&B (bed & beer) comprised of restored sharecroppers' cabins, dedicated to the Mississippi Delta blues. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shack Up Hotel Clarksdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing