We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great music, fascinating atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ground Zero Blues Club

Ground Zero Blues Club
Ranked #5 of 12 things to do in Clarksdale
Certificate of Excellence
Southaven, Mississippi
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great music, fascinating atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This venue is famous in the MidSouth, so I was looking forward to my first visit. It was not disappointing! We heard a fabulous group, the Reba Russell Band, perform powerful blues numbers in an authentic-looking juke joint.The service is friendly and casual. Although we did not come to dine, we were told by several people that the food is good. We will sample it at a later date, as we are definitely going back to Ground Zero.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarolynE46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    76
    19
    11
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Blues, Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

This place is a gem that should be experienced by all! By day they serve up awesome soul food the south is famous for with combo plate lunches that come with a meat and sides and dessert! Excellant fried green tomatoes. The blues at night will sooth your soul as much as the food at lunch! Highly recommend!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank gatorcindy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The Mecca for Blues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Many have experienced the Blues here within the heartland of the blues legends. The Delta Blues museum is across the street. As an old deserted warehouse like building with a front porch of home loungers/chairs, you can feel the spirit of those who sing the blues. Inside there are walls of signatures and memos of those who have passes through, be sure to leave yours. Menu is that if the south...catfish, BBQ, fried green tomatoes and a bar for those who came to hangout.
Stage for performers who also leave their calling cards.. Do not expect upscale fancy, it is the character you come to experience. Ground Zero is the center for the Blues.

Helpful?
Thank journalist2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really great place with loads of character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We rolled into Clarksdale on a Sunday afternoon in early October, expecting everything to be closed. Once we got there, we realized that Ground Zero was open and that there was a great band playing. Don't be put off by the decaying furniture on the porch. Every inch of the place inside is covered in graffiti and you're invited to add your own comments on any available surface. We didn't stick around for lunch, but we had a drink while we listened to the band.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank gruffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oak lawn
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“3rd trip there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have visited Memphis and Tunica a few times and we always try to fit in a visit for lunch to this really fun place! It is in a very small Mississippi town. I first saw it years ago when Rachel Ray reviewed it on one of her shows. First time we got kind of lost and almost gave up but we perservered and when we did find it I told my husband I'm not going in there. He told me "we didn't drive all these miles not to go in! We really lucked out because they had a blues musician auditioning that day! We have been back two more times including a week ago. We love the atmosphere and the "fried green tomatoes" and the burgers! It's just a fun stop. It is a little out of the way, but worth a trip. We have not been there at night, but that's when the music is and I am sure it's awesome!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mssox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ground Zero Blues Club also viewed

 

Been to Ground Zero Blues Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing