We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must for any rock 'n roll/blues fans”

The Rock & Blues Museum
Ranked #4 of 13 things to do in Clarksdale
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Rock & Blues Museum places emphasis on the music’s Mississippi roots, specifically Clarksdale, highlighting the contributions from Eddy Boyd, Little Junior Parker, Sam Cooke, Ike Turner, John Lee Hooker and Muddy Waters, as well as early rockers like Elvis Presley, Bo Diddley, Andy Anderson and Conway Twitty.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must for any rock 'n roll/blues fans”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

You will not believe how much memorabilia is crammed into this space! And WHAT memorabilia!! Theo "The Boogieman" has accumulated a treasure trove of musical history that outshines what most large museums have in their collections. Every time you think you've seen it all, turn another corner and there is more. I could have stayed lost in here for days just trying to take it all in. The $5 donation requested for admission is a pittance for helping to maintain this collection. If you're passionate about the blues and rock 'n roll, you'll have a kindred spirit to talk to here!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DiLMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    50
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
502 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Eclectic mix of music history”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

As we were in Clarksdale to see the infamous 'Crossroads', we decided we needed to stop in here and see the unique collection gathered by one man over the years. Wow...what an eclectic collection! Well worth the 5 bucks to get in!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Incredible Collection of Musical Artifacts”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The storefront of this place had me concerned at first as it looked very small but once inside we were pleasantly surprised. We had the honor of meeting and chatting with "Theo" whose love and passion for the Blues is infectious, his knowledge of our music is quite impressive. The collection that he has amassed is literally priceless; everything from Robert Johnson to some of our favorite musical acts are represented in his collection.

Unfortunately we were in a bit of a rush but you will want to give yourself 2-3 hours to really enjoy what Theo has put together. I cannot wait to go back and visit Theo's place again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oldair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ooky57
Level Contributor
185 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Way Cool”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This unimposing storefront holds a wealth of memorabilia, one could spend an hour or four, depending on your inclinations. And it's all from one man's collection. amazing photos, posters, artifacts, Helpful guide if one wants a more formal tour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ooky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, England
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Smaller than Expected But Well Worth a Visit”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

There was less to see here than I had hoped but I was still glad to have been and I recommend it. There are plans to expand the collection, and it would be even better if and when this comes about.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BucksTraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rock & Blues Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Rock & Blues Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing