We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Fantastic place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clarksdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lofts at the Five & Dime
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Couldn't hack the 2 nights booked at the Tallahatchie Flats in Greenwood (sharecroppers huts) so luckily increased our pre-booked stay at the Lofts from 1 to 2 nights - wish it could have been more.The accommodation is modern, spacious and comfortable. Someone really has an eye for design. Clarksdale is one of the most friendly places we visited during our 3 week road trip in the States and very geared up to Blues enthusiasts. Pink Palace haven't quite got the hang of starters before mains but everyone was so apologetic and sweet that it just made for a funny story. Hi to Bubba, Steve Kolbus and Mayor Bob Luckett.
Andy and Linda (UK)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 292 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

Myself and traveling partner Skip took a trip down Hwy 61, the Mississippi Blues Trail, and spent a couple of nights at the Lofts at the Five and Dime in Clarksdale MS. Bubba O'keefe, local businessman, historian(knows everybody) and raconteur was our most excellent host and the Lofts were a home away from home. Bubba is working on opening more lofts in the downtown area, which should be good news for folks wanting to visit and stay a few days to take in the music, food and events like the Juke Joint Festival, a four day annual event in April. So check Bubba out.
Staying at the Lofts meant we could walk to various locations like the following:

Ground Zero Blues Club, Morgan Freeman's classic blues bar with live bands and great bar chow including deep fried tamales and fried green tomato's.

Pink Club: recently opened, very social (which all of Mississippi seemed to be) with music and fire pit where you can discuss the days events (so far).

Oxbow. Very nice, friendly room with fine cuisine created by some young chefs doing their thing. Only open Thursday through Saturday, so reservations are a good idea.

Red's. If you are a blues fan, this is an absolute must. One of the last remaining true juke joints this is the place for serious blues. Maybe you will luck out like we did and the Kingfish may be playing or sitting in with one of the other groups. Cold beer (Bud only) or bring your own shots.

Hambone: For Ontario folks who know the Southside Shuffle in Port Credit, Stan Street is a frequent visitor. Musician and artist, Stan is serving it up @Hambone. Stop in and say hello.

Other sites in Clarksdale include the Delta Blues Museum, Cathead, Hick's tamales and a host of others that we didn't find time to get to. Next time.

Blue & White: we lucked out and had to have breakfast coming and going to Memphis. On Hwy 61 in Tunica. Great grits, hot biscuits and they sure know how to fill a person up.

Bradfordville Blues Club: Last stop on the Blues Trial is about five miles north of Tallahassee, Fl. Checkout the website for who,s playing (and who has) and good idea to locate the club during the day - down Bradfordville Road and up a country lane - so you know where you are going, as the club opens around 9:00 pm.
Lots of folks have played here over the years, even our own Downchild Blues Band, so let Gerry know where you are from and as he always does, he will get you in somehow. If you have to wait a bit you can always have fried catfish or mullet at the firepit.


Mac

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mac3113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The perfect place to stay in Clarksdale. The lofts are comfortable, clean, quiet, very nice and spacious, and a wonderful restaurant is located downstairs. We enjoyed meeting Bubba. He was a wonderful host.
Dan and Ranita C.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We found the Lofts on the internet and saw that there were units available and they're right in town so you can walk everywhere! One quick call and we met with Bubb and checked into our spacious loft. We had a 1 bedroom unit that was perfectly decorated and included more than we needed for our 1 night stay (full kitchen, coffee, soft drinks and water, flat screen televisions and laundry). The accomodations combined with the friendliness and helpfulness of Bubba (luggage, sight seeing, restaurant, shopping and music recommendations) have us planning our next stay to the Delta for a longer period of time. You won't go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We are on a road trip and this was our first stop. Couldn't be happier with our Clarksdale visit. The Lofts at the Five and Dime are just as described and pictured, really a delight. Met the friendliest people everywhere we went. Had so much fun. Great music, good food, amazing museums. Will definitely stay here next time we come back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The Lofts at the Five & Dime are wonderful! The experience is more like being in an apartment than a hotel room. The Lofts are quite spacious and have all the conveniences of home including washer/dryer, kitchen, additional 1/2 bath.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We arrived in Clarksdale on a cold and snowy day...very unusual for this town. Everyone was excited about the snow and quite friendly. Advance directions and tips were sent via e-mail, which were much appreciated. Bubba, the manager, met us at the door and helped us with our luggage. He explained all the features of the loft and made recommendations for local food and sights. The lofts are furnished to a high quality and kept in outstanding condition. They were quiet, clean, and VERY spacious. Complementary soft drinks, coffee, water and huge bedroom. They also have a washer/dryer in each unit. What a great place to spend the night or however long you desire.

Room Tip: Any one of the 6 rooms would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne and Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Clarksdale hotels
1 mi away
Hampton Inn Clarksdale
Hampton Inn Clarksdale
#1 of 6 in Clarksdale
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bluestown Inn
Bluestown Inn
#3 of 5 in Clarksdale
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
High Cotton Condos
High Cotton Condos
#2 of 5 in Clarksdale
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Clarksdale
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Cotton Co. Apartments
Delta Cotton Co. Apartments
#5 of 5 in Clarksdale
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lofts at the Five & Dime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lofts at the Five & Dime

Address: 211 Yazoo Ave, Clarksdale, MS 38614-4322 (Formerly Kinchen O'Keefe)
Location: United States > Mississippi > Clarksdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Clarksdale
Price Range: $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Clarksdale, Mississippi, the Lofts at the Five & Dime is an apartment-style hotel in a small town setting with modern conveniences and amenities. The Lofts reside in the upper level of the old Woolworth building, Clarksdale's first historic tax credit project. There are 6 lofts, each with a full kitchen, spacious living area, bedroom, bath and washer/dryer. Visit Clarksdale and stay at the Lofts at the Five and Dime, full of rich history in an urban contemporary setting. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing