We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great new years”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clarksdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lofts at the Five & Dime
Certificate of Excellence
Dyersburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great new years”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

my wife booked us here for 2 nights new years 2011. i had wanted to go south and check out the blues in the area. the place was nice, roomy had every thing we needed for a great get away. our host,bubba checked on us regularly gave us advice but did not push anything on us. we could walk downtown most places, clubs,dinner,ect. i felt safe and was not worried about my wife and myself. we are already planing on going back in near future and have told our friends about the place and area. a great value we loved the place would not want to stay anywhere else, even if ya paid me

Room Tip: we had b was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
86
15
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Come to Clarksdale and settle in for a few days. And when you do, be sure to stay at the Lofts at the Five and Dime. The lofts are located on the top floor of a converted Woolworth's building and feature high ceilings and plenty of light. Each loft has a kitchen, so you can cook for yourself, but the town's coffee shop, just downstairs from the lofts, was such a friendly place that we spent our mornings there. And although we're not really t.v. people, we took advantage of it to watch a few of the dvd's provided - such as "M for Mississippi" - a locally produced documentary about the blues that was a great foundation for our visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in "A", which has an extra set of windows on the North side of the building. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We were four people who stayed in a condominium at The Lofts at the Five & Dime. We were almost shocked when we walked across the threshold of our apartment. Yes, the room is in fact an apartment with fully equipped kitchen, two bathrooms, shower, a flat screen TV, a DVD player and DVDs. The apartment was luxurious, spacious, clean, and simply the coolest place we stayed at. This place is situated in the city center of Clarksdale within close walking distance to Red's Blues Club, Ground Zero Blues Club, The Delta Blues Museum, The Riverside Hotel and other places of interest. We recommend all visitors to Clarksdale to book themselves at The Loft at the Five & Dime. We will definately do that the next time we visit Clarksdale.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeland, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

If You are in the Mississippi Delta(Clarksdale,MS) looking for some great Blues Music.I recommend the Five and Dime Lofts in downtown Clarksdale. Plenty of space,decorated in modern Blues themes(each loft is different),makes it the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cleve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

This was a fantastic place to stay in Clarksdale, Mississippi. Anytime you want to feel the comforts of a big city loft in an eclectic, wonderful small Mississippi town, come to Clarksdale and stay at the Lofts. Be sure to visit with Bubba O'Keefe who is a wonderful tour guide to the town and the Yazoo Pass coffee spot downstairs is a wonderful place for food, drinks, and seeing the locals.

Room Tip: There are only six lofts and they are all of similar construction and configuration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GULFPORT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We went to Clarksdale on business, and we stayed at the Lofts at the Five and Dime on the recommendation of one of our associates. We could not have been more pleased. The lofts are very well appointed condominium units situated in downtown Clarksdale within walking distance of restaurants, shops, and other points of interest. The Yazoo Pass coffee shop, next door to the lofts, is a newly opened space featuring fresh-baked pastries, strong coffee, and light meals. It has already become a hub of downtown activity with lots of sunny space where you can get comfortable, read the paper, or open your laptop to start the day. Morgan Freeman's Madidi Restaurants is half a block away if you are looking for truly fine dining, and for lunch, Ox Bow Diner is a block and a half in the other direction. There are other restaurants near by. These are just the two we tried and enjoyed. The Lofts feature free wi-fi internet access, a full kitchen, widescreen televisions, one and one-half well-equipped bathrooms, a comfortable king size bed, and a walk in closet. On street parking is ample and free. Rates are very reasonable for accommodations of this superior quality.

Room Tip: The owner books all rooms, and he is very reliable. There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Readeverynight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

A group of us took lofts at the Five and Dime. We were the entire building! It was so beautiful and well appointed and so wonderfully welcoming and well managed. We wanted for nothing and then Clarksdale, Mississippi is just a gold mine of music and food and scenery. The cotton was in bloom, the pecans were just picked and music wafted out of every corner we passed. What a perfect place to be together with friends and to explore and photograph. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susie1q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarksdale
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Clarksdale
Hampton Inn Clarksdale
#1 of 6 in Clarksdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Clarksdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
24.8 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#1 of 5 in West Helena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bluestown Inn
Bluestown Inn
#3 of 5 in Clarksdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.1 mi away
High Cotton Condos
High Cotton Condos
#2 of 5 in Clarksdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
20.4 mi away
Isle of Capri Casino Hotel Lula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lofts at the Five & Dime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lofts at the Five & Dime

Property: The Lofts at the Five & Dime
Address: 211 Yazoo Ave, Clarksdale, MS 38614-4322 (Formerly Kinchen O'Keefe)
Location: United States > Mississippi > Clarksdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Clarksdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Clarksdale, Mississippi, the Lofts at the Five & Dime is an apartment-style hotel in a small town setting with modern conveniences and amenities. The Lofts reside in the upper level of the old Woolworth building, Clarksdale's first historic tax credit project. There are 6 lofts, each with a full kitchen, spacious living area, bedroom, bath and washer/dryer. Visit Clarksdale and stay at the Lofts at the Five and Dime, full of rich history in an urban contemporary setting. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing