We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superficial and poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Stone Pony

Stone Pony
Ranked #4 of 46 Restaurants in Clarksdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,043 reviews
2,829 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,826 helpful votes
“Superficial and poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Reasonable bar atmosphere and obviously money has gone into making it more modern than most Clarksdale restaurants and bars. The staff all looked pubescent pre-Gen Y who didn't have a clue about service.
No matter what question, the answer was similar "I don't know about that, I just press the computer" as in where does this wine come from. As my preferred Syrah was not available (this is crazy as it is just a short wine list), I asked about the remaining few. Didn't have a clue.
Pity as the pizzas are actually good but constant interruptions like "is everything good" don't actually help you enjoy it better.
Tried to take my unfinished pizza before I was finished.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    69
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bardstown, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Get pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Okay they have a amazing menu that u are going to want to try items but stick with what is the special pizza this piazza is excellent ,, we ate here a few times pizza pizza pizza tried a few items always went back to the pizza being the best item

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JasonandChelsie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Reeked of cigarettes”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We walked in, looked at a menu, and walked out.

The lasagne looked reasonably priced.

It's also kind of bar scene which didn't appeal to us.

As for the sub-items I rated them a 4 even though we didn't actually eat there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RTW_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
184 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice place and tasty pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

What a nice surprise for us. We were looking for some thing besides the traditional southern food. This place has great pizzas. The staff was friendly nd helpful. They even have live blues.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lostandhungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Live music here but food not the best.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

There were some locals and a guy playing some blues but the pizza we got was not one of my favorites. Clarksdale seems to be a hard place for nice restaurants. You can tell they offer a good selection but not sure how many people aren't just eating the fried chicken and barbeque up the road.

I will say it was clean, nice, had a large bar area and good for family...and would try it again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Artallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Pony also viewed

 
Clarksdale, MS
Clarksdale, MS
 

Been to Stone Pony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing