We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hideaway!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exelby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Grange Holiday Cottages and Farmhouse
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This was a last minute booking based on a need to runaway......and what a place to run to! Stunning surroundings, beautiful cottage and wonderful people. Caroline and Ian are excellent hosts and extremely helpful with a wealth of knowledge about the area. I will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazzy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 131 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at The Dale cottage over the easter weekend.We are a family of four.

The cottage was really clean with everything you would need and some lovely touches.

The owners were always at hand and very lovely people

these cottages are in a lovely location.to explore North Yorkshire,theres a lovely village with a nice pub just five minutes walk away.

And the town of Bedale is five minutes drive.

all in all top marks we will certainly be back

Thanks

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is the third time we have stayed at the cottages. It is ideal for our large family gatherings as we can all be accommodated in adjacent cottages. We always stay in The Farmhouse as it has a huge conservatory which can seat up to 21 of us when we gather for our meals - if we all squeeze in together. We also stay at The Millers which we loved and also The Granary. There is plenty of parking space and lots of outdoor seating and space to run around if you want to get rid of excess energy. The welcome is always warm and there are never any problems which is why we return. The rates are reasonable and within our budget and there are so many places to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We have been coming for several years,Spring ,Autumn and Winter.We enjoy this first class accommodation which ever cottage we stay in.Its ideal for touring the Dales or visiting the many attractions that north Yorkshire has to offer.We are always made welcome by Ian and Caroline who always make our stay so special.

Room Tip: all cottages are first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raymond c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Our second visit to this excellent development of cottages, Dale View first time, Ploughman's this time. Had such a lovely Christmas, thanks to the owners Ian and Caroline. On arrival the cottage was immaculately clean, toasty warm, 2 wine glasses full of Roses chocolates, a bottle of wine, 2 crackers, tasteful decorations over picture frames and lights decorating the fronts of cottages, all situated around a square area with secluded tables and chairs (or picnic benches) and plenty of foliage for privacy. Other visitors greeted each other, wishing 'Happy Christmas'. It was so cold outside that everywhere was white with heavy frost (looked like snow, so a white Christmas). A very comfortable bed, well equiped kitchen, cosy lounge, what more could we want; even an extra bin bag delivered for wrapping paper etc.

Excellent recommendations from Ian and Caroline for eating in local pubs and in one, on Christmas Eve, we found a carol concert in progress in the bar - a brilliant start to our Christmas and the food was wonderful too. It was really quite magical and the sort of Christmas that we all might enjoy (and I don't even like Christmas!!) Also vast amounts of information for things to visit in the area and car tours.

So much to see and enjoy in the area that we look forward to returning mid 2014 to explore this lovely and under-appreciated part of England.

Hope that anyone reading this review who visits will appreciate the accommodation and area as much as we do.

Room Tip: My husband is disabled so contact Ian and Caroline as they will help to provide the most suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clipsandpins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

For my 30th, myself and 7 friends stayed at The Farmhouse for two nights.The Farmhouse has two doubles and two other rooms which have triple single beds (the can be made into quads) There is a Jack and Jill bathroom (between one of the triples and a double) a main bathroom which is a good size and has an amazing shower!, and a single toilet on the ground floor. There is a huge dining room that can seat plenty of people, two lounges and a good sized kitchen with a big table on the middle.

On the first evening we walked an easy 10 minute walk to the nearest pub (The Green Dragon in Exelby) and had a lovely tea there (I loved the lamb shank!). and then walked back to the cottage. We made our way to the pub and back in the dark. I would recommend plenty of torches.

The cottage itself is spacious and immaculately clean with all the basics needed included. The bathrooms and bedrooms are great. (Knowing that we were planning to spend a lot of time in the cottage I brought plenty of bin bags and toilet rolls). We were welcomed by Caroline who showed us around The Farmhouse and answered any questions we had. She had even planned a treasure hunt for us in Bedale, knowing I wasn't sure what to do the following day as the weather didn't look to be on our side.

The next day we made the breakfasts of all breakfasts! Easily done with plenty of utensils and pots and pans etc (The only thing was I wish I brought some foil with me).There is plenty of room to keep stuff too with two fridges and a freezer. Then we made our way into Bedale which is only a short drive away.(or a decent walk) where there are plenty of pubs and cafes and a few shops. We also went to Masham for a little look round the very small market and an ice cream. Exelby is situated only a short drive away from lots of attractions...Ripon, Leyburn, Hawes, Northallerton, Fountains Abbey and Jervaulx Abbey. Masham has two breweries also worth visiting.

When we got back from our leisurely walk around Masham and Bedale we made our way back to the cottage where we spent the evening and cooked and relaxed.

Overall a super enjoyable stay. All of us loved it here. Straight away we were making plans to come again, hopefully in the near future for other celebrations. Caroline made the visit too with her friendly and helpful manner.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Spanelli1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the granary cottage for 2 nights while visiting for a family christening from kent. The cottage was like a home from home. Very cosy and has everything you could need. Shame we only booked for 2 nights but will definitely be back for a longer stay.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank LouMdud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exelby
2.0 mi away
The White Rose Hotel
The White Rose Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leeming Bar
197 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Woodman Inn
The Woodman Inn
#5 of 14 in Bedale
45 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Three Coopers
The Three Coopers
#4 of 14 in Bedale
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#8 of 14 in Bedale
90 reviews
Show Prices

Been to High Grange Holiday Cottages and Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Grange Holiday Cottages and Farmhouse

Address: Exelby | Near Bedale, Exelby DL8 2HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Exelby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Exelby
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in idyllic open countryside High Grange offers Self Catered accommodation in cottages ranging in size from one double room to a farmhouse that can comfortably accommodate the whole extended family. The location of the cottages makes them the perfect base for exploring North Yorkshire. Our cottages have all of the modern amenities that you would expect from 4* quality accommodation and will make your stay comfortable whether you choose to spend your time in the countryside exploring or relaxing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing