We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent as ever”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exelby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Grange Holiday Cottages and Farmhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have been staying at High Grange cottages since Ian and Caroline first took over several years ago. We normally stay twice a year and have always found the cottages to be immaculately clean and well equipped. Caroline and Ian are always in hand if needed but not intrusive. We are just back from a couple of nights in Granary and despite the wet weather had a great weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDignans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

This year was the third time I have stayed with the girls, 12 this year, in the farmhouse. We all have such a great time, walk and run during the day and relax in the evening. The accommodation is perfect for our needs, spacious, clean and lovely and warm. We may need to occupy another of the properties next year as our group seems to get bigger each year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lrh487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Have stayed at High Grange twice and on both occasions the cottages (Farriers first and more recently Ploughmans) were spotlessly clean, very well equipped, extremely comfortable and well heated.
Having visited friends in most of the other cottages I can confirm that they are all of the same high quality and lend themselves to group bookings for all ages.
Nearest village is Exelby, about 10 minutes (maximum) stroll away. Here you will find a warm and welcoming pub (The Green Dragon) which also has a large dining room and extensive menu.
The cottages are well placed for trips into the Yorkshire Dales and are easily found a couple of miles from the A1. Nearby Bedale has several pubs, shops and a couple of small supermarkets, as well as access to the Wensleydale Railway and the artisan bakers located in the station buildings.

Room Tip: Couples may like the Ploughmans cottage - small but with the addition of a private patio garden acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthYorksNitpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

These properties have a great location in Yorkshire and are within easy reach of so many fabulous places to visit. We stayed for a week in the Farmhouse with our two small children and their grandparents. The accommodation was excellent and it was very clean, safe for the children and nicely decorated. There are lots of lovely finishing touches to the farmhouse which made it very homely. Ian and Caroline (the owners) are very friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them. The farmhouse also has a fantastic private garden which our children had hours of fun in. We are already planning a return visit before the end of the year.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Just returned from a long family weekend at High Grange staying in the farmhouse and 2 of the cottages. All the accommodation is equipped to the highest standard with lovely decor and comfortable furnishings. It is obvious that a lot of thought and detail has gone into making the farmhouse and cottages a great place to stay (including dog friendly). Everywhere was spotlessly clean. It is easily accessible from the A1 and near to the lovely Dales. The farmhouse is perfect for large gatherings with extra accommodation in the cottages - I would like to retire here! There is a village pub within easy walking distance serving great food. Bedale also has lots of pubs, restaurants, take-aways and interesting shops. What more could you want! We shall definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mac56Northants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leer, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

At the end of May we came from Germany to spend a holiday in Yorkshire. High Grange was wonderful! The cottage we stayed in (Ploughman's), was clean, well equipped and very comfortable. An added plus was the small private garden. We were only there a week but would have been quite happy to prolong our stay.

We were warmly welcomed by the owners and they were available to answer our questions.

So,if you are looking for somewhere to stay in a most beautiful part of Yorkshire - High Grange Cottages is the place to be. We hope to return in the future. M & B vP

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merrelyn v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

This was our second stay at High Grange, we find the accommodation excellent value and love the fact our adored Labrador can come with us. We find the environment very peaceful and was the escape we needed from our busy life. The owners take such pride in the cottages and land, it really does feel like a home from home and we will definitely be back, Labrador snd newborn baby in tow. Will recommend to everyone!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hells_bells110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exelby
1.6 mi away
Lodge At Leeming Bar
Lodge At Leeming Bar
#1 of 1 in Bedale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
4.1 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#7 of 14 in Bedale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leeming Bar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Three Coopers
The Three Coopers
#4 of 14 in Bedale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Woodman Inn
The Woodman Inn
#6 of 14 in Bedale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Grange Holiday Cottages and Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Grange Holiday Cottages and Farmhouse

Property: High Grange Holiday Cottages and Farmhouse
Address: Exelby | Near Bedale, Exelby DL8 2HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Exelby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Exelby
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in idyllic open countryside High Grange offers Self Catered accommodation in cottages ranging in size from one double room to a farmhouse that can comfortably accommodate the whole extended family. The location of the cottages makes them the perfect base for exploring North Yorkshire. Our cottages have all of the modern amenities that you would expect from 4* accommodation and will make your stay comfortable whether you choose to spend your time in the countryside exploring or relaxing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing