We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, wonderful and wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exelby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Grange Holiday Cottages and Farmhouse
Reviewed April 1, 2011

This was our fourth visit to High Grange Cottages and we will be going again hopefully in November 2011 as we don't think we'll find better accomodation which suits our needs. We're a group of walkers, so High Grange is ideally situated in beautiful countryside and only a short walk to the village pub where they serve excellent meals. The Farmhouse in particular is so spacious and ideal for a large group and had been refurbished since our last visit and to a very high standard. Anyone looking for a safe and welcoming place to stay, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susiecarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 132 of 132 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2011

This holiday was made all the more amazing by these fantastic cottages and the lovely owners to go with them.
We had a great new year break with friends and family.
The cottages are well equipt, and so spacious (photographs could never do them justice) as well as maintained to a great standard (and I believe now been renovated).
The space within the cottages is truly unbelievable and the location is idilic.
The owners and welcoming and helpful, yet not overpowering and do not interfere. They are so pleasant to talk to and happy to do anything to improve or aid your stay.
Fantastic break. Great place.
Will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We hired three of the cottages enabling us to get the whole family together to celebrate a family birthday. The farmhouse was large enough for us all to eat together and the kitchen made it easy to cater for 22 people which would have been a nightmare at home. The two living rooms, large conservatory, private garden and sauna in the farmhouse provided plenty of space, and those who wanted a bit more peace and quiet could retire to one of the other cottages when they wanted to . Everything we needed for cooking was provided and the bedrooms were really comfortable too.
The location was very convenient for us as we were travelling from far & wide and it suited our purpose for getting together, though it is situated between the North York Moors and Yorkshire Dales and it is possible to do trips to both by car.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anniemc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

We enjoyed a big family gathering over the weekend at High Grange. We took the Farmhouse, Granary cottage and Farrier’s cottage so we could get everyone in and this provided a large amount of high standard accommodation at a reasonable price.

The owners, Ian and Caroline, were very helpful and helped out in a number of ways before we arrived and once we were there, making us welcome.

There was plenty of outdoor space around the cottages for children to play and for adults to relax and plenty of indoor lounges so everyone could spread out and find their own space to chill.

The cottages were clean, well equipped and finished to a high standard. We found everything we needed to cook for our large group of people and plenty of space for catering. The bedrooms were all comfortable. We benefited from the recent renovations to the farmhouse and made good use of the big dining room and big kitchen for a birthday meal.

We enjoyed a couple of trips to the Dales and a wetland nature reserve. There was also scope for those who wanted to watch planes or have a quiet evening in the pub. The best thing about High Grange though was that it was a spacious, comfortable and convenient place to bring a lot of people together for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuthF60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Spent fri-mon in 3 of the cottages - farm house, farriers and granary. The 22 of us socialised in the farm house and found the dining room there big enough to squeeze all of us into quite comfortably. The variety of living areas meant that people had enough space. Though the granary may have been a bit dark if we had spent all day there, it was a comfortable house for several of us to sleep in - only criticism would've been how massively hot it was on that first night before the storage heaters cooled down - the velux wouldnt open! The sauna is a nice addition after a great day clambering about the rocks at brimham with the kids for some aching limbs. Great garden area for when the sun shone. Pictures don't do the bedrooms justice - all but one of the bedrooms (in the granary) were very spacious, and the one in the granary in which we slept was still big enough for twin beds and a dresser and mirror. Would suggest this as a great venue for a big gathering of family or friends who just want somewhere clean, comfortable and great to access from the A1.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phoebeannryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

Our extended family stayed in the Farmhouse at High Grange Holiday Cottages last weekend.
The Farmhouse is full of character, comfortable, cosy and very well equipped. The two well furnished living rooms each have large tvs (so no arguments over what to watch) and there is a dvd player too.
The conservatory can easily accommodate a large group dining around 4 tables. The kitchen is well equipped and a large utility room has a washing machine and loads of space for coats and muddy shoes (it was a pretty damp weekend!.
Outside there is a lovely garden, beyond which are fields.
The location is easy to get to if your group is traveling a distance - near to, but not too close to, the A1.
The Farmhouse is the largest of a group of cottages around a courtyard. If you need more space you can hire one of the others too but there is plenty of living dining space in the Farmhouse to spend time together.
In all, it's a wonderful venue for a family or group get together.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to High Grange Holiday Cottages and Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Grange Holiday Cottages and Farmhouse

Address: Exelby | Near Bedale, Exelby DL8 2HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Exelby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Exelby
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in idyllic open countryside High Grange offers Self Catered accommodation in cottages ranging in size from one double room to a farmhouse that can comfortably accommodate the whole extended family. The location of the cottages makes them the perfect base for exploring North Yorkshire. Our cottages have all of the modern amenities that you would expect from 4* quality accommodation and will make your stay comfortable whether you choose to spend your time in the countryside exploring or relaxing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing