We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb B&B on the Queen Charlotte Track”
Review of The No Road Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Furneaux
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The No Road Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Furneaux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Superb B&B on the Queen Charlotte Track”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

If you’re walking the Queen Charlotte track or spending time in the Marlborough Sounds treat yourself to a night or two at this unique B&B. The accommodations are extremely comfortable – very spacious bedroom and bathroom, great shower with a lot of water pressure, and some rooms have a deep bathtub with a beautiful view. The meals are incredibly memorable with interesting seafood, such as white bait and abalone appetizers, fabulous blue cod, excellent fresh vegetables, with food prepared at a level that you’d expect at a very fine restaurant. They were extremely accomodating in creating special meals that met the many constraints of our pesca-vegan, gluten free diet. The owners, Garry and Barb, are entertaining, knowledgeable and will take care of all of your needs.

Room Tip: Howes suite is very spacious with a stunning view and a footed bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate-Eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    6
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
88
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Ten of ten for everything here. Lived up to our expectations and beyond. A slice of paradise and luxury after walking the track.Gary & Barbara are superb hosts and will go out of their way for you.Dinner cooked by Gary was absolutely superb and lots of fun. Loved our immaculately clean room overlooking the bay, big deck, hammocks hung amongst the native bush and on the decks,fabulous hot tub in the bush, beautiful birdlife, free kayack and generous make your own breakfast including a a cute little egg boiler. The claw bath with view out a large one way glass circular window is an experience to be remembered, like our 2 night stay here - Pure bliss.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2deals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Truly great accommodation and environment. Loved soaking away in the outside hot tub in the bush after our first day on the Queen Charlotte Track. The room was of a nautical theme which enhanced the outside environment. The ensuite was amazing with one way glass, so you could see out into the bush and nobody could see in, awesome. Garry & Barb's were exceptional hosts and made you feel relaxed and welcome. The dinner outside on the deck letting you enjoy the view while our hosts waited on us, with their culinary delights and wines. Truly, its simply the best.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraemeJespo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed in the room in the photo with the road window over the bathtub! I loved it loved it loved it! I only wish I had booked it for two nights! The owner was so nice. Loved the freshwater hot tub to soak in after a day of hiking! Very beautiful setting and great decor. The breakfast deck was lovely! I want to go back again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We just loved our one night stay on the first day of our 4-day Queen Charlotte Track hike. We didn't want to leave. The rooms were wonderful, the food great and the hospitality of Garry and Barbara exceptional. The unique hot tub was particularly fun!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Beautiful, comfortable, lovely hosts and amazing cuisine. We arrived soaked to the skin after our first walk from the cove. A lovely soak in the tub and nap in luxurious warm robe and then gourmet dinner. What more could you want. Well, maybe no rain :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettyanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was our first night on the track and the best accommodation and food we had over the 5 days. Everything was of the highest quality. The room was well decorated and very spacious.

Dinner was a special treat. Garry and Barb's love of this region and their desire to show off the best it has to offer was very much appreciated. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billgranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Furneaux
7.1 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
314 reviews
14.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
10.8 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
321 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mahana Lodge
Mahana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Endeavour Inlet
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Furneaux Lodge
Furneaux Lodge
#20 of 84 in Marlborough Region
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The No Road Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The No Road Inn

Property: The No Road Inn
Address: 1 Endeavour Inlet | Queen Charlotte Track, Marlborough Sounds, Furneaux, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Furneaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Furneaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing