We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love this place”
Review of The No Road Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Furneaux
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The No Road Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Furneaux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I spent some days in this fantastic place in the heart of Marlborough sounds. Garry and Barbara are the best hosts i ever seen. They cook all kind of food , and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. Hope i´ll can come back and see them again. Thank you againfrom spain friends. Carlos y Chiqui

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHIQUI G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 146 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2012

What more could you ask for - the offer of a cold beer when you arrive off the track, a clean well fitted out room with a large comfortable bed and superb views, hosts who are attentative without being overpowering and the best of local food and wine?
My instinct is to try to avoid situations where you dine with the hosts, but at No Road Inn this turned out to be the highlight of our stay. The food was superbly done, and the company perfect. Gary and Barbara were very skilled at ensuring that everyone felt part of the group and that no one monopolised. On offer was a very good selection of local wines at reasonable mark ups.
As we were walking the entire track we'd only booked for a single night and we left wishing we were staying a little longer.
We can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I arrived by water taxi at No Road Inn (my husband joined me later after walking the track) and was given a warm and friendly greeting by by Gary. He showed me through the place and to my room. His wife Barbara was very busy but did say hello. It was a surprise when they left shortly after that for a few days away and our host for the night, Kevin took over. I have to say that I was very impressed with the accommodation itself but what really made this the highlight of the trip was Trevor. He is the quintessential Kiwi joker and can do anything. He cooked a superb 5 course dinner with local seafood and lamb accompanied by excellent Marlborough wines. All this while cracking us up with his great sense of humour. We were the only ones there that night apart from Sal, his partner so we had his undivided attention. His hosting skills were amazing and he even gave us breakfast in the dining room the next morning which was a much better option than trying to do it in our room. Nothing was too much trouble for those two great people and we loved it.

Room Tip: The end room with one way window to the bush is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hirondelle09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garryash, Owner at The No Road Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

Thankyou for the lovely review of our NO ROAD INN and of our relieving managers Kevin and Sally who looked after you so well helping make your stay at the No Road Inn the highlight of your trip.
Barbara was sorry she was not able to spend more time with you but as you arrived on the morning water taxi she was busy making up your room (and preparing the dinner that you so enjoyed) before we both left on the afternoon water taxi to enjoy a few days away for our 37th wedding aniversary. (Rod Stewart at the Mission Winery).
We are grateful to Kevin and Sally for looking after you (and the No Road Inn) so well and they are looking forward to visiting you in the Bay of Islands some time soon.
Thanks again Garry & Barbara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Best Bed on the Circuit - wonderful hosts and we heard all around the sound they had
fantastic food (we missed the dinner presentation) - Long hike and a beautiful room - what else can you ask for?

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garryash, Owner at The No Road Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

I can see by your other reviews that you had a great time on your Queen Charlotte Track walk and we are happy here at the No Road Inn that we were able to be a part of it.
Cheers, Garry, Barb, and Ash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

No Road is a welcome respite from a day hiking on the Queen Charlotte. The well-appointed waterfront room, the linens, the deck, the outdoor spa, Garry's seafood dinner.....We enjoyed all, over two luxurious nights. Garry and Barbara are classy, attentive hosts and they made for great company over a glass of wine in the evening on the deck. Garry attended to our damp shoes and clothes by making sure all were dry and ready for the next day's hike. He reviewed our itinerary with us and even offered to water-taxi us across the sound to get us an earlier start to our hike. No Road is a real treat for so many reasons!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the upper deck room, on the north side of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanm95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garryash, Owner at The No Road Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

We all sure had a good time over those few days didnt we? And although you hated to leave you know we are looking forward to seeing you again next time you are in New Zealand, either here at the No Road Inn or in the North Island.
Garry, Barb, and Ash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I have been lucky enough to enjoy time at this beautiful lodge twice now and both times have been absolutely brilliant. We couldn't have asked for a warmer welcome and the lodge itself is beautiful, both inside and out. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated, complete with very comfortable beds!! Would definitely recommend a stopover here, you'll be guaranteed great hosts, great food and a great nights sleep! The only downside is having to leave!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chloe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garryash, Owner at The No Road Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

Thanks for returning to the No Road Inn for the second time in as many years. Perhaps next time you can show me how to catch crayfish?
Garry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

The first day on the Queen Charlotte is often a long one, not because of the length of the walk from Ship Cove (it was 4.5 hours for us) but leaving your hotel, getting the boat out etc makes for an early start. So when we arrived hot and sweaty ant the No Road Inn, we were pleasantly surprised to find a gorgeous beach house all for our own use. Sitting next door to Furneaux lodge (handy for dinner), the Inn is decorated in a beach theme..plenty of wood, decking, lovely interior and a fabulous view out to the water. Garry showed us to our room and we were blown away.

It was by far and away the nicest room we stayed at on the track itself. The bed, linens and tongue and groove walls make for a very comfortable ambience. There is even a ceiling fan, which comes in very handy in the summer months. The bathroom is a delight with a bath and very groovy shower. There is a tiny kitchenette with everything you need for breakfast or a cup of tea. It's a really neat room and well designed. We had an upstairs room, which had its own access to the upstairs deck, with a hammock and table to sit at.

Garry offered to spark up the spa and we said yes please. The spa tub is made from wood and takes in stream water (so no chemicals). Each night it's emptied back into the stream. Pretty cool and great fun at the end of the day. We didn't avail ourselves of Garry's cooking. It was just the 2 of us and we popped next door to Furneaux lodge for a simple dinner, which was great.

The Inn has a wonderful lounge, again stylishly decorated, with lots of books, dvds, cds and magazines. It would be a great spot to hang out in for a few days and while away the hours. There is even a TV with dvd players in the bedroom, along with wireless headphones, so you don't keep others up at night! Incredible level of detail....we crashed pretty early but if you come for a few days, you will not be short of things to do at the Inn. If you want to head out, just grab the kayaks and paddle away.

We had a very restful night's sleep and then, with Barbara's packed lunch, we headed off. More places like this and tramping will take on a new meaning. Huts? No thanks, I'll take the Inn.

Room Tip: Top Room on the left was the one we had and is probably the most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raf1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Furneaux
7.1 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
323 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
13.6 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Furneaux Lodge
Furneaux Lodge
#17 of 86 in Marlborough Region
270 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mahana Lodge
Mahana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Endeavour Inlet
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The No Road Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The No Road Inn

Address: 1 Endeavour Inlet | Queen Charlotte Track, Marlborough Sounds, Furneaux, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Furneaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Furneaux
Price Range: $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing