We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrific place to stay in great location, but....”
Review of The No Road Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The No Road Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Furneaux B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2011

After walking the first 14km of the Queen Charlotte Track, there is no question that No Road Inn is a great place to stay. The hosts were really welcoming and the rooms were lovely. But at times it felt a bit uncomfortable because everything was on the "tab". Dinner was great - but without an alternative we had to pay $NZ 170 for two people and it wasn't really worth that. We were encouraged to keep having another glass of wine or another beer - all of which we had to pay for the next morning. I shouldn't be too critical - we did know that we would have to pay after all - but we felt uncomfortable about it after leaving the next day. Having said that, we did have a great night here and it was a good start to our trip.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank qarak46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garryash, Owner at The No Road Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review the No Road Inn, we are pleased that you thought us a teriffic place to stay, that the dinner was "great", the hosts were really welcoming,the rooms were lovely and that you had a great night here.

The 5 courses you each had for dinner were :
3 entrees: New Zealand West Coast Whitebait,
New Zealand Scallops from the Marlborough Sounds,
Beer battered local fish,
followed by a Main of NZ Canturbury Lamb with 4 or 5 sides of salads, potatoes, and beets, (and plenty of ice-water which guests can help themselves to whenever they feel like, and non alcoholic drinks on our menu), Dinner was finished with a home made desert. We are disapointed you didnt find the value in this. We source the best of New Zealands seafood and meat products, some of which are not easy to come by, (for example the West Coast whitebait alone retails at over $150kg if it is available.)

The only "tab" you had was for your dinner and the mini bar in your room. It is normal in New Zealand to have a tab opened for an evening meal and the same for inroom mini bars, I thought this was also the norm throughout Australia and in Cannbera.

There is an alternative to dining with us as there is a public bar within 5 minutes walk that does bristro meals such as fish and fries, hamburgers and fries, The tour company you used for your Queen Charlotte Track package would have advised you of this.

Your entry in our visitors book was that your stay at the No Road Inn was "Just perfect". Needless to say if you felt uncomfortable about having a 'tab" for your dinner and mini bar it was too late to address it after you have left.
Garry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 159 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2011

To sum up, a fabulous location, with a room & view to die for, our very congenial hosts Gary & Barb & the most delicious food & wine. To be there & to share watching the All Blacks beat Australia in the RWC Semifinal; life doesn't get any better than this!
My advice; go there and enjoy!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nosetrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garryash, Owner at The No Road Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2012

Wow, thats great feedback, the "best in NZ". And you could have stayed another week and watched the All Backs win the final.
All the best, Garry, Barb, and Ash.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

A great and welcoming stopover as you walk the Queen Charlotte trek.
We had a cold beer offered to us by our hosts Gary and Barb before we were through the front door, most welcoming after a long hot walk.
The Guest rooms are very spacious, private and well equipped.
There is a hot tub to relax sore muscles and a great wine list to relax everything else.
Gary and Barb provided excellent food and great company.
John and Rob

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

1. Take the float place from Mana & you will be hopping out onto Furneaux Wharf in under 25 minutes
2. Your bags are collected and you are met by a very relaxed Gary who escorts you to one of only a couple of immaculately presented private rooms complete with claw footed tubs and the most stunning outlooks of either the Queen Charlotte Track or the ever changing Marlborough Sounds
3. Gary takes you both out on his launch - you are indeed impressed with the hunting & gathering skills of your alpha male & how he somehow manages to hook the biggest Blue Cod onto the end of your line
4. Once back relax in the hot tub with your loved one staring up through the completely natural and untouched native fauna while listening to the Tui's and watching the cheeky Weka darting about looking for treasures
5. Sit down to a gorgeous meal - complemented by a cheeky 'Marlborough Red of course '- prepared by the wonderful Barb while Barbs favorite music plays gently in the background
6. Be educated by Gary's extensive knowledge of astronomy as you learn about the stars you are gazing at in the unpolluted night sky
7. Retire back to your room with your loved one and sleep the sleep of the rich and famous on the luxurious beds waking hours later to the sound of nothing but native birds

Note to Boys: You need to work hard to beat this experience lads or it could be all down hill from here on in.....

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 111MrsCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Located at the end of the first day on the Queen Charlotte Sounds walk, sited in forest by the shore, this was a great end to the day. Met with a cold beer, offered a hot bath or a hot-tub under the rainforest, then up for scallops, whitebait fritters, crumbed fish, lamb and home-made icecream with pie. Local wines and beers, great company then fall into a quiet, comfortable king size bed. Breakfast on our own deck (just th two of us) with more delicious whitebait fritters delivered to the door. This was simply the best acommodation we have enjoyed in New Zealand. And no, we didn't know Gary and Barb before we stayed but we feels like mates now.

Room Tip: Turn up, leave the rest to your hosts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnscott01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

first night of the queen charlotte sound walk with a guided group of our friends. Gary and Barb were fantastic and treated us a long time friends, great to eat with them, around their table with superb food and kiwi friendliness.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMW1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

The most beautiful home in the most idyllic surroundings. We got married on the beach at the front of the house, had our wedding dinner on their incredilble deck and danced under the stars to our live band in their waterfront garden. Just the most amazing day! Gary and Barb could not have done more to help - just the most perfect hosts. All the rooms offer luxury accomodation and the bathroom with one way glass offering views of the QCT from the bath is outstanding!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerryD093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The No Road Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The No Road Inn

Address: 1 Endeavour Inlet | Queen Charlotte Track, Marlborough Sounds, Furneaux, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Furneaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Furneaux
Price Range: $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The No Road Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing