We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Bay of Many Coves

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bay of Many Coves
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed January 3, 2007

This resort is about 3 years old. The only way to get there is by water taxi or walk in, which would take about 2 days!
The hotel has a great location in a little cove. There is no beach but you can swim of the jetty to a pontoon. The room we stayed in was large and spacious with a balcony over looking the water. In fact all rooms overlook the water. Our room come fully equipped with fridge, dishwasher, hob, microwave etc and the best thing of all a washing machine and tumble dryer!
You could live in this room and cook your own food if desired!
The hotel has a cafe, for informal eating and a restaurant which we thought was very good. It also has an impressive wine list!
The staff are super helpful and arranged transport to and from the hotel with the Cougar Line who run the water taxis. this is great as it takes the hassle out of arranging it yourself. they are also helpful with ideas on what to do. They arranged a water taxi to take us to Ships Cove, the beginning of the Queen Charlotte Walk and pick us up later on at the end of the first days walk back to the hotel.
The name water taxi is probably slightly misleading. These are large boats and water bus would be a better name as they run at set times and can take loads of people. they are not exclusive by any means although you can get a private one if needed.
The hotels gardens are planted with native plants and we saw Wekas and Kererus (NZ pigeons) around the place.
There are a couple of short walks around the hotel, one to a small waterfall and a night time one to see the glow worms. The hotel is about 2 hours off the Queen Charlotte Walk and it is possible to hike up to the trail but in my opinion you are better off walking the first day and if you want go back and walk the second day as well.
The hotel has a small shop selling basic food and ice-cream but not enough if you are planning on cooking your own meal.
The hotel also has kayaks you can borrow if you fancy a paddle around the bay.
All in all a great place in a great location with very helpful staff.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank Bezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    39
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
234
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2006

Our visit to the Bay of Many Coves resort was wonderful. Lisa, the manager, is extremely friendly and helpful. She guided our experience from beginning to end. The only downside of this resort is the service--and I say that with a caveat. The hotel is so isolated, they have kids on college holiday working fulltime as waiters, maids, desk clerks, bellboys -- and living there. This means, the service is a little bit amateur for such an upscale resort. For the cost, one might expect a few more amenities like bottled water but as a whole, this is a 5 star resort and it is well-maintained. BY the way, if you have an opportunity, take the R&R cruise with Gordon on his boat the Lady Karen. You can charter it for a half day---it's a terrific way to see the sounds and you could not find a more accomodating, lovely guide.

  • Liked — the setting
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelqueen101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2006

The setting is simply gorgeous, quiet and peaceful. You can't beat it.

The apartment units are clean, well-designed, modern. They're built into the landscape so that each one overlooks the Sounds and has privacy.

We were there in the low season, so we pretty much had the resort to ourselves. Can't beat that.

I didn't like that the hot tub, for the cost of this resort, was so public and far from our unit.

While I did find the Bay of Many Coves resort simply beautiful and relaxing, I definitely think you *don't* get as much for your money in NZ as you might in No. America -- or another vacation destination where there's more competition to bring the costs down.

Arriving by water taxi is an added treat. If you can take the Interisland ferry from Wellingotn, that beats flying into Picton!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ajr086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2006

We stayed at the Bay of Many Coves in December 2005. You arrive to the resort by water taxi. It was the most beautiful boat ride and the resort has wonderful views. The restaurant was five star - so fabulous! Great wine and great variety of foods. The breakfast was great too! The rooms were very spacious. The service was a little slow at times, but it is the way of life at the Bay of Many Coves! It had a nice pool and hot tub that overlooked the sounds too. I totally would recommend it!

Helpful?
7 Thank Priss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2005

We stayed two nights at the Bay of Many Coves Resort and service was flawless. We were impressed that the check-in was seamless - there was no need to worry about bags and we were immediately shown round the resort and to our apartment. Perhaps it was due to the low season, but there was the perfect balance between attentive service by staff and privacy.

Food was very good and despite us being on the only ones at the restaurant (and for the second night, the resort itself), there was definitely no cutting of corners.

We even received a post card from the resort at home. We would definitely recommend the resort as a place to get away, enjoy the walks, breathtaking scenery and great fresh food and fabulous New Zealand wine.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Singapore_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthurs Bay
7.8 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
8.5 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
6.1 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
630 reviews
4.4 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
324 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Sounds Retreat
The Sounds Retreat
#2 of 5 in Anakiwa
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Many Coves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Many Coves

Property: Bay of Many Coves
Address: Queen Charlotte Sound | Private Bag 382, Arthurs Bay 7250, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Arthurs Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bay of Many Coves 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short water taxi ride from Picton Harbour, and within easy reach of all major New Zealand airports, you’ll find a slice of pure paradise.At Bay of Many Coves, we will make you feel right at home in the tranquil Marlborough Sounds. You’ll find a world of adventure waiting right at the end of our private jetty and in the bush-clad hills all around. Or you may simply want to relax within our luxury facilities and beautiful surroundings. So pure, so natural, so full of new experiences: at Bay of Many Coves, luxury has found a new expression. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay of Many Coves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Many Coves Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing