We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay of Many Coves

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay of Many Coves
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Certificate of Excellence
salt lake city, ut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

Everything was wonderful. The rooms are great--clean, modern, open with a wonderful balcony. The food was good, the staff was wonderful. They even took us out in a boat when I thought I saw dolphins in the bay (turns out they were just birds...but they did it with a smile.) It is a little pricey, but it was one of our favorite spots.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aap1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    38
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
219
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

I stayed at the Bay of Many Coves with my husband and another couple in a 2 bedroom unit and everything was super.It is very unusual and elegant place to stay .
We stayed for three nights,two nights probably was probably right stay but we loved every minute of our time.
Nothing was too much trouble,you asked and Pip and Nick and the staff did everything to fulfil your requirements.
The slight minus is the spa which is located in a room in the staff quarters which can be noisy .
We walked/hiked to the lookout and the queen charlotte track and what luxury and style to return to.
Hot tub was fantastic and hikes were superby signposted through the forest.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonHighgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2010

Stayed here for a couple of nights on our journey through NZ. Beautiful location, absolutely brilliant staff, good food...wish I was back there! The room we has was gorgeous, with huge windows overlooking the bay. There was a mini kitchen & dining area (but I don't know where you would get the food from to cook as Picton is the nearest town and that's a 30 min boat ride away!!). The bathroom was huge, with full size toiletries and loads of towels, and the balcony also overlooked the bay. There is a small pool/sun lounger area, and a free guest laundry. I can't remember if there was WiFi, I've a feeling there was but that they discouraged people from thinking about work! There is a restaurant (lovely food, very expensive, no other option for evening meals available as this is a resort with no road access) and a cafe open during the day (didn't use this). It's not suitable for limited mobility as there are steep paths around the place. It is a 2hr walk off the Queen Charlotte track and there's lots of options for tings to do during the day eg we took a water taxi out and then walked part of the track back. All very well organised, but at those prices it should be! Absolutely no complaints about this at all!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights during our 3 week long vacation to New Zealand. It was a much needed relaxing stop off from our travels. The highlights of the resort are the staff, the exclusivity, and the views. We really enjoyed our room and the views of the cove were amazing. We spent 1 day hiking up to the Queen Charlotte Track (and back). We also found time to sea kayak a bit. I got my wife a massage (for her birthday) and she said it was the best ever. The only downside to this place is that food options are limited, especially for dinner. The whole point of being there is to not have to leave, which we liked, but only high-end gourmet food for dinner was hard for us two nights in-a-row. It would be nice if they had a more casual, less expensive option for dinner.

Overall, highly recommended and a great place to stop, relax, and enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjcochran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Bay of Many Coves and would return in a heartbeat. The location is wonderful - in a secluded bay that is only accessible by a 30-min or so boat ride through the sound (water taxis run frequently and are cheap). The set up of the resort is great - little huts/cottages going up the hillside, all with water views. The huts themselves are roomy, modern and spacious. There is a separate bedroom with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the bay, and there is a separate lounge/dining/kitchen area. It's really well set up. Outside there's a deck perfect for relaxing and having a glass of wine. The resort has kayaks so you can explore the bay area, and there are some good hikes up in the wilderness. There's also a very nice pool, as well as a restaurant and more casual cafe. The place has a lovely relaxed quiet atmosphere, with the occassional buzz of having people moor their boats and have a snack at the waterside cafe. Just paradise!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanberraNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tübingen
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

We stayed here for two nights during our honeymoon trip through New Zealand. First thing I have to say: 2 nights is not enough!
Arriving by water taxi is a perfect way to see the sounds and getting a first impression of the resort from the sea. We were welcomed by our hosts Pip and Nic who did everything to make us feel relaxed and at ease. They showed us to our bungalow, which is a self-contained spacious 2-room apartment. It has a balcony with magnificent views of the bay. You can easily do bird-watching from the balcony as there is plenty of birdlife around, small sets of looking-glasses are provided.
We did some walking on the queen charlotte track, the water taxi transfers to the starting and finish point were conveniently arranged by Pip.
We had dinner and breakfast both days in the restaurant which was not included in the price. Prices for the meals were reasonable though. Especially as the food is extraordinary. Dinner was delicious and the choice of New Zealand wines was excellent. I did like the breakfast even better, as my favourite dish - pancakes - was a real treat with a huge pile of cakes along with maple syrup, caramel sauce, honey, vanilla ice, fruits etc.
Overall this was a wonderful experience, staff was friendly and very helpful, the setting is just stunning. A perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tuebidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2010

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in December as part of a visit back to NZ to see his family, for some "couple time". We had walked the Queen Charlotte track previously so knew the area was beautiful, but the resort was in a particularly pretty location in a secluded bay. We liked the lay out with only a small number of rooms, and these being well spaced out, with fantastic water views. The apartments were well set out with balconies, day beds, very comfortable bedrooms and fresh fruit left each day. Ideal if you are happy in your own company, reading and napping as we were.

We had room service one night, then ate in the restaurant for the second night, which is the same menu so it may become limited for longer stays. We had lunch in the cafe which was lovely, and the breakfast was fantastic with great coffee. You could certainly plan to self cater as the kitchens are very functional but apart from a few nibbles and wine we didn't bother. The activities that we tried were the walk to the lookout (a tough 45 minutes uphill, then 20 minutes down) and the waterfall (an easy 10 minutes) and kayaking which was great. The pool was cold, but it is NZ, and the hot tub very pleasant. I had a massage (hot stone) which was very pleasant and I would recommend booking in.

The staff were very friendly and relaxed, Cameron and Pip were always on hand to answer queries. During our stay the majority of guests were American, and there were children at the resort, which we didn't expect but were well behaved so not an issue for us.

The eco policy of not replacing linens was fine with us, but the towels in the bathroom were not hung up, and the toiletries not replaced, when the room was serviced. This was really the only negative that I can report from our stay, and we were not bothered enough to report this but it may irritate others more.

Overall, a wonderfully relaxing break, great for couples more than singles or families in our opinion. We would love to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingermegs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthurs Bay
7.9 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
6.1 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
8.5 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
4.4 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
9.6 mi away
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Te Mahia Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Te Mahia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Many Coves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Many Coves

Property: Bay of Many Coves
Address: Queen Charlotte Sound | Private Bag 382, Arthurs Bay 7250, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Arthurs Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bay of Many Coves 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short water taxi ride from Picton Harbour, and within easy reach of all major New Zealand airports, you’ll find a slice of pure paradise.At Bay of Many Coves, we will make you feel right at home in the tranquil Marlborough Sounds. You’ll find a world of adventure waiting right at the end of our private jetty and in the bush-clad hills all around. Or you may simply want to relax within our luxury facilities and beautiful surroundings. So pure, so natural, so full of new experiences: at Bay of Many Coves, luxury has found a new expression. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Bay of Many Coves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Many Coves Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing