We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous and unpretentious luxury”
Review of Bay of Many Coves

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay of Many Coves
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights Jan/Feb 09 and it was a highlight of our trip to NZ. The surroundings are stunning and the resort's (award winning) design makes the most of them. Amazing views and wildlife around. Great food and levels of service that are extremely hard to fault, and yet the resort maintains a very relaxed unpretentious atmosphere which is very refreshing in such a high end place. Yes, it is expensive, but I would say that it is worth the money, and as previous reviewers have noted, the resort is not out to make as much as it possibly can from you - for example, I really liked that there was a well appointed guest laundry (free to use) - I am personally quite happy to do my own washing rather than pay a lot for someone else to do it. Another great idea was that the restaurant are happy to keep opened bottles of wine for you to drink over a couple of nights - this meant that we could have a bottle of red and white on our first night and finish them on the second.
Service is excellent - of particular note were Francie and Adam.
I'd rate this as one of my favourite hotels in the world and we would love to return........

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bizzy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for Bay of Many Coves
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 320 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2009

I know the manager, Lisa, will hate me for using the term "5-star" but it truly is an amazing place. Apparently you have to attain certain benchmarks to acquire a international 5-star rating, such as 24-hour room service, but this place would have to be one of the best we've ever stayed in. A lot of hotels could learn a thing or two from these people.

It is a small and compact resort, so the service is just magnificent. Francie was the Duty Manager during our stay and nothing was too much trouble. In fact, for any request the answer was always "yes" and that was from all the staff members. The wait staff were excellent and we were made to feel right at home. There is nothing pretentious about this place and no matter who you are, you will be at home here. It is very relaxed but still maintains high standards of courtesy and respect and service.

There is no need for me to post any of my pictures on TripAdvisor's website, because the pictures already here will show you exactly what it is like.

The villas are beautifully simple and elegant in their design and the beds are very comfortable.

If you wanted to save money and skip having your meals here (and I sincerely recommend not missing out on the fabulous food, be it breakfast or dinner - all of it was just great), you could bring your own supplies and use the fully equipped kitchen in each villa.

One last thing, splurge and take a cruise on the M.Y. Faith. Tim, the skipper, is a great man and a most interesting person. Not to mention the boat - 1935 Scottish made, teak hull and deck, mahogany interiors. Such a relaxing way to pass a few hours.

We are already talking about how soon we can return.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TheWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2009

We stayed at the Bay of Many Coves Resort for 2 nights and wished it could have been for longer.

The resort is gorgeous - we loved the fact it was quite small and the rooms were very private. We had room 101 which was closest to the water and had the most magnificent view - at times it felt like you were almost in the water. The room was beyond our expectations, very spacious and well-fitted. Waking up each morning in the beautiful king size bed with such a magnificant view is something we will always remember.

The service was very good and the staff always helpful and friendly. We made our booking via email with Francie who was very helpful in answering our questions along the way. Adam met us at the boat and showed us around the resort and to our room as well as suggesting a suitable day walk on the beautiful Queen Charlotte Track - he was always happy to assist and very friendly. The size of the resort results in a more personal level of service. On advising that the spa facility was not available during our stay due to unforeseen circumstances, manager Lisa offered a discount to our room rate which was unexpected but most welcome.

The food in the restaurant was excellent with a very relaxing atmosphere and good service.

We certainly hope to return soon to this beautiful resort.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartonbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Bay of Many Coves for Christmas 2008 and had a wonderful time.

The resort itself is beautiful, and I do not believe the website really does it justice. The resort is only accessible by water taxi which adds a special air of seclusion, privacy and safety to the hotel. The rooms are better referred to as 'suites' as each comprises a living room, bedroom and bathroom. I think they are all very similar, with very modern comfortable furnishings. The cabins themselves have won a number of architectural awards (on display in the breakfast area) and we loved the way they felt so in tune with the surroundings: each morning we were woken by the sound of thousands of birds singing all around us.

The service throughout was charming: we were met from the Cougar line by Francie the duty manager, who greeted us by name even though we arrived on an earlier boat than we had originally booked. It's one of the advantages of being such a small resort! Throughout the staff (Adam in particular) couldn't do enough to help us. Many of the staff were only season workers who were travelling around New Zealand which added something different to the service: they were all fun and chatty and had interesting stories to tell about their travels!

The thing which really blew me away was that room service was at no extra cost: if you wanted to take meals in your room you had only to make a call and your choice of food would be delivered to eat in your room or on the balcony.

For those looking to make use of the cooking facilities within their rooms, you can place food orders from the mainland and a boat will collect anything for you. We ordered beers and wine which was no problem and just turned up in our room.

The food in the restaurant was really superb, we didn't have a single bad meal, and all of the ingredients were obviously top notch.

In response to the post below which suggested that the resort was overpriced, I really strongly disagree. I feel that given the quality of the food, and that the visitors to the resort are a 'captive audience', the restaurant could charge far more than they did - the prices were comparable to any of the restaurants we ate in at Auckland or elsewhere in New Zealand. In addition as each person is welcome to order alcohol from the supermarket on the mainland and drink it in the resort, high alcohol prices (we didn't think the alcohol was expensive, I must add) shouldn't put one off the thought of a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2008

We we given a night's stay at the Resort as a Gift and we were delighted with the experience. We stayed in a one bedroom suite which was just magical - loved the wooden louvered sides that open up to let the birdsong and sunshine in. The attention to detail at the Resort is lovely, everything little thing has been thought about to make your stay more comfortable.
We had a light snack in the restaurant in the evening and we were really impressed with the quality of the food - I had a great lobster bisque. We also used the room's cooking facilities during our stay - well appointed and not skimping on kitchen gear like some places.

We topped the night off with a hot spa under the stars - perfect.

Before we left the following day we had coffee and cake in the guest lounge, where the service was again of a really high standard and the cake was obviously made on the premises and delicious.

What we really liked about the whole trip was that even though the Resort is obviously high-end, it's not pretentious - it's very comfortable and we felt very spoiled to have spent a night there.

Definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ferndownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2008

A friend told us about "Bay of Many Coves," and we are so grateful for the recommendation. We love it. The rooms are super comfortable, really nicely appointed (nice details like great throw blankets to stay warm) and the views are just gorgeous. The meals were yummy and the staff was exceptional. We enjoyed massages and a boat ride as well as hanging out reading books. Lisa and Mark were just so wonderful and inviting when we arrived we felt immediately comfortable. We were looking to explore the natural beauty and culture of New Zealand as well as get some rest and relaxation, which is just what we found. That said, you can make this trip as restful or adventurous as you want. There are lots of options. We hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CANDP08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2008

fantastic location right on the marlborough sounds, only accessible by boat and that makes it unique for a singaporean like me! Good looking modern rooms, spacious with a separate sitting area and balcony and surprisingly self contained. (would have to cart all your supplies there though!)

The food was yummy and surprisingly not exorbidantly priced, you would think that they would want to take advantage of the fact that you are so remote and have to eat there. I love the rooms, the view and some of the activities that we did....like fishing. They provide all supplies for fishing which is pretty cool as we are 'fishing virgins'.

The service was ok sometimes a little inconsistent but Jian was great!! Good guy. I undertsand that many of their service staff are somewhat transient on maybe a 12 months contract and that could explain it.

We did a half day trip out on the Lady Karen which was arranged by the hotel and the boat is skippered by a chap called Gordon Low. He was very hospitable and warm and we saw a whole pod of dolphins (like 30 of them or something) and they swam with the boat whic was fantastic and we managed to catch our own lunch as well. I would certainly recommend a trip out on the Lady Karen, Gordon was an excellent 'host'!

All in all a lovely property and I would return.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peonylim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthurs Bay
7.8 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
6.1 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
8.5 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
635 reviews
4.4 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
326 reviews
23.0 mi away
The Marlborough Lodge
The Marlborough Lodge
#17 of 32 in Blenheim
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Many Coves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Many Coves

Address: Queen Charlotte Sound | Private Bag 382, Arthurs Bay 7250, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Arthurs Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arthurs Bay
Price Range: $539 - $1,431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bay of Many Coves 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short water taxi ride from Picton Harbour, and within easy reach of all major New Zealand airports, you’ll find a slice of pure paradise.At Bay of Many Coves, we will make you feel right at home in the tranquil Marlborough Sounds. You’ll find a world of adventure waiting right at the end of our private jetty and in the bush-clad hills all around. Or you may simply want to relax within our luxury facilities and beautiful surroundings. So pure, so natural, so full of new experiences: at Bay of Many Coves, luxury has found a new expression. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bay of Many Coves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Of Many Coves Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing